Robbed!

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 02:55
ThreadID: 35309 Views:2503 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Need to improve the refereing

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 03:36

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 03:36
Maybe-maybe not,but a good performance by both teams.A very entertaining game and the socceroos should be very proud ggetting that far.
AnswerID: 180526

Follow Up By: madCrow - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 04:37

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 04:37
Evening guys,
the performance of both teams was good, but the referrying stunk, putrid.
The italian player tripped over the aussi who was laying/fell to the ground & the referry then gives out a free goal kick, cause the guy who tripped, hurt himself, poor lad, it really hurt it did!
"Mummy help!!!"
"Oh mummy, he hurt me, he did, he really did hurt me! Ahhhnnnnnggggg!!!!
"OK son you can kick a goal, cause you haven't kicked any goals all night & I've got to keep my boy big & strong, otherwise he'll cry."

the madCrow is really mad & sad,

but he's very proud of the Socceroos! Good on ya guys, you are winners in my eyes!
FollowupID: 436786

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 07:16

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 07:16
Then he sucks his thumb to prove hes a bub.

FollowupID: 436789

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 07:25

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 07:25
Too many wasted chances. They did exceptionally well to get that far.
AnswerID: 180528

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 07:56

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 07:56
You got the perspective right Al, they missed heaps, could not see the goal often enough.
FollowupID: 436794

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 08:14

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 08:14
for the last thirty minutes they had the clear advantage but failed capitalise ..

FollowupID: 436796

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:19

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:19
It looked like we would get on top once the Italians lost their guy but we just couldn't convert to points.

It is always a pity when a match comes down to a refereeing decision.

The Aussies did great getting to where they did and I think we might see a bit of a lift in the profile of soccer here after that effort.
FollowupID: 436807

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:39

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:39
ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGHHH

Now that's off my chest I may be able to type some sense.
I felt the Aussies had no-one hungry to score. Good control of possesion but stuff all enthusiasm to rock the back of the net.
I don't think the ref can be blamed for our inadequecies to capitalise with the amount of possesion we had. STILL VERY PROUD to be an Aussie and proud of our soccer team as we all should be.
Let's see the reaction for their homecoming... will the streets be a wash with ticket tape parades again??

Bleary eyed, socceroo supporter.
FollowupID: 436812

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:28

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:28
Just proves that it is such a silly game......no other "real" football codes would let a decision like that stand! ;-)

Next week, it will be all but forgotten.....we will all go back to our respective sports we enjoy watching.

(isn't it obvious) avid soccer fan, Andrew :-)
AnswerID: 180544

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:35

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 09:35
You are so right Andrew. This sort of incident (and all the accompanying 'acting') is the reason Soccer (sorry 'Football') will never really take off here. Aussies are wont fall for it!
FollowupID: 436811

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 12:36

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 12:36
Don't bet on it.

You are watching the beginning of the end of AFL - it won't be a sudden death it'll be a slow drawn out one but a game centred on the suburban clubs of one city (with no worthwhile international content) just isn't in the running any longer against an international sport like football given modern communications and air travel. Ten years is my guess.

FollowupID: 436844

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 21:47

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 21:47
Sorry Mike

But I think you are wrong

Unless men start wearing skirts "LOL"

Ozie rules will be around for a long time

By the way 15 days

FollowupID: 436984

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 22:05

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 22:05
>By the way 15 days

Good on yer Richard! Keep going - you should be proud!

We'll see.... (on the football front :)

FollowupID: 436990

Reply By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 10:19

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 10:19
We have had to fight for every step, we have had bad decisions thrust upon us everywhere, and rarely did we see the ref take our side. Obviously the reff in this match was a freakin idiot and I just dont understand why they cant watch the replay to see that the decision was clearly based on a freakin italian who should be acting in low quality community italian tv rarther than playing soccer. The player should have recieved a yellow card for faking an injury. At worst the italian should have recieved a free kick, but the reff decided to hand the game over and make the italians the winners. The other stupid decision was when the italian handballed and the game continued without any notice. That was clear on the screen and was illegal. We should have recieved a penalty kick and did not. In this case the game should have ended 1:1 or 1:0 to us. I feel like the reff made a decision of who he would like to win. After all we have gone through to get here, and to have us kicked out in this way is against all principle. I cant see how these reffs are paid for choosing the winners. Fifa should not pay them but italy should definatly share their winnings with that reff, he was their star player, man of the match and deserves an italian parade and key of the city.
AnswerID: 180551

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 11:22

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 11:22
Proud of the Roos but it's hard to get excited about a game that can be decided like that, no justice. AFL is safe as all the good players in Australia end up OS where the money is. Fantastic effort, wouldn't celebrate if I were the Italians, they aren't anywhere near good enough to win this.
AnswerID: 180560

Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 13:50

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 13:50
It is supposed to be a game of skill..... but deliberate hand balls, fake 'dives' and corrupt officials... oh well............
AnswerID: 180604

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 20:09

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 20:09
Couldnt agree more... pathetic.

everyone can get off the band wagon now.. shows over thank christ..
FollowupID: 436941

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 22:02

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 22:02
hahahahaha open your mind Truckie. Expand your horizons. The world does extend well beyond Melbourne and that quaint little game they play down there LOL
FollowupID: 436986

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 22:04

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 22:04
played soccer in U10's for Cronulla RsL myself..
hated it then too
FollowupID: 436989

Reply By: pojo - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 19:55

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 19:55
REFEREES we see it every week in the rugby league what a waste of genuine results that is why people were rapt in soccer now it appears that all sports are the same makes you wonder doesnt it
AnswerID: 180684

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 20:59

Tuesday, Jun 27, 2006 at 20:59
No matter which sport you follow there are good decisions and bad decisions made each week in every game in every code. We had a fantastic run. We won our way to the World Cup and we got through to the last 16. The end was tragic for us but had it been the same decision made our way, then we'd be cheering now. That's just the way it goes.

I'm a Victorian, love my footy (AFL) but that doesn't mean there isn't room for other codes. Rugby, Soccer, Hockey...you name it...if Australia plays it, then I'll be cheering. That's not climbing on the bandwagon that's just being an Aussie.

This World Cup has been fantastic. Still is fantastic. Australia is fantastic in the way it supported the team. This has been a wonderful example of how we really get behind our sports people and cheer them on no matter what the sport is. We're winners.

Viv

AnswerID: 180714