Powdered eggs

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 16:55
ThreadID: 36739 Views:9274 Replies:11 FollowUps:6
Anyone know where I can get some powdered egg.

I don't want 20 kg - just 1 kg.

Any suggestions would be good - even the obtuse....

Grrr!!!

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:09

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:09
Catering supplier?

Camping shop?
AnswerID: 188791

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:15

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:15
SWMBO says any majoring catering store.

(and shes always right LOL)
AnswerID: 188804

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:21

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:21
Seems the only place I can find them is the USA... US$30/3lb... You could get powdered egg whites at most health food stores that sell suppliments for body builders, aside from that, they appear to be widely unavailable.

If I may ask, why the requirement for powdered egg...???
AnswerID: 188805

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:26

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:26
Just when you think Google has let you down...

From the above:

In 2005 James Morrison reported that you could buy a 400gr tub of Whole Egg Powder from the same company for $9.40 for the product plus $5.00 to cover post & handling (= $14.40) by sending a cheque with your order to:
Pace Farm Pty Ltd
Locked Bag 800
Rooty Hill NSW 2766

Alan Erskine went on an egg hunt and reported an email back from a lady at Farm Pride Eggs to say that they sell 300g re-sealable tins of powdered whole egg, and that they have a distributor called Australian Egg Co (what else?), phone 03 5941 4650 and the ladies name is Glennis.
FollowupID: 446080

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:31

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:31
Ok - that got you all in eh but!

I have tried just about everywhere and most large stores or the kids who staff them don't even have a clue as to what it is even..

I can get it on special order of 20kg lots from the wholesalers because they use it sometimes in hotels -( remeber the big scare at the Hilton in Cairns - food poisoning from the eggs I believe ) - but that is way too much.

Why do I want it?

To make pwdered pancakes like ya but in the bottles at the supermarkets.

Saves carrying real eggs when camping with heaps of ankle biters. Seroisly it is to make prepacked pancakes - just add water type of stuff...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 446081

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:28

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:28
It's seriously looking to be a far cheaper exercise to just buy the crap in the plastic bottles... I never liked the stuff but the missus took a punt and bought a brand we'd never heard of before from Not Quite Right(NQR) and it was pretty bloody good... At about a buck fifty, I wouldn't bother with the powdered eggs but it's not my choice here...

FWIW, I remember trying powdered eggs made up as scrambled eggs out bush in the Army... Can't say I'm in a hurry to have that experience again, tasted like yellow... No I didn't forget anything there, they simply tasted like yellow...
FollowupID: 446092

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 23:13

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 23:13
> tasted like yellow

fantasic description, I've never tasted yellow but I know what you mean...
FollowupID: 446128

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 23:43

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 23:43
"I've never tasted yellow but I know what you mean..."

Funny, almost everyone who has heard it says the same thing... The universal language of HTHDIDT(how the hell do I describe this)
FollowupID: 446133

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:29

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:29
try the health food section of the local major supermarket.....i have found it in that section (you know the area, tofu, gluten free stuff, etc).

Have you tried asking there ;-)

AnswerID: 188806

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:33

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:33
Crazy,

I'm really interested as to the purpose of these. Do you simply add water/butter/milk and heat for scrambled eggs? Is there some other way to prepare them?

I'm sure they provide protein without refrigeration, but just what do you do with them and how do they taste?

It's got me fascinated.

AnswerID: 188807

Reply By: TerraFirma - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:26

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:26
Stay Still and me and the kids will throw it at you during our annual Bundalong tinnie trip.! Ocassioanlly we colide with the aluminium tinnies in the Murray but powerdered EGG (mostly runny) is our speciality.... You get caught napping,, and you'll be wearing it.!

Ohh... and ( We make our own..!)

"Fresh Bread Crumbs often matured with Garlic and freshly cracked 700G Farm Laid Free Frange Bundaberg Rum Flavoured EGGGGGSSSSSS......"
AnswerID: 188844

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:59

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 22:59
McDonalds ;)
AnswerID: 188852

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 23:39

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 23:39
YUK - sounds like the yellow #### they used to feed us at boarding school.

Even i live without eggs when travelling. I don't imagine egg powder would achieve a better pancake than not using any - try adding milk powder to soften the mixture instead. You could buy half a dozen eggs when in civilisation, and have your egg meals just occasionally. Otherwise, I'm sure with a bit of practice, you (or your 'catering department') will be able to perfect eggless recipes and meals.

AnswerID: 188856

Reply By: MP - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:03

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:03
G'day Crazy Dog,

if its just for pancakes we used a product called "Egg Like" that we just bought from Coles/Woolies. We used it as an egg substitute as our son was allergic to eggs. Fine for pancakes. 1 teaspoon = 1 egg. Small packet last for ages.

AnswerID: 188866

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:23

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:23
yep, that's the stuff i have seen :-)

FollowupID: 446140

Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:07

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:07
I remember taking real eggs on the Gunbarrel Highway in one of those little plastic cases. They survided, but it was a novel experience to break them open and find that they were already scrambled!
AnswerID: 188900

Reply By: The J-man - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:49

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:49
G'day Bloke,

The solution to your problem is quite simple. Make your own. Recipe as follows is from Grass Roots magazine.

1. Combine several eggs in a bowl and beat them till they are fluffed up. Note the number of eggs you used.
2. Put the beaten eggs in a biscuit tray in a thin layer. Dry them in a warm oven or a food dehydrator.
3. when the eggs are dry, break them into pieces and grind into a powder. (blender or food processor).
4. Weigh the powder and divide by the number of eggs you used. Now you know how much powder equals 1 egg.
5. Store in airtight container.

hope this helps.
AnswerID: 188960