Submitted: Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 15:19
RupertDog
Looking to upgrade the RAV, and have the option of an early model 2.7 Lt RV Prado (4cylinder). Meets all my needs, just unsure how they go off road??
2.7 humms along nicely, but slightly underpowered on road. How do they go in the sand, and bush tracks? I am used to a RAV so nothing overly extreme, but need to be able to do beach driving at Moore River &
Wedge Island, and also the Mundaring Powerlines, and similar bush tracks.
Would fitting a turbo or supercharger make a difference??
Any thoughts would be helpful, and thanks in advance
RD
Reply By: PradoTrev - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 16:29
Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 16:29
They might be slow but they will get you there in the end. Just dont try and tow off road with it.
Trev
Reply By: glenn - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 18:35
Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 18:35
RD
I had a 2.7 Prado and towed a off-road camper with it.It went
well even over
sand dunes through central Australia.Towing on the highway it gets 15l/100kms,without the trailer it was 12l/100km.I had it for 3 years and never let me down.Only sold it because the 3 kids needed a bit more room on long trips.It went up Big Red in high range 3rd gear(no trailer).
Glenn
Follow Up By: porl - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:46
Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:46
Yahoo 90's series site says its got more torque from start off than the V6. Rather than 4 from the 90 bseries V6 motor it was supposedly the engine from the 4.5L 100 series with two cylinders lopped off. So a great buy apparently if you understand their limits and enjoy their relatively frugal economy and cheaper rego. I have a v6 and can get down to 10.9L on the highway without much load, would have thought you could get better than that with the 2.7L sticking on say 90 - 100km/hr.
Follow Up By: RupertDog - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 12:21
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 12:21
Glenn
Thanks. Not likely to tackle Big Red (yet!), but sounds encouraging. My 3 kids are still too small too worry about extra space. After my Rav, a Prado will seem like a mansion !
RD
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:57
Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:57
I'm a Patrol man through and through......but back in 2004, we were part of a 3 vehicle convoy to
Cape York. There was us in our 4.2TD, Pud and Barb in their 3L Patrol and another mate in his 2.7 petrol Prado. We were all towing trailers of about 1 tonne. Those blokes went from Yass to Innaminka (where they met up with us who'd driven up from YP in SA). We then went through central Qld to
Cairns and up to the Cape. The Prado did everything the Patrols did and apart from needing to have a couple of new shockers flown in to Seisa where we fitted them, he had no problems with the vehicle at all (can't say the same for his 80 litre Waeco.....which saw him having to curtail his trip and hot-foot it back to
Cairns to get it fixed).
Reply By: prado4x4 - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 10:24
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 10:24
For a Wedge run or up the Powerlines track the 2.7L prado will have no problems at all. Definitely do both those runs easier than the Rav4. (Whilst the front axle is IFS on the prado, the rear is live and atriculates very
well. Of course the Rav4 is IFS all round, and has lower ground clearance).
I personally wouldn't like to tow anything behind the 2.7, but otherwise a great vehicle, and yes I'm biased having a 3.4 Prado.
Follow Up By: RupertDog - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 12:25
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 12:25
prado 4x4
Thanks for the local detail. Would like a 3.4, but can't quite convince the boss (and the bank) to part with the $$. RAV did the powerlines really
well two weeks ago, but did lose a plastic guard off the engine, rearranged my trailer plugs, and flattened the exhaust pipe just a bit - not a problem as I have more ground clearance now !!!!
Hope to try it again soon in the new toy.
RD
Reply By: Brett_B - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 12:58
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 12:58
I had that same 2.7 lt in my last Duel cab Hilux
I loaded that up and took it everywhere, it spent most of its touring time in the
Vic High Country and SA desert region -
I also towed a Jayco outback Finch for the last 2 years I had it
I found the engine to be fine, it has low power yes (120kw?? ) but its torque isnt bad for a 4 Cyl petrol (250Nm ?? I think) it could have been tweeked for the Prado maybe ?
In fact when this donk was realised they quoted better performance specs than the V6 fitted to the RV6 forerunner.
I did 180.000 km when I traded it, no probems rattles or noises from that donk at all, I was real impressed.
Follow Up By: slammin - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 14:03
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 14:03
Ditto but in the Extra cab which is lighter again. I've towed a trailer on Hwy or dirt Hwy heaps but not in serious offroad (4th gear).
You're right on the spec's - additionaly max Hp 150@4800.
Rear LSD will be totally gone by 100K. As will all
suspension, shocks etc.
Best upgrade I've had is susp etc & Auto diff locker on the front. Not to go hardcore but to make life easier on the engine. Completely impressed by the ability now, can use a lot lower rev's. Found v. soft sand hard going b4. Also climbing ability now easier, I don't have to get any momentum just use the 2.7 like a tractor. I don't go any further just get there a lot easier.
Don't forget RACQ insp etc. They saved me a huge loss. Cruiser I was looking at was just fine by my insp etc but they found lotsa annomilies that weren't pickable. The best of was an extremely thick grade of oil in the engine to stop it smoking....
Follow Up By: porl - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:03
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:03
To slammin
What brand and type (and how much) diff locker you get put in the front and have you found any drawbacks on bitumen ?
Follow Up By: slammin - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:54
Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:54
Geeze it's a bit cold so I'm not going outside but I'm pretty sure it's a quick lok, 1611, Supplied by TJM
Cairns. It cost @$1000+ fitted and I got the carrier bearings done at the same time.
It is only engaged when the front hubs are locked. If the hubs are locked but you are in 2wd you will hear a pretty distinct clicking as you corner, at low speeds. Not being engaged it doesn't affect driving. So no I haven't noticed any drawbacks with bitumin because I don't use 4wd.
As with any diff lock it's not for use at speed. So I only engage it when really 4wding (not dirt roads). The 1st thing you notice is that the steering is kind of heavier and have a mind of it's own. It just uses a bit more muscle. It is easy to get used to and some guys I've spoken to find it annoying but I don't.
The advantage of being able to be in 4wd with the diff locked and being able to corner withou hitting a switch is a real bonus for me over air locks etc. The cost is also much less. It is also has less things to go wrong, no compressor, no air hoses, no connections.
Beware though like any diff lock it's easier to start braking stuff off your driveline. I am extremely cautious of not accidently giving it a bootfull while you're being all shook up over rocks etc I think that is the riskiest time as you have full traction and plenty of torque to snap an axle.
Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:01
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:01
Recently sold a 2.7 with 280,000 faultless Ks. Lots of off road driving usually alone. Simpson in mid summer. All the power you need. Went once in company with 3.4 and noted that our fuel consuption was very very close in just about all situations over 6,000 K. It had 2" OME lift, BFGs ATs, and I fitted a 3.4 aux tank (69Lt), filler etc. The major issue from my perspective was limited range due to only 90lt rear tank. Note that all the fitting points are there just waiting for aux tank. (but you need to decide either to get it plumbed professionally to Toyota design or to use its internal pump to pump into the rear tank as it gets near empty).
Big red is no real benchmark but it got over the difficult left hand track of 2003 on first pass while the 3.4 needed 3 goes and shovel. Surprised several 4Wd friends with its capacity to walk up rough tracks without fuss.
Need to drive it like you care.
Never towed anything.
Should be lots of good deals to choose from.
Only sold
mine to get a larger vehicle for long term travel - yep Troopy. Real hard decision too.
Best of luck