Chateaux Cardboard Red

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 19:54
ThreadID: 35021 Views:2869 Replies:10 FollowUps:6
Can anyone recommend a nice Rouge for us to take on our world tour of the Queensland Outback and Gulf. And/or a nice cask of Port for those chilly winter nights around the campfire? Don't fancy me chances with bottles along several billion corrugations.

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 20:07

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 20:07
goodday
i currently have in chateau cardbord a remano tawny port and a coolabah lambrusco both tend to warm 1 up after a couple

AnswerID: 178980

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:09

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:09
cheers Steve. They shall be given a severe testing before the trip.
FollowupID: 435285

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 20:18

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 20:18
Yep. Chateau Cardboard ...4lt Morris PRESSINGS Dry Red. This box is normally a tad dearer than the usual $8-10 ones. When there was a glut of red a year or so ago some of the best wines were 'casked' and the blends are quite good.

We have 8 litres of Penfolds Muscat packed in the truck ready for our trip to WA next week. Still have to pack a slab of VB as well but starting to run out of space....lol
AnswerID: 178983

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:13

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:13
wouldn't dream of taking off without the old palate cleanser. Isn't Muscat the dessert wine? Always get that and Muscadet mixed up. duh.
FollowupID: 435287

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:38

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:38
goodday willem
isnt that why you had the pack rack repaired lololol theres always a bit of room for the slab

getting close for us as well 4 weeks today we start holidays we wait and watch the weather patterns for the simpson i read all the sand reports and think of our friends towing the trailer but we know about dropping tyre pressures etc so it will happen

hope you have a ball on your trek we intend to on ours

FollowupID: 435293

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 08:19

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 08:19

I think that Musdadel was a name I remember from Southern African. There was a Rugby song which started with...".Oooooo Mudsacadellllllll"......LOL. Methinks it the same as Muscat.

Steve(Old Scalyback)

Hope you and Denny have a good one out there in the sand. I have always found that 2nd low(with trailer in tow) works well on dunes. Start at the bottom of dunes(don't rush the dune) and idle way up giving in heaps at the top if necessary. Without a trailer 1st High Range with the 4.2 gearbox does the same. Just idle it out at 1800 revs.

Enjoy

FollowupID: 435319

Reply By: macy - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 20:19

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 20:19
Now you are talkin

we take 2lt handbags of DeBortoli port and Yalumba merlot and shraz
have found the 4lt handbags you can strike a decoy occasionaly

cheers Mac
AnswerID: 178984

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:14

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 21:14
is that Merlot/Shiraz or a Merlot and a Shiraz. Like the handbag imagery ;-)
FollowupID: 435288

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW, 2527) - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 22:03

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 22:03
Hey Steve,
can't go past the 2Lt Banrock Station in the Merlot,if the milk runs out I have it on my cornflakes ;-)) And the good old Morris port is the pick.

Athol
AnswerID: 179000

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 22:53

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 22:53
As Willem said above the Morris Pressings range is top stuff in casks but way cheaper than bottled. Morris Pressing Cab Sav is my poison of choice at moment even at home as an everyday drop. $18 at Woolies for 4 litres which works out to about $3.40 a bottle (750ml).

Muddy
AnswerID: 179010

Reply By: Lyds- Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 00:48

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 00:48
I have been taking bottles in those 6-bottle cardboard carriers you get these days, and stand them upright in the trailer storage bin. No breakages so far.

I also get the screw tops instead of corkers for resealing.

AnswerID: 179023

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 10:11

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 10:11
Yep re the Morris brew - 4L pressings shiraz (black box - mainly red text) is my pick at $18 - we take a bottle or two for special cook-up nights also - recently tried another Morris 4L shiraz/cabernet (not the pressings) and IT WAS AWFUL - damn near undrinkable - but I was desperate, and in the wilds - with Oz awash with good cheap wine, that was a particular crime I still can't forget.
The 2L Yalumba casks (not the cheapies - the premium line) are said to possibly be the best cask wines around (but dearer per litre).
I don't buy cask fortifieds - I take some from the keg at home, when heading off.....
AnswerID: 179040

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 11:35

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 11:35
On any cask check the "best by" or " use by " date and dont buy if even remotely close to said date ,, vino does not get better with age in a chateau decardboard container ,freshest is best so the longest timeframe to best by is the best.
AnswerID: 179046

Reply By: phil - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 12:54

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 12:54
I reckon DeBortoli Cabernet Merlot is the pick of thje 4 litre casks. Nicely rounded but not sweet.

I second the remarks about use by dates. Also look where they are stored, Warm storage is no good.

Phil I
AnswerID: 179051

Follow Up By: eerfree - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 16:01

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 16:01
TWO cartons for$26.00 up here at the moment!

eerfree
FollowupID: 435359

Reply By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 17:56

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 17:56

I have found (from experience) that dust and corrugations can wear the tiniest of holes in cask bladders!

We had to do a 20 litre decant of our casks into a spare water container so we didn't lose this valuable end of day recovery gear. The water container with a tap on the side was a "real" cask. However, it did get us thinking that we should in future source bulk wine from a winery and put it straight into 10 litre containers (with a tap on one of course).

This way we could actually taste the wine before the trip (good excuse for a day out) and perhaps end up paying the same for a good wine as opposed to a premium cask!

Haven't done the reseach yet but watch out for holes in ya bladder!

Andy
AnswerID: 179283