SMART BARS ARE THEY SMART??

Submitted: Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 21:59
ThreadID: 35088 Views:3063 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
This Thread has been Archived
Gday, I have a mate that has asked me about smart bars over alloy bars for his 2005 Pajero. I have little knowledge of these bars and do not see to many around. can anyone give me some feed back on them.

Strength, mounting of spot lights, and also colour matching to the vehicle etc.

This Pajero is a goldy bronze sort of colour.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Pterosaur - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 22:18

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 22:18
Hi,

don't know much about colour matching, but I have one on my current (troopy) vehicle, and on my last vehicle - very satisfied.

That said, I haven't run into anything serious with one, although my experience with a steel bar suggests that a serious collision results in bar destruction and considerable damage to the vehicle, hence my shift.

They come with appropriate bolt holes for mounting gear like lights, and the manufacturer is great to deal with.

Check them out at

TeamPoly

(I have no connection to them, apart from being a satisfied customer)

regards
Terry
AnswerID: 179353

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 22:43

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 22:43
are they smart?

No.
AnswerID: 179360

Reply By: Gu_Patrol - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 23:15

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 23:15
Do they decrease the life of globes in spotlights
AnswerID: 179366

Reply By: OsherG - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 02:17

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 02:17
They are lighter weight than steel and hold up better than the steel and certainly the alloy stuff in case of a collission. I have seen a few after collisions with a roo, and the steel crumples like cardboard compared the smart bars they aren't so popular, no idea why, you can mount spolights to em and radio arials not sure about winches though... can be painted/colour matched by the fitters
cheers
OsherG
AnswerID: 179381