Tyre Pressure

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 20:30
ThreadID: 34612 Views:2444 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi, I am a novice and am taking my first trip to the outback later this year. We are going Birdsville to Boulia, across to Alice Springs and back through Oodnadatta and the Flinders. I am driving a Subaru Forrester. Have just had cooper ATR's fitted. I would like some advice on tyre pressures suitable for the various road conditions. Thanking you all in advance.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 21:16

Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 21:16
You will get varied answers on this one.
On my trip out that way last year I ran around 28 on the formed gravel roads and had no dramas.
I was running Good year MTR's on a 120 series Prado.
Some say to run high pressures and some say to run lower pressures.
In your case I would probably run around 26psi as it is only a light car. In my opinion I think speed is a major contributor to tyre failure. Drive to the conditions with the correct pressures and you should have an enjoyable trip.
Hope this helps
120scruiser
AnswerID: 176713

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 21:16

Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 21:16
You are sure to get many differing points of view. Personally I'd run around 24psi on those tracks, and put them up for the tar bits. But mine is a heavier vehicle, and full of gear. The one thing I would suggest is to check their temperature by hand at every stop. A hot tyre i.e. much hotter than the others, is one with a problem. Take good tyre repair/changing gear. The Plenty Highway is renowned for doing tyres. Basically it's a matter of good judgement and LOTS of luck on all the tracks you're doing. Most people don't have problems but Murphy is always over my shoulder.
Good luck :)))
AnswerID: 176714

Follow Up By: buttons - Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 21:24

Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 21:24