The Nissan 3.0tdi's going BOOM..some news

Submitted: Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:26
ThreadID: 35501 Views:4581 Replies:13 FollowUps:30
This info is not 1st hand so don't shoot me if it's wrong but.... it has come from someone who does know 1st hand someone whoms 3.0tdi Patrol went bang...
Anyway, this what I was told....
Because of the ongoing issues with earlier engines, Nissan have recently vastly reduced the cost of replacing these motors.
My mates mate...Series I blew up, obviously out of warranty now, but was told by Nissan that the series III onward motors are now sold off the shelf new for $6500 + $1500 fitting if required. He bought one for this price.

True or not I don't know but it came from reliable people.

Others may know something on the subject.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:33

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:33
Still paying $8k for a known faulty product.
AnswerID: 181686

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:43

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:43
I never said it was good value!!!
FollowupID: 437982

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:49

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:49
Andrew,

I was'nt having a go at you. Just remarking how Nissan have the hide to charge customers big $$$$s to fix a known major problem with their product.
FollowupID: 437985

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:54

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:54
No worries gramps...
FollowupID: 438198

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:03

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:03
The big problem I am having is this is just another............

"My mates mate...Series I blew up"

When it's your car that blows up, let me know.
AnswerID: 181692

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:24

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:24
It would be interesting to get the official figures of how many of these engines actually faulter and need replacing before they are 10 years old. A mates mate story can get blown out of proportion, but it does seem like nissan have a problem (or owners have one).

What would be the chances of nissan releasing these figures?

I don't see why people would buy a small 3 litre engine to power a near 2 tonne car in the first place. Just don't buy them. A commodore has a bigger engine.

AnswerID: 181695

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 10:35

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 10:35
Totally unsubstanciated Barnesy but here goes...

Talking with my boss this morning, the proud owner of a 3.0l Pootrol, giving him the usual curry about the potential for the big bang. He had it serviced last week and put the question of the bang to his dealer, dealer response was that 103 3.0 engines Aust-wide have gone bang. Yes it's 264th hand but thought it worth a mention.
FollowupID: 438044

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:44

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:44
Barnesy,

We have to buy 4wd's with these small engines cause this seems to be the way they are going. No-one complains about the prado, Hilux, Pajero, Triton etc; I think that these engines have proven themselves but Nissan may have engineered a suspect type of engine regardless of the size of it.

Cheers Matt.
FollowupID: 438081

Follow Up By: StephenF10 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:58

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:58
Isn't it about time we stopped assuming that small engines are unreliable just because they're small? If a modern small engine is producing the same power and torque as a large engine of a few years ago, the manufacturer obviously would have strengthened the smaller engine to take the increased stress. The proof is the many small, powerful diesels out there that are NOT blowing up - Disco TD5 and TDV6 2.7, Merc 2.7, Pajero 3.2, Jeep 3.0, Pathfinder 2.5, and of course probably 99% of Patrol 3.0s.

Stephen.
FollowupID: 438086

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:43

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:43
I'm not saying smaller engines are unreliable. Many people are happy with them.

But the GU is a massive car (truck), and to power it with 4 cylinder 3 litre buzz box seems ridiculous.

The 3l may have a slightly better fuel economy on the highway with no load, but surely the bigger engine would be less stressed under heavy work?

My GQ 4.2 TD42 has 230 000 on the clock and drives beautifully. I don't care if it's slow it could tow anything for any distance and come back for more. Never in a million years would i consider buying a 3 litre GQ for heavy off road work.

There's a reason why Toyota only have big sixes in their Landcruiser
FollowupID: 438098

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:46

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:46
sorry
Lancruiser range
FollowupID: 438099

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:53

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:53
What Barnsey said!!!!!!!!!

And somebody up above said the Patrol is nearly 2 tonne..........r u kidding me???

They start life at about 2400kg b4 they put diesel in the tank or oil in the sump or air in the tyres!!!! You've only gotta do a big dump on the back seat and the scales will tip @ 3 tonne (from bitter experience!!! hahahaha)
FollowupID: 438102

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:22

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:22
Roachie's right My 4.2 Runs around 3 tonne Mt what with BBar Tbar and all the other stuff on and in it.
Plus it hauls a 2t van .
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 438123

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:57

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:57
My Prado is 2200kg kerb weight before fuel and passengers. The 3.0 TD is a lovely match to it. Getting the same size Nissan motor to haul a GU around would seem to be a much bigger ask.

Muddy
FollowupID: 438199

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:38

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:38
Blue
103 in the whole country, maybe 103 in that dealership.
My dealer, (My supplier) stated to me one day , "You should see them (Patrol 3.0) lined up out the back of the workshop. They're a real problem"
I have had 5 customers with them that have gone bang alone , one twice, and how many repairers are there in the country?

I think they were pulling your pudin.

120scruiser
FollowupID: 438379

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:30

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:30
120scruiser,
not my leg being pulled mate, my bosses... Personally if I were to buy a Patrol, it'd be the 4.2TD. Just relaying, as stated, 2nd hand news as told to him by his dealer. he was shocked when I told him to be careful and to be vigilant about the warning signs. I'll be sticking with DC utes as they suite my requirements for the time being.
FollowupID: 438427

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:29

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:29

Had a Nissan 3 ltr owner in here for 10 days helping Dave with the new pub. He says quote "all they did on the recall was replace the dipstick with another that effectively meant the sump was increased, oiling occured higher up the block and the bearings survived.

Old wives tale, the truth - who knows - I believed it!!

Ian @ Mt Dare
AnswerID: 181696

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:19

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:19
DO A SEARCH. You will find a whole day worth of reading, although most of what you find will not be worth reading.

My mates brothers aunty's nextdoors sons girlfriends father knows a bloke....blah blah blah

Has this subject ever been researched and printed in a reputable newspaper or on TV....

NOPE.

Yes some 3.0 patrols have gone KABANG, but nowhere near as many as people on this forum will tell you.

If all the stories were true there would be a 3.0 patrol with a blown donk in every suburb, and there aint!!!
FollowupID: 438005

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 10:15

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 10:15
"Has this subject ever been researched and printed in a reputable newspaper or on TV.... "

A reputable WHAAAT!!!!!!
FollowupID: 438244

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 10:52

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 10:52
From chewing the fat with club members, i have heard the same info as Ian S.

Found this on the web too, our John R?

"3 Litre Turbo Diesel GU Patrol
John R' writes [11/2000]:- Nissan have yesterday recalled the 3.0L Patrol. This is to uprate oil capacity in the engine to 8.2L, an 2.5L increase, also "oil delivery characterisitics" (new control pressure valve). Nissan claim for long term durability of the engine the mod's must be performed. Also from around the traps, the 3.0L engine is proving very unreliable, with Nissan have shortages of parts. 1. Fan belt idler bearing, either seizes or sheers off (both mine and my brother's have done this out on a track. 2. AC compressor seizes - mine did when the car was 3 days old combined with 1. 3. Front splash tray in front of the engine snaps off when you are 4wding. Nissan have no stock of any of the 3 in the country. My Patrol (one of the first registered in Australia and featured on [4wdonline]) has now been off the road and sitting in Nissan for 5-6 weeks total since it was purchased in April.

Nissan au replies that: The 3.0 litre turbo diesel Patrol is undergoing a "service programme" (not a recall) which involves modifying the characteristics of the engine oil circulation. "This programme has been initiated in the interests of ongoing customer satisfaction and continued product reliability and will be carried out free of charge to the customer." There are no problems sourcing parts. "

from here

prolly been posted before given the topic :)
FollowupID: 438249

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:37

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:37
I had to rent one a little while back, 05 3.0 litre wagon with 30k on it.
Thjere must have been something wrong with it as it drove like crap, and the motor honestly felt like a porche motor in a Kenworth. It was auto and was changing up and down, reving and generally seemed to terribly busy under the bonnet.
Nothing against Nissan in general as I bet the 4.2TD is a much better drive. It was pretty economical though.
However, even discounting the ongoing mechanical problems, I wouldnt touch it with a barge pole, I'm sorry.
I find it hard to believe a big reputable company like Nissan would stake all of the Patrols goodwil on such a stupid idea as the 3.0litre.
AnswerID: 181703

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 01:01

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 01:01
add to the end of that;

"3.0litre 4 cylinder in a big wagon"
FollowupID: 438012

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:22

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:22
But there are plenty of other 2 tonne + vehicles with 4 cylinder diesels under the bonnet that have no problems at all, like the prado for example. Power output from the TD42 and ZD30 is not that different.

In saying that, I used to drive a ZD30 wagon for work and although it deffinatally had more power than the ol' surf (same size motor) the surf is a much better vehicle to drive and it's 15 years old! And before we start on the weight difference between them, I'd be happy to bet $100 right now that my surf as I have it now would weigh more than a stock patrol without a doubt.

I can't quite put my finger on what it was, maybe the uncomforatble seats, or the fact that there is awful turbo lag in them, I dunno, but I'd hope out of the work one, jump into mine and go "aaarrggh, that's better". I do give nissans a lot of flack (it's my obligation as a Toyota owner) but in reality this is the first Toyota I have EVER owned and I have owned 3 nissans in the past. I always loved the way nissan's drove, the way the power came on, the handling, comfort etc etc. I just found the GU 3.0L didn't quite meet my Nissan expectations.

I'm not trying to start a bleep fight, I'm sure they are a great vehicle (GU's) and one of the last with a rigid front end, so you gotta appreciate that, but I don't think generalising that 4cylinder diesel's are the problem is really hitting the nail on the head, I think the ZD30 had deisgn problems with it that could have been solved my Nissan admitting there was a problem and dealing with it correctly. I also think that the motor and auto gearbox (the only GU I've driven) really needs to some R&D to make it drive like it should. The delay when you put you foot down off the mark is disgusting almost to the point of being dangerous in traffic and the gear box never wants to lock into a gear, it's constantly floating around on the torque converter.

I certainly wouldn't buy one, mainly because I know for a fact that Nissan are going to deny that there was ever a problem with it and even if it is a remote chance of it having turbo or head or cylinder problems, I couldn't afford to put a new motor in one... People buy diesels because they are supposed work horses, not because they a cheap. I'd be upset with a barina that had major mechanical problems before 100k, ned alone a $60k diesel "truck".
FollowupID: 438060

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:52

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:52
Jeff, definitely all you are saying there rings true regarding drivability.
But here are the factory figures.
top of the range Prado Grande kerb weight is 1980 to 2170, while highest spec 3.0 patrol I could find is 2480. Oddly though the GVM for both is around 3000? (Prado 2900, patrol 3000)
FollowupID: 438065

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 13:54

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 13:54
Yeah fair enough, but the figures of power output are relative too:

ZD30: (Patrol)
Maximum torque 354Nm @ 2000rpm
Maximum power 118kW @ 3600rpm

TD42: (Patrol)
Maximum torque 360Nm @ 2000rpm
Maximum power 114kW @ 3600rpm

1KZ-TE: (Prado)
Maximum torque 343Nm @ 2000rpm
Maximum power 96kW @ 3600rpm

I know the surf was 2.2 tonne without the two extra batterys, water and fuel tanks empty, no recovery gear, tools, stroage box or roofracks. I went of the weight bridge with everything removed at the tip while I was rebuilding the storage box and that was the outgoing weight on the docket. So with everything in and full, we'd be over two and a half tonne. Packed for a trip, god knows what we would be!?

FollowupID: 438073

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:31

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:31
That kind of shows that Toyota are getting a more sensible amount of power and work out of a similar capacity engine. Like it or not, they all use the same basic technology, and wringing extra power out is a compromise elsewhere.

Im certain that with a bit of R&D you could get a lot more out of the patrol motor (or 1KZ) but its a trade off. Maybe NIssan were painted into a corner that they had spent so much on development that they had to release it in the Patrol with that output?
FollowupID: 438078

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:45

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:45
Yeah I dunno, they are a totally differnt deisgn. I mean the ZD30 is only using 17:1 compression ratio versus the 21:1 in the 1KZ, it's totally different technology. Common rail injection is also another form of getting more power out of diesels without neccesserily lowering reliability.

By saying that getting more power out of a diesel is a trade off, then what about the TD 100 series? That's got WAY more power than the TD42, does that make it less reliable? Is a 1.8L VVTI Corolla less reliable than a 2.0L Escort? I'm sure the Corolla has double the power of the escort.
FollowupID: 438083

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:58

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:58
Lower compression only means it handles higher boost. That is hardly totally different technology.
Common rail-which company has exclusive rights to that?
A corrolla with Variable Valve Technology is hardly similar to an old escort is it?
Then again the 1 KZ came out quite a few years before the ZD30 I think?
FollowupID: 438087

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:16

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 15:16
"Common rail-which company has exclusive rights to that? " I didn't know anyone had exclusive right to common rail... Everyone is using it now days, from Hyundi through to Toyota and Nissan.

"A corrolla with Variable Valve Technology is hardly similar to an old escort is it?
Then again the 1 KZ came out quite a few years before the ZD30 I think?"

That's my point. To look at the engine in a 2000 patrol versus the 1KZ-TE that was put into production in 1993 is not exactly comparing apples for apples. A 2005 Corrola is not the same as a 1977 Escort. The engine's both have 4 cylinders and are similar sizes, but just because one has newer technology and more power does not make it any less of an engine reliability wise.

The ZD30 and 1KZ-TE are a completley different design. Variable vain turbos, electronic servo throttle controls and a wave of electronic enhancments and a much more complicated ECU are just the start of the differences. The ZD30 also uses a premixed combustion setup rather than the traditional diffusion combuistion (like what the 1KZTE would use). That is the reason for lower compression rations as the timming is totally different to a tradtition direct injected diesel with far less pressure in the the combustion chamber and the point of ignition, hence allowing the fuel air mixture to be cooler and therefore reducing emitions (same principle as the EGR would use by reciculating CO2 into the chamber to reduce the ignition temperature to produce less NOx). The lower compression ratio also allows the engine to rev more freely making it act and feel more like a petrol engine to the driver. (one of the goals nissan were striving for while developing this motor).

The problem Nissan had IMHO is not putting too smaller motor in the patrol but biting off more than they could chew and releasing it too early.
FollowupID: 438095

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 16:56

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 16:56
Jeff, sorry that you may have the wrong idea, I did not ever mention, compare or analyze the 1KZ. Or common rail.
Only saying that the ZD30 in the patrol cant seem to (for whatever reason) provide the reliability and general acceptance of the public?
Correct me if I am wrong but is this same engine in the Navara and do they have the same problem? That may narrow it down?
FollowupID: 438108

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:51

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:51
Fisho. Same motor in the Navara but not intercooled and not variable vane turbo like the pootrol.
FollowupID: 438196

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:16

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:16
wasnt the series 1 a 2.8 engine
AnswerID: 181746

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 08:24

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 08:24
Yes............ but a lot of people don't know how the 'series' of the GU's actually work. In the diesels, series 1 was the 2.8TDi and the 4.2 n/a. Series 2 saw the introduction of the great new 3L motor and the addition of the hairdryer to the old banger 4.2. From there on I get a bit confused........couldn't even tell what series they're up to at present.....don't care!!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 438227

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 13:20

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 13:20
Ler me see $7,000 is just under a years lease repayment for a Landcruiser Turbo, hmm what whould i DO ?????? Oh there an idea sell the bucket of bolts patrol and buy a crusier or a big 4.2 patrol, GOOD AS GOLD!
AnswerID: 181762

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 16:32

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 16:32
All good and well for Nissan to offer a new donk for 8 large but what would be interesting to see is someone with big enough $ and balls to take Nissan on , there is warranty and implied warranty and it would seem that Nissan would have a case to answer "does the vehicle perform as implied " if as another reply put forth that over 100 have blownup a court could not in any way state that the vehicle does as intended ,,,,, its a bit like the 90 to sept 92 80 series diesel [ generaly the factory turbo] and the bigend bearings ,one bad bunch of bearings gave the wholelot the heebygeebys ,and Toyota fixed any and all claims ,try the "Ive got the dud bearings " with tojo now and see how far you get ,,
AnswerID: 181781

Reply By: DMH122 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:00

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:00
From what i have seen most zd's failed due to lack of maintenence or incorrect oil.
AnswerID: 181861

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:54

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:54
That's what I've heard from a mech around the corner....wrong oil !!!
FollowupID: 438197

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 10:20

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 10:20
I am for the argument that the more pots you have working for you the less those pots have to do, so i am sticking with the 6 cylinder TD42 GU.
But i also know that there are plenty of small jap trucks out there that are builder's workhorses and run on 4 cylinders but you wouldn't want to tour in them.
Then we have the Mighty OKA, geez how the hell do they move at all with a piddly little 4 cylinder donk?
AnswerID: 181920

Reply By: shaggy - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 12:33

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 12:33
3.0 litre nissan diesel is not that highly stressed. Check out the BMW diesel which uses 8.6 litres per 100km combined city and highway. Makes nissan and toyota look very antiquated.

X5 3.0d
Cylinders: 6
Valves: 24
Capacity: 2993 cc
Maximum Power: 150 kW / 204 bhp / 4000 rpm
Maximum Torque: 480 Nm / 2000 rpm

Shaggy

AnswerID: 181931

Reply By: arthurking83 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 22:45

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 22:45
Fisho64 wrote:
"....Correct me if I am wrong but is this same engine in the Navara and do they have the same problem? That may narrow it down? "

My mates mates, Navara went 'BANG!' :p

:D
AnswerID: 182026

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:49

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:49
I checked with my Nissan dealer (supplier) to my business as I have a mechanical workshop.
They said a new engine to me would be $12 000 but if the job is done in their workshop the engine would be $4500.00 + fitting. I spoke with the parts manager and he said he was doing one as we speak and the total is coming to around $6000.00.
It can only be done at Nissan with permission from headoffice and not retail or trade.
His excuse was that Nissan had brought in too many engines and needed to get rid of them, Bull s&%t. They brought in that many for a reason still for six grand I told him if I get any I will sublet the job out to them.
This is from the horses mouth.
For everybody's info it was in western Sydney that this took place today.
120scruiser
AnswerID: 182334

Follow Up By: 4 Detonations 564km - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 09:33

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 09:33
120scruiser
Could you please supply me with the nissan dealers details that you contacted concerning the $4500 engine for a Nissan Patrol.I also have a blown engine and are getting no joy from Nissan. If I can speak with the service manager from this dealership I can find out what steps need to be taken with Nissan to get the motor replaced.
Cheers Darrell
FollowupID: 439604

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 09:49

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 09:49
Hi Darrell
Please email me direct at l o n a r d s a t b i g p o n d d o t n e t d o t a u
I will talk via email
120scruiser
FollowupID: 439610