Prado issues.

Submitted: Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 10:51
ThreadID: 33747 Views:7092 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
Hey every body. As i have stated in a recent reply i am looking at getting rid of the 99 GU patrol (on gas) in favour of a more fuel efficient vehicle. The 3.0lt TD Prado has taken my eye. Am chasing the Prado as it has the seating capacity i require so another vehicle type is probably out of the question. I will buy brand new but does any body know of any problems with the new Prado's that i need to look out for ?
and cold beers

Reply By: Member - TPM (SA) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:15

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:15
check out www.lcool.com.au

Land cruisers owners on line

Go for a Pathfinder ! ; )

I am digging in for the onslaught LOL
AnswerID: 171905

Follow Up By: DavidT - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:24

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:24
How are you finding the Pathfinder have you taken it on any challenging trips yet
would you recommened one i am to looking at either a pathy or a prado

dave T
FollowupID: 427408

Follow Up By: Member - TPM (SA) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:40

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:40
Hi DavidT,

I just got back from a trip to the Flinders and was not disapointed in the Pathfinders abillites offroad.
I have the Turbo intercooled 6 speed ST-L manual and the power/effeciency of the motor is amazing. There is bundles of torque. I get about 720 kms out of the 80 litre tank.

It does need AT tires, a slight suspension lift , some decent bash plates. long range tank.But I would of done that to any 4wd.
I have done over 10K with no problems at all. If you like the style, go for it.

Much cheaper and better options for the same money on a Prado
FollowupID: 427418

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:14

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:14
The fish aren't biting today..! LOL
FollowupID: 427441

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:17

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:17
No wonder you didn't get many bites, the LCOOL site is lcool.org , not lcool.com.au..! LOL
FollowupID: 427443

Follow Up By: DavidT - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:25

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:25
Is The Pathfinder (diesel current model) a vehicle that you would cross the simpson in or tackle the cape.

It would be great to see some after market mods

Dave T
FollowupID: 427449

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:31

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:31
DavidT posted this followup

"Is The Pathfinder (diesel current model) a vehicle that you would cross the simpson in or tackle the cape.?"

YES IF YOU WERE BEING FOLLOWED BY A TOYOTA LANDCRUISER WITH HITCH and WINCH.!
FollowupID: 427453

Follow Up By: Member - TPM (SA) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:32

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:32
With the above mods and right preperation, I would be confident.

More mods are on the way TJM and ARB have quite a few coming.

Cheers TPM
FollowupID: 427454

Reply By: Member - TPM (SA) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:18

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:18
oops that may be better, should know better than to rely on the memory !

www.lcool.org
AnswerID: 171906

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:23

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:23
Sorry, How do you figure that a 99GU Patrol running on gas isn't fuel efficient compared to a diesel vehicle..?? Whilst I drive a Diesel vehicle it seems to me GAS is by far the most affordable method of propelling your vehicle in the country of Australia. In fact today we are seeing Diesel prices of well over $1.40 and Gas prices of around $.40 cents, so at least $1.00 per litre cheaper..! If I were you I'd be keeping the GAS vehicle.. IMHO. Excuse me if I have misread your thread.

My 2005 TD Diesel Hilux now costs me over $100 to fill. Whilst Diesel vehicles are usually very fuel efficient and more so than GAS, the cost of Diesel is rising exponentially in comparison to GAS.
AnswerID: 171909

Follow Up By: camship - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:00

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:00
Read an interesting thread yesterday on here, sorry cant remember which one, but it was stated that on a trip a 100s LC Diesel cost $1600, and a 100s on gas cost the same on the same trip, due to fact that the gas vehicle averaged 27l /100kms. You have to take in consideration that the gas vehicle will use considerably more fuel than a diesel.
FollowupID: 427422

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:07

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:07
This is was a comparo for Offroad driving. If you use it for everyday city driving
then gas is way cheaper. My Prado uses 16l per 100 on Petrol and 17.5l per 100
on Gas... The diesel my be the only option is you are planning to do the outback touring thought...
FollowupID: 427424

Follow Up By: Pilbara1 - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:11

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:11
Sorry i am living in NW WA and price difference is only about 60-70 cents. I also can't get the range on my Patrol to get more than 350km before the gas runs out thus forcing me to drag extra petrol in jerries thus increasing the consumption. Nasty catch 22. Gas also not available in a lot of remote locations.
Thanks for the reply though.
and cold beers.
FollowupID: 427439

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:14

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:14
Fair enough, for Off road Diesel has advantages in Off road performance and availaibility of Diesel when away.
FollowupID: 427440

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:03

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:03
WAIT till october... New diesel Prado should be out by then....
AnswerID: 171915

Reply By: rbmillard - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:34

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:34
I have a 2003 TD Grande. It is a great car with the exception of the rear suspension airbags. I have just blown a second one in less than twelve months under absolutely no load. Toyota refuse to believe it is a problem but I have no confidence in taking the car to anywhere remote.
If you are serious about a Prado go for any model but the Grande. All other models have conventional coil springs.
Ron Millard
AnswerID: 171927

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:54

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:54
Check out lcool.org. Darren from 120 Series list has made a braket to fix
the Grande Air bag problem, so it won't let it popout...
FollowupID: 427462

Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:51

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 13:51
Yes , they are VASTLY underpowered compared to their opposition. They are about to replace the motor , so your resale will fall dramatically when the new one arrives.

I would be looking at a hundred different things rather then just fuel economy.
AnswerID: 171929

Follow Up By: camship - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:24

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:24
Value will drop, but still hold better than practically anything else you can buy!
FollowupID: 427446

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:25

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 14:25
Please list those 100 different things so we all know what to look for..!! LOL
FollowupID: 427448

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 21:04

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 21:04
Gday Pilbara1
I have had one for 9 months and I am not happy with the fuel consumption.
Mine is TD auto and around town it is woeful. Better on a trip.
You have to watch front tyre wear, dreadful, Body cracks on inner guards, CD stacker problems and radion reception problems mainly with tinted windows I hear.
You can try my website as it may be of some help
prado info
I would keep the gas powered car until the new diesel comes out in the prado.
Just my opinion
120scruiser
P.S - Unbelievabley quiet and comfortable car to drive on and off road. They love the sand.
AnswerID: 172015

Reply By: Arkay - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 22:06

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 22:06
We have a 2005 TD auto Prado. I keep meticulous fuel & other cost records. We have not had a single warranty claim, yet. We chose it because of the 180 litre fuel capacity, good Toyo resale value, and proven reliable turbo diesel motor. Some say the motor is old technology & underpowered compared to the opposition. A few years ago we would have said "wow" to 96kw & 343Nm torque. Compared to our different make 9 y.o. trade in, the Prado has heaps of power, all the performance we could ask, seems to do everything just so easily and mostly always at around a lazy 2000 rpm . Including 50% city driving, 40% pulling 1500kg (gross 1900kg) tandem caravan, and 10% sole country driving we have averaged just a tad under 15 litres per 100 km. We have never had a problem with tryre wear, cracks, CD malfunction, commercial radio reception (I am a qualified ham operator and fairly fussy and we do have extra film tinted windows), so I guess it may be just luck as to what you finish up with, hey?
The one thing I have done is I have fitted a light mesh stone guard between the bottom of Toyota Soverign bull bar and the front cross member 70cm wide & 35cm deep to potect the air conditioner evaporator from small stone & stick damage. On our model the possibilty of water rolling off the front tyre into the air intake has been factory (or dealer?) solved - see the lcoo, website re. this (former) problem. And yes, we do a fair bit of reasonably serious 4WD whilst still respecting our vehicle & investment.
That is our experience so far. You be the judge.
AnswerID: 172039

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 08:27

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 08:27
Hi Pilbara1

Next door neighbour here thinks his Prado diesel is greatest thing
out although his wife still prefers there earlier petrol one
because it eas a lot quieter.

We all have different priorites in buying vehicles and I could
never buy a Prado. Its not that it isn't a well made efficent car
nor that I been there when one cracked its transfer case in the King
river on a rock due to poor underbody protection.

No , its for a different reason , quite simply they tip over to
easily, and saftey is a big concern in our descision process.

4wd's rolling over has gone off the boil as an issue but the cars
haven't changed.

Your Gu patrol with a tilt table angle of 48 degrees is significantly
better than other big wagon's by 3 to 5 degreees.

The later prado's are softer and marginally better in rollover.

Get the real story , not just the brochures and consider
carefully.

AnswerID: 172088

Follow Up By: camship - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 09:04

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 09:04
The real story???

I think that would come from directly test rolling the cars to see which rolls over first.
Did another vehicle hit the same rock at exactly the same angle?
Did it survive the impact due to superior protection?

I don't own a Prado. But buying a car due to information gathered from the source; a mate of a mate over heard at the pub one night... Is a bit rediculous IMO.
FollowupID: 427655

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 09:45

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 09:45
That's the whole point Camship - organizations used to do and publish figures
based on tilt table tests , but they are hard to come by now .

You can find published figures for patrols at 48 degrees and cruisers at 45 degrees.

Prado's are less , try and get your toyota dealer to give you the "Real Figure".

FollowupID: 427663

Reply By: tdv - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 10:23

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 10:23
Have now done over 60,000km in our TD 120 series manual without any problems.....except for poor dealer servicing. In a remote area I can't just go to another dealer either.

I find the power and fuel consumption more than adequate (I tow an Aussie Swag camper). I have driven the more powerful "on paper" holden rodeo TD and the patrol as we have them for work vehicles. Don't always rely on the paper figures. It compares favourably in power with these vehicles under real driving conditions.

I suggest you test drive a few for yourself.

Over the 60,000k I have averaged 11.6l/100km. the worst is fully laden camper with boat on top in the gulf of carpentaria....15.5l/100km.

My only doubt would be the cost of diesel fuel to buy and additional servicing may make the petrol a cheaper car to run now :-(

Tez
AnswerID: 172106