ICE COLD BEER

Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 16:55
ThreadID: 3634 Views:1934 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
HI JUST GOT MYSELF A NEW ENGEL 40L FRIDGE LOVE ICE COLD BEER
WHAT SETTING WOULD I NEED TO SET ON MY FRIDGE TO GET THESE RESULTS AND WHAT WOULD THE TEMP BE IN THE FRIDGE FOR THIS TO
HAPPEN CHEERS

Reply By: Will - Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 17:15

Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 17:15
Most people use their engels on 2.

I know that if I have my engel set to 2 1/2 it freezes my beer, so 2 works great, if you are storing lettuce you may consider 1 1/2.

Will
AnswerID: 14359

Reply By: wazza - Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 18:09

Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 18:09
Set mine on about 2.5 as well. Have fitted an internal/external thermometer from Dicky Smith. Helps a lot in getting the setting right. This has it down around 0.5° much of the time. Don't let the lettuce touch the sides. I did this last trip, just threw in the lettuce in a plastic bag up against the side. Soggy mess the next day. Choice of icy beer or cold burns on the lettuce .... hmmm, not difficult.
AnswerID: 14364

Reply By: Lyds - Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 21:26

Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 21:26
Be wary of light beer as it freezes sooner, and you wouldn't want exploded bottles of beer (even if it is light) in your fridge :-(

Apart from that, it gives you headaches.

Stuart
AnswerID: 14374

Reply By: Coops - Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 21:34

Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 21:34
AND forget the lettuce !!!
If you can get her conditioned to the fact that it wont be around on camping trips then life will be much easier as you wont have to fiddle around with your settings.
Who eats the stuff anyway ?
Concur with the 2 - 2.5 settings !
AnswerID: 14377

Reply By: Michael - Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 21:52

Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 21:52
On my last trip to Inaminka every bottle that was stored outside the fridge leaked. SHE was not happy. Has anyone had a similar experience.
AnswerID: 14380

Follow Up By: johnsy - Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 23:16

Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 23:16
if your talking stubbies never take them out of the 6pac plastic and if possible leave them in the carton if you put wieght on the cap you break the seal .
FollowupID: 8647

Follow Up By: ThePublican - Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 10:52

Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 10:52
Johnsy ,never heard that rot before, " if you put weight on the cap you break the seal," funny that beer gets transported 8ctns per layer 10 ctns high ,does this mean all beer bar top layer of pallet has broken seals.??Think NOT.
FollowupID: 8660

Follow Up By: Chris - Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 22:06

Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 22:06
Michael, had the same problems with our stubbies, hence we only buy cans now. Keeping them in the plastic seal usually works (prevents too much movement) well but you'll find that it crowds the fridge whereas when they're individually placed around you have a lot more room - unless you're a p*shead and don't believe in storing food in your fridge.
It depends to on the terrain, two other 4WD enthusiasts and myself constantly use to encounter leaking stubbies and just by looking at them they were foamed up inside which I reckon caused excess pressure causing the leak. This was mainly after dune work, corrugations and very rough terrain - normal beachdriving and tame tracks were fine.
We usually carry a large esky between us and stock that with a combo of frozen bottles of water and ice on short trips. If the wife likes hogging the fridge with homely niceties, just rotate your beers ie. keep 6 in there and replace each one as you watch the sunset, of course this depends on your drinking speed!!

In regards to the Engel setting 2 - 2.5 is perfect.
FollowupID: 8700

Reply By: ThePublican - Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 11:13

Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 11:13
Robert ,the best temp for main stream beers is 2- 4 deg, ask any cellarman ,yardy ,pub manager ,publican ect what temp their fridges are set at to give you that ice cold beer ,answer the same from Darwin to Hobart, Broome to Brisbane , 2 to 4 degrees , any colder = frozen, any warmer = loss of aromatics [the lovely hops smell] to a stale beer smell.
Therefor follow the thread ,get a thermometer and b-gger the lettuce..
AnswerID: 14408

Follow Up By: ROBERT - Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 12:51

Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 12:51
CHEERS EVERYONE FOR YOUR HELP SOUNDS LIKE 2.5 IS ABOUT RIGHT
AND I WILL GRAB ONE OF THOSE THERMO READINGS
ROB
FollowupID: 8668

Reply By: sean - Wednesday, Mar 05, 2003 at 00:23

Wednesday, Mar 05, 2003 at 00:23
I also put a dick smith indoor / outdoor thermo on it. Cut down the cord lenght to suit. I run mine all the time with my beer in it. Its better than the BIG fridge.

Sean
AnswerID: 14463

Reply By: Richard - Sunday, Mar 09, 2003 at 11:05

Sunday, Mar 09, 2003 at 11:05
The best way to carry your beer in the fridge... buy one of the multi-pack cans of coke [20 or 24 or whatever] tear a hole in the top and partway down the front, only about 2 canwidths wide, separate all the beers and stack in the box. Easy to get to, easy to top up, and keeps them all together.
AnswerID: 14713