Nissan Navara D40 rear suspension

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:19
ThreadID: 36635 Views:11888 Replies:7 FollowUps:0

This question is on behalf of a mate that is currently out at Alice Springs - on his way west from Townsville, through Boulia the rear suspension on his near new D40 was regularly bottoming out. He had approx 500kgs on board including himself and his girlfriend. In the end it was so bad that he had to offload a few boxes to a 'Cruiser that was travelling with him. Nissan at the Alice were no help whatsoever!

Has anyone had, or heard of similar problems with these vehicles?

Apparently aftermarket components will not be available for a few more months.

Any advice appreciated.

Shaun

Reply By: Steve M - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:23

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:23
I am having a similar issue with a D22, will keep forum viewers posted.

Steve M
AnswerID: 188199

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:01

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:01
;-)

AnswerID: 188232

Reply By: the outlaws - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:29

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:29
The suspensions prolly flogged out from pulling the toymotor out off the quog !!!

Go The Nissan !!!!!!
AnswerID: 188303

Reply By: Member - Cyote (SA) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:30

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:30
Hi Shaun,
I too have a mate with a near new Navarra D40, (14,000K). His salesman in Bundy country suggested he take some spare shockers but could not source any for him and said " Its a new vehicle so you shouldn't have any problems." My mate got to Cameron Corner and the front stone guard fell off, replaced it three times by the time he got to Uluru so put it in the back.
He got to Well 5 on the CSR and his shockers started to leak, dilemma, turn back on his own or continue with mates up the CSR, shorter to Halls Creek than go back to Alice. He continued on with the support of the group. By the time they got to Well 20 the shockers were stuffed. He got to the junction with the Tanami track and one side of the factory fitted alloy bar broke one side of the welds, 40 km up the road the other side cracked off. The Welds have evidence of crystallising. Called Nissan Road Side Assist and they sent someone from Halls Creek who couldn't fix the problem so they had it trailered to Kununurra. No Nissan dealer in Kununurra but the Toyota dealer helps out at times. They rang Melbourne and after all explanation all the problems were my mates because he did not turn around when he noticed to leak and then this 'National Customer Relations Manager' proceeded to inform my mate that he used the vehicle for something it was not intended to be used for by going off road.

Sorry for the long winded but this only just happened this week and it should be interested what happens when he is in Darwin.

Cyote SA
AnswerID: 188401

Reply By: bucky - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 07:06

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 07:06
G-Day Mate !

Did you get the standard answer, " cant please everyone "

Put 500+ kg's into my 2003 D22 and she is on the " bump stops ". Had a sook to Nissan and got the standard answer..( mongrels )

Not to be beaten, I decided to put Poly Ais Bags on it,, problem solved by me ..

I hate Nissan for this ,, if they care about customers they dhould at least give buyers an option for long travell suspension ,, that can carry a 1/2 decent load

Its false advertising, stating that they are a 1 tonner, and are basically undriveable after 500 kg's are in them

AnswerID: 188461

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:16

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:16
As said Polyairs right now would help, but if not practical , lighten load as far as possible and shift heavier items forward (i.e. put water containers in rear passenger as opposed to ute section).

Then drop tyre pressures a bit but make sure to luse ower speed to compensate
else overheat tyres.

The tyres form a fair bit of the suspension travel of loaded cars.

Lockers and suspension are under development (feb 2006) for these cars so their is hope soon.

AnswerID: 188469

Reply By: Charlie_312 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 00:14

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 00:14
Update

We one of the couples travelling with the above mentioned Nissan throughout the Northern Territory. We have just completed a trip from Townsville to Boulia across the plenty highway, to Alice Springs around the Mereenie Loop to Uluru and now back to Alice Springs. The new D40 Nissan had issues with suspension along the bitumen before reaching Boulia and since then has been offloading items to other vehicles all of which have coped with this additional load. While certainly rough and corrugated condition at no time have we encountered any road condition that required 4wd and all vehicles have carried a load consistent with a camping trip. These items have included one 50L Waeco fridge, camping equipment, three 20L diesel jerry cans and various food and clothing items. There are only two occupants at any one time.

This Nissan has consistently struggled with the load regardless of road conditions. All members of this trip (seasoned 4wd owners and drivers) are amazed that a 4wd sold by Nissan at this price and standard cannot cope with a smallest of load capacity on any road condition.

We look forward to a response from Nissan and will keep you informed.

AnswerID: 189053