bypass oil filter

Submitted: Friday, May 05, 2006 at 16:41
ThreadID: 33578 Views:5191 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Have done an archive search but most of the posts are a few years old. I am seriously considering installing a bypass filter to my 4.2 diesel GQ for no other reason than it extends the oil changes and lengthens engine life.

Would appreciate some advice regarding if there is any difference between the brands, frantz, amsoil etc. i would like one that is made or has distributors on oz, preferably Adelaide for obvious service needs.

I do my own basic servicing but i'm no mechanic, how hard are they to install? would it be better getting a mechanic to do it?

does it still keep one of the other free flow filters?

Thanks

Barnesy
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 16:59

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 16:59
Wait for Roachie to answer you post. He's your man!
AnswerID: 170979

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 09:08

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 09:08
G'day all,

I have the AMSOIL by-pass set-up and haven't changed my oil for 33,000 klm since I fitted it. I have been sending samples off to Castrol's laboratory every 5000klm just to be sure all is well. I got my dual head unit from a bloke on Yorke Peninsula SA, but have also been given the phone number of a bloke called Bruce in Adelaide, who is supposed to be a supplier too.......8388 5294.

Check out http://www.amsoil.com/StoreFront/images/frame_mount_02web.jpg
for one of the pictures of a typical installation set-up.