5th Wheelers

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 18:51
ThreadID: 37490 Views:3632 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
G,day,
does any body have the 100% correct info re towing a 5th wheeler with a C Class licence. The RTA really can"t offer the correct info. Reading current motorhome mag, it states you can drive vehicle with 4500kg GVM and tow 8000kg,.When you really look into this it is a HUGE grey area. We are experinced vanners with approx 30000k"s plus towing 29ft to the draw bar. I would appreciate any boody that can supply fact.
keep the black stuff under your wheels/ dirt.
Steve.

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 19:17

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 19:17
This is from the CMCA web site, it should be accurate.

5th Wheeler
A large hybrid between a motorhome and a caravan, the 5th wheeler motorhome body extends over the top of the tow vehicle, which might be a big Ford ute or even a prime mover, and attaches to a turntable called a wheel. (Get it - the 5th Wheel). When detached, the tow vehicle can be used separately. Users say they have a limited amount of swaying when travelling and that, due to the towing position and king pin coupling, they are extremely stable when being passed by semi trailers. They are apparently extremely easy to reverse. You are also able to tow a much larger trailer on a standard car licence due to the goose neck that sits on the back of your vehicle.The licence required is governed by the size of the vehicle you are driving not the size of the trailer that you are towing. An articulated licence is not required until the trailer of any description exceeds 9 tonne ATM.
AnswerID: 193195

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:12

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:12
CMCA is who???? (people dont automatically know who you are referring to)

BTW it is "Caravan and Motorhome Club of Australia".

Only accurate information would be standing at the counter getting someone from the RTA to give a signature to their advice. In other words, get in writing from the people that issues the licences and endorsements (enjoy the day at the counter until you are satisfied...), not a self interested website (not knocking them, but you honestly cannot legally rely on the CMCA opinion or advice).

Not trying to be nasty or start a war, but "I saw it on a website" doesn't really cut it in the courts.
FollowupID: 451055

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:36

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:36
Mate, if you haven't got anything sensible to say you should keep your comments to yourself, it only shows the size of your brain.

The CMCA is the peak body for motor homers in Australia so I for one would take their advice.
FollowupID: 451064

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:16

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:16
Notso, I wasn't trying to be a smarta*s, but the CMCA is a CLUB, like all 4WD clubs, sailing clubs, and all other clubs. They do not have any standing to give legal advice. My advice was to only accept legal information from the people that are legally qualified to give it, and in the case of licence/licencing issues that would be the RTA.

This is the safest advice to give, and does not leave any individual or group open for being legaly liable, only the responsible department of Government.
FollowupID: 451072

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:23

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:23
That's fine mate but try to keep your posts away from the personal and do stick to the facts.

It may be true what you say, but that is advice from the CMCA official website and short of dropping in to the local RTA is the best advice you'll get. There is the issue of professional liability that they have to consider.

FollowupID: 451076

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 23:00

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 23:00
Pretty much my point. (Don't exactly see where a "personal" attack was made though, or where the lack of "facts" was)

I would assume you have a bit to do with the CMCA, hence the "offence" you have displayed.

It may be worth them putting links to the relevant documents in each of the States Licencing authorities to cover their asses a bit better legally. Having such a big, sweeping statement like that in your original post, and not providing a reference for that statement is a bit on the "iffy" side. All in all a 10 minute rewrite of the code to insert 8 links.
FollowupID: 451086

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 06:44

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 06:44
I was going to go down this path a couple of year's ago & what notso has said is spot on.The CMCA would not have this on their website if it were not the fact.Also some of the information you can get from RTA can also be conflicting from one to the other.
FollowupID: 451101

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:51

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 10:51
Conflicting advice or not, THEY (RTA) are the ones that issue the licences, and are responsible for issuuing the correct licence.

All I see is the need to get past the "front counter staff" and talk to someone that actually has a clue. Given the relatively small number of 5th wheelers your size, and the unusual nature of the enquiry, it is not unreasonable to get front counter staff that honestly don't have a clue (45 000 CMCA members with maybe several hundred 5th wheelers on the road Australia wide with an average driving life span of say 3 yrs, attending to/enquiring about their licence endorsements once in a lifetime, at any of 100 or so transport authority offices in Australia). In reality this would come up once or twice a year per office.

The issue is not whether the CMCA is right or wrong, but whether they are legally qualified to give advice. As I stated, links to the appropriate State Govt authorities would at least cover the CMCA's asses.
FollowupID: 451148

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 11:05

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 11:05
I would say they would be more Legaly qualified than either you or myself as they have their own legal eagles.Enough said on this one i would say.
FollowupID: 451153

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:52

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:52
The only site that has relevant info is the CMCA site.

The Victorian Government site simply states that you can tow a trailer up to 9 tonnes with a "Car" licence.

Anyhow the CMCA has around 20,000 members somewhat larger and better resourced than most "4WD Clubs" I'd say. and contrary to the "Personal" remark made above I ain't a member.

Anyhow we all do our best in our own way to help out when someone asks a question and rather than denigrating other people and organisations give you own "Helpfull advice" and let the enquirer sort out which advice to take.
FollowupID: 451167

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 17:24

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 17:24
Come on, give garyinoz a fair go.

CMCA have some good info and advice, but when it comes to the crunch, the final decision is made by the local RTA office.

Yeah, lets move on.
FollowupID: 451207

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:58

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:58
My understanding is that a C Class Licence (normal car licence) allows you to drive a vehicle up to GVM or 4,500 KG. Within that licence class, you can tow any trailer (including 5th wheeler) that vehicle can legally tow.
Here is one link (to SA Govt site). Site Link

I have no personal knowledge of towing 5th Wheelers, but I have a good friend with one. He assures me that if you are licenced to drive the tow vehicle, and it is legal to tow a 5th Wheeler with that vehicle, then you are licenced to drive the combined rig.
AnswerID: 193228

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:11

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:11
NT Govt site gives similar info:
Site Link

FollowupID: 451070

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:22

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 22:22
Gday Norm, just for future reference, as far as i am aware at least. There has been for some years now a national classification of licence's. So in every state/territory all should be the same. I am unsure that a 5th wheeler may be pulled on a car licence however and as has allready been said, go to the local licence center and get the info in writing.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 451074

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:13

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:13
There lies the crunch, getting the likes of the rta to actually provide written authority is like winning the lottery.
They will keep referring you to the drivers handbook and heavy vehicle drivers handbook.
FollowupID: 451110

Reply By: Val - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 17:28

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 17:28
from the NSW Road Transport regs:

The holder of a driver licence of class C or LR may drive a motor vehicle covered by that licence class that is towing a single trailer with a GVM not greater than 9 tonnes, provided that:

(a) in the case of a motor vehicle that has a GVM of up to 4.5 tonnes, the requirements of any law in force in this State in relation to the mass limits for combinations of light vehicles are met, or

(b) in the case of a motor vehicle that has a GVM greater than 4.5 tonnes, the mass limits for combinations specified in the Road Transport (Mass, Loading and Access) Regulation 2005 are met.

ie, a 5th wheel can be towed on a c class licence

BruceV
AnswerID: 193320

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 21:00

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 21:00
This is the rules for a C class licence in SA , I would presume the same would apply to all states

any motor vehicle with a gross vehicle mass (GVM) not exceeding 4500 kg (but not including buses designed to carry more than 12 seated persons, motor bike and motor trikes). Examples of vehicles which may be driven: sedans, station wagons, panel vans, utilities, light delivery vans, small trucks, quadbikes, special purpose vehicles (e.g. farm machines, small tractors, forklifts or other like machinery);

small articulated vehicles provided the GVM of the towing vehicle does not exceed 4500 kg. For example, small truck towing a horse float or trailer or caravan.
MAY TOW :
trailer, horse float, caravan or farm implement

Doug

AnswerID: 193358

Reply By: Member - Stephen H (NSW) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 13:28

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 13:28
G,day.
I am a member of the CMCA and they can"t assist. The RTA don"t really have all the info,but I have been told that I can and the Iveco Dealer has been bloody great not telling me a load of crap.This is ahuge grey area that really needs attention.
I thank every body. Can you tell me how to supply some body my email address.
Steve.
AnswerID: 193485