solid axle triton

Submitted: Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 18:24
ThreadID: 34424 Views:11134 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
Has anyone heard of a solid axle swap for an ifs triton, and before anyone says 'just buy a hilux' I am considering it but i wouldn't mind doing something different.

Reply By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 19:15

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 19:15
any solid swap on any car is rare. I have seen solids on luxes and navs but not tritons. I would spend your money on a locker in the front and rear. That will solve more problems than a solid axle and you keep the on road handling.
AnswerID: 175696

Follow Up By: tritonner - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 22:40

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 22:40
that sounds like good advice although i was planning on lockers aswell. My perception of the solid front is that it is alot stronger than the ifs which was a drawcard too.
FollowupID: 431823

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 23:15

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 23:15
There is hardcore 4x4ing and then there is very hardcore. I have a navara dual cab so I am never going to be in the very hard core category. For that you should probably be driving a swb patrol or something and then spend 20k on getting it capable. If you drive a dual cab though it's never going to be in that category and I would really think that a solid front would only be marginaly better. After a lift, tyres, lockers, I think the front end may only be 15% better and would cost heaps, plus engineering it right will take ages and you may never be totaly happy, it could be a case where refinement takes a long time and lots of money. Then insurance on top of that, I cant imagine them going easy on you when you have altered the vehicle effecting braking and handling. Mate it all sounds to hard for me. In fact I am at the stage that I am thinking I buy a 2wd ute for work and another 4x4 just for wheeling. Doing both in 1 car does not make sense cause you always are saying "if i break my car today, i cant go to work monday"
FollowupID: 431835

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 00:39

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 00:39
One thing to remeber if you do go down the SAS line is to make sure the donor axle or your rear axle ratio can be swapped out to match axle ratios if necessary. If you don't, you end up having to do a "double ender".

Rough guide about $3500-4000 for the front, $2500-3000 for rear, for labour, and another $1200 for engineering, not including the cost of the axles.
AnswerID: 175788

Reply By: optimist - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:03

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:03
There was a lenghthy series of artcicles on another site the name of which escapes me. It was done on a Pajero & seemed like a lot of trouble & expense for what?
Maybe Gary in OZ remembers where it was?
Triton/Pajero front end not too bad & right wheels & tyres help lots as does the rear LSD. Maybe a front diff lock is the answer?
AnswerID: 176307

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:00

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:00
You could ask the questions over at www.outerlimits4x4.com. They have a Mitsubishi section that will have some more details.

Also a writeup a couple of months ago in one of the mags of a Pajero that had the full SAS done by Mark Cheeseman of Cheezy Racing. The owner is in a 4WD club I'm in, and by all measures it has improved the abilities of the vehicle no end in the rough stuff, but with the usual tradeoffs for beam front ends on road.
FollowupID: 432426