Supplying constant pressure to a diesel fuel pump
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 19:31
SantaAus
Has anyone heard of using a small fuel pump, which is fitted after the fuel filter, to supply a constant pressure to the diesel fuel pump. I have only just heard of this being done. A friend of
mine has fitted one to his 2.8L GU Patrol. He said that after fitting it the Patrol was more responsive. I don't think that it would affect fuel economy.
What are people's thoughts on this?
Has anyone heard of this before?
SantaAus
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:15
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:15
Some one on here has done this or was talking about it not long ago,did you do a search.
I am also thinking about doing it,believe that they said it actually improved economy abit.
Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:10
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:10
Just absolutely ridiculous - have you no idea of the power of the pump on a diesel motor. Also absolutely amazing how people will so often report what they think others want to hear!!
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:36
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:36
Read on and weap Wanker
Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:22
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:22
SantaAus
Have known a guy to fit one to mitsubishi 2.8 , It also helped it as they have a small lift pump at the rear of the injector pump and can weaken at high ks. A lot of diesels have a pump to deliver fuel from the tank to the injector pump via the filter. Not sure but i think nissan have a different system.
Axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:30
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:30
Thats what i hzave done on
mine.
Was getting fuel starvation after a few minutes of hard running like sand.
There is a retun line from the injector pump so any excess just goes back to the fuel tank.
Other reason I was having a problem is that I have installed a 2nd filter, which increased losses in pressure.
Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:40
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:40
do a search on this site roachie has recently done it to his 4.2td
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:48
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:48
G'day blokes,
Yep, I did it to my 2000 GU about 6 weeks ago.....only difference is that I mounted it half way along the chassis so it helps push the fuel from the tank, through the filter as
well......it makes it easy to prime the filter too. Don't think it's done anything to the power etc, but it gives me piece of mind that the main fuel pump is getting a bit of assistance to do it's job, especially given that I have an extra unit (Morison's DeBug) before the filter and a long range tank (which some say means the pump has to work harder because the diesel has to be lifted a bit more from the bottom of the LR tank to the top etc
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:52
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:52
Roachie.
Whats the standard nissan set up as far as fuel delivery go's?.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:16
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:16
Don't think Bill has seen one of those for a while to know....
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:19
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:19
The Nissan SD33 motor in the MQs had a lift pump to pump fuel from the tank to the high pressure injection pump, which was an in-line pump.
The TD42 in a GQ didn't have a lift pump (at least I never found one in 11 years!) and has a rotary high pressure (HP) pump.
Rotary pumps have a fair degree of suction themsleves. Inline HP pumps don't have this and hence need a seperate lift pump.
I fitted a Repco electric fuel pump as a transfer pump from a long range tank set up in my old Ford Mav ute - worked a beauty.
My 6.5 litre Chev has a rotary HP pump AND a Carter electric lift pump. i,e it has both. It will run without the electric lift pump if required. But the Carter pump does help in "hard pull" situtaions.
PS - That Carter pump is bluddy noisy!
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 10:23
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 10:23
Axle,
Bilbo's on the money......the GU (4.2TD) doesn't have any other pump as standard other than the one bolted to the motor. The Facet pump I fitted probably isn't really necessary, but it all helps. Actually, when it was fitted and started up, it highlighted a small air leak I had in my CAV filter set-up, (as the washer at the bottom of the glass bowl was a bit old and suspect), which had been causing the Patrol to run rough and lose power under moderate acceleration. So even that was a worthwhile benefit from fitting the FACET.
Reply By: Flash - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:39
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:39
Did it a couple of years ago on my TD42 and have been very happy with the results.
I have a Frantz on the fuel line and an electric pump back at the tank. Priming the fuel is now sooo easy..... Turn ignition on, open a bleed screw, and wait for fuel to spurt out.
Don't know why I ever tried to do it with a
hand pump!!
Reply By: Tim HJ61 - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 22:05
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 22:05
This is a common addition amongst the vege oil brigade who use a low pressure pump to push the fuel through the filters, which apparently work better under pressure than suction. Not heard of any detrimental effects.
I wouldn't put a high flow/pressure racing pump on, but I guess you could. The idea is to simply keep a nice solid pressure up to the pre filters and consequently let the lift pump not work as hard sucking. Can't see it having any impact whatsoever on performance unless there was a prior problem - such as fuel starvation.
They are around $100 in Supercheap and other suppliers. I've got one waiting in my 'to do' box.
Tim
Reply By: revhead307 - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 13:40
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 13:40
sounds like a great idea, I would imagine it would take a little of the strain off the mechanical pump as mentioned above..and it cant hurt.
better get my leaky CAV filter seal fixed first (as per Roachie's)
Rev
Reply By: SantaAus - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 15:19
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 15:19
Have just bought the pump. Its a "Fuel Flo" part no. 020.
Will post up some information about the install when I have it done.
SantaAus
Reply By: MichaelR - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 23:37
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 23:37
Now I'm not sure about this and happy to be corrected but there is a safety issue with wiring this additional pump into the accesory or ignition switch. A fuel injected vehicle's fuel pump is usually wired via a relay that stops fuel flowing when the engine is not running even if the ignition is on. This reduces the risk of fire in an accident when an engine may stop (say through a ruptured fuel line) but the ignition remains on. It's not hard to imagine what destruction would take place with fuel poring out via a pump with no load. I agree that the possibility of this happening with diesel is less but the scenario is worthwhile considering
Follow Up By: SantaAus - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 07:29
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 07:29
I agree with you there, and the senario is not far fetched at all. That is why the pump will be hooked up via a relay and only activated when the car is running.
SantaAus
Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 01:22
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 01:22
I've had a quick look at the way the ChevTrol fuel pumps are set up. The original Nissan fuel pump now does nothing other than pump fuel from the sub-tank to the main tank. NB - this has to stay there as the sub-tank is lower than the main tank.
The new Carter pump fitted by Brunswicks now does the total duty of pumpimg from the main tank to the high pressure rotary injection pump.
However, I'm not now gonna rip the lot out and start again. I've gone and bought a 100 litre black plastic tank that I'll use as a long range tank and it'll be fitted with ANOTHER electric pump to transfer fuel from the this LR tank to the main tank as I drive along - just like me old Mav did.
Might fit another battery (that'll be number three!) just to keep all these bluddy pumps going!
That'll give me -let's see - about 95 plus 35 plus 100 litres = 230 litres of fuel. That makes me ChevTrol a flying bomb!! Good job it's diesel and not petrol!
To fit all me prospecting gear in, I've taken the 3rd row seats out, I've taken the 2nd row seats out. If this keeps up I'll be taking the driver and passenger seats out!
Bilbo