Synthetic winch rope

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 23:24
ThreadID: 37496 Views:6900 Replies:6 FollowUps:28

Anyone tried the guy on ebay's winch ropes?

M-P Superline synthetic winch line, Winch Rope 5/16x100

Or does anyone have suggestions as to a supplier of quality dyneema ropes with fittings available off the net?

Reply By: Old4runner - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 05:05

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 05:05
HI Dave
My son got into some serious trouble in his 3.0litre turbo diesel Toyota Surf when he snapped a frontdrive shaft.One of our companions in the group had a Jeep Cherokee with a winch with this new syntethic "rope" It worked a treat pullling the Surf out of an enmourmous predicament.

Its lighter than the steel cables, it will float on water and has triple the strengh of a wire cable. I`m definately sold on these new winch synthetic cables and as soon as Ihave the necessary funds I will be adding a winch with this new synthetic cable. Doesn`t even have to be left out inthe sun to dry as its rot proof
Hope that has been of dome help
AnswerID: 193247

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 07:51

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 07:51
Good Stuff Dave , although I got mine direct from Masterpull

www.masterpull.com

I'd buy next size up though next time, as synthetic rope does have the odd issue not related to its strength.

AnswerID: 193256

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:08

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:08
I've thought of replacing cable with the synthetic rope but am put off by the need to keep it clean. Apparently any grit will abrade the rope causing deterioration and eventual failure.
This seems to be backed up by the number of people with synthetic rope who remove it before going through bog holes to keep it clean, sort of defeats the purpose.
AnswerID: 193258

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:23

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:23
>>> This seems to be backed up by the number of people with synthetic rope who remove it before going through bog holes to keep it clean, sort of defeats the purpose.
I think anyone who would do that would be the kind of person scared to dirty their car.. If they do remove it, Ive never heard of something so stupid in my life.
FollowupID: 451113

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:27

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:27
Funnily enough I've seen competitors in 4wd comps do it regularly in bog holes, they take the view that there are recovery vehicles in situ and it saves having to clean the rope afterwards.
That was also my point that if it had to be kept clean like a snatch strap then hanging on the front of a vehicle wasn't a good spot for it to live especially when it may sit for 12 months or more on lots of vehicles between uses.
FollowupID: 451116

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:31

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:31
In the comps I've been to people drive in regardless. They dont waste 10 mins removing rope and winding it back on... Also comp dudes wouldn't worry about that kind of thing, well not the dudes I know!

You wouldnt be talking of timed events I guess.
FollowupID: 451119

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 23:04

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 23:04
Gday Traveller2 adn Truckster,

I've considered getting some myself....with the idea of keeping it in the cabin somewhere and bring it out when needed. This would keep it grit free etc, keep it clean, stop it from getting damaged etc etc. Does it have a similar fitting on the end to make this easy and practical. I have used similar rope in waterskiing and its streangth to weight/size is very apealing, but a little worried about the deterioration in the elements up front 24/7

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 451663

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:33

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 08:33
I've asked the same question on how you tell what is good and whats not on OLimits.. Its in General Tech section

With some sellers tryin to save a buck on buyin to increase profit, the quality will drop.

theres numerous online sellers on OL if your interested
AnswerID: 193260

Reply By: Moggs - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 09:26

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 09:26
I use some Amsteel Blue synthetic rope. It is 40m long and has a 3mtr rope guard on it. Came with all fittings - just needed to put a hook on. Cost about AUD200 from www.okoffroad.com They ship regularly to Australia and were great to deal with. The local suppliers all want AUD400 upwards for this stuff.

Very happy with it. Keep in mind that you will also need to replace the roller fairlead with an aluminium hawse to protect the rope. Mine stays on all the time - gets dirty - no problems at all. When wound on the rope guard covers all of the rope on the drum.

Amsteel Blue (which you can also get in green now) was designed for offshore fishing applications. It is UV safe and rot proof. It is made by Sampson Rope Technologies in the US. Very similar to Dynamica and the rest.

If you have a good condition steel cable you should be able to sell it second hand for more than you will pay for the rope from okoffroad.

Just one other thing - it is not heat rated. This is only an issue if you are winching out and the in drum brake is heating up. As far as I am aware most winches are not designed for winching out - wears the brake out. I don't do it for any length of time - and have never had any issues.

As for breaking rope - yeah, could happen - but I'd rather a rope snap with no recoil rather than have steel cable flying around. Besides if it snaps - just tie it back together.

If you do go the rope option, give okoffroad a lookin. The prices are very good - shipping quick.
AnswerID: 193263

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:04

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:04
what size do u have? 3/8
FollowupID: 451156

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:28

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 12:28
5/16'' x 100'. Still stronger than the steel cable my Magnum came with.
FollowupID: 451162

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 16:32

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 16:32
ahhh that explains it. I need the 3/8th on the 10k warn.
FollowupID: 451197

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 17:27

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 17:27
you do??? I would have thought the 5/16ths would have done the job fine.
FollowupID: 451208

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 23:45

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 23:45
10k warn.. but might swap it for a 9k if I can
FollowupID: 451309

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 00:37

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 00:37
still reckon you'd be ok with the 5/16 - it is rated to 13k if I remember rightly.
FollowupID: 451310

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 14:28

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 14:28
yea will sus it out

thanks for the link dude.
FollowupID: 451394

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:41

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:41
Thanks Moggs, I've just ordered 125' of the stuff plus a alu' hawse and the rubber gizmo to protect the hawse from the hook. We'll see how it all goes.
FollowupID: 451691

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 12:39

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 12:39
Okay, I just removed the old steel cable and the fairlead (nothing like being ready, eh?).

Now might be a good time to ask a question about my Warn XD9000. It's over 13 years old and for a long time it has had a broken lug on the gearbox side. I'm referring to the cast lug that holds on the chrome bar that joins the 2 sides (ie: motor and gearbox). There are 2 of the chrome bars and they are held on with allen bolts. So, I've just removed the broken one altogether and was wondering whether this could be an issue? I can't see it being a problem as it has been broken for years; I've just never bothered removing altogether before.

Cheeers

FollowupID: 451703

Follow Up By: Moggs - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:34

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:34
No worries - I am sure you will be happy with it. 125' is a heap - hope you can fit it all on the drum!

Just one thing re: the aluminium Hawse. Most winches in the US are sold into the Jeep market and are mounted feet down. Most bars here (ARB and TJM etc) have the winches mounted feet forwards (as you would already know..) This means that if you are using an ARB bar then you need the hawse to have the bolt holes offset silghtly to ensure the hawse is positioned correctly. ie. so the rope doesn't contact any point of the bar. Okoffroad brought this up when I ordered and made sure I got the right offset hawse - if they didn't raise it with you then maybe have a chat with them about it.

Re: the chrome bar - I reckon it would provide some form of structural strength to the winch, especially when the rope is pulling against one side of the drum. I would be getting it fixed if it was my winch.
FollowupID: 451722

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:09

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 19:09
Thanks Moggs,

I saw on their website that they had a off-set hawse for the ARB bar and that is the one that I ordered, although I notice that the fairlead I removed seems to be in the middle of the bullbar's cut-out, so maybe I should've got the standard one....will wait and see.

Thanks too for the advice about the chrome bar. I'll keep an eye on the situation.

FollowupID: 451730

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:57

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:57
shoulda told me Roachie u were gettin some, would have shared freight with ya
FollowupID: 451813

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:19

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:19
Trucky,

If you can hold off til I get my package,........ I'm a bit interested to see if in fact I do need the hawse with the offset bolt holes. The fairlead I removed was bolted to the bottom 2 bolts of the winch and the opening in the b/bar is right in the middle of the 2 bolt holes......so it just looks like that I would need a symetrical type hawse. Do you know which hawse you're gunna need yet?

FollowupID: 451828

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:24

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:24
NFi, I just want the rope. fairleads are cheap enuogh local to make sure you get the right thing
FollowupID: 451829

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:41

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:41
Not necessarily cheap......the aluminium hawse I saw here in oz were about $119-. The yanky ones are US$49-.
You cannot use a normal fairlead with synthetic rope from what I have read.
FollowupID: 451838

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:54

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:54
but if its wrong...
FollowupID: 451841

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:58

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:58
I wouldn't be overly concerned re: the offset on the hawse. It is only 3/8 of an inch offset from middle. The hawse o is narrower than the roller fairlead openning. The roller fairlead openning would be dead centre, but the hawse openning when attached to the bottom feet of the winch would be lower as it is narrower (if you get what I mean). This is why they do a small offset to return it to the centre. i.e. lift the openning up. Struggling to describe it LOL, but you will see what I mean when it arrives.
FollowupID: 451842

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:01

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:01
Just got an email from USA advising me the postage will be US$67- and asking did I still wish to proceed.

I ran some calc's and have now amended my order to 100' (instead of 125')....I've got an extension strap that I've never used anyway. It still works out a bit cheaper than what I worked out on www.4B.com.au where the rope was $390- (for 30 meters of 5/16" stuff).

FollowupID: 452033

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:09

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:09
G'day Roachie,

It pays to double check the postage method (no doubt you did) because I've had stuff sent over and I found the basic postage works out a lot cheaper than some of the stuff they quote. I know it's too late but worth keeping in mind for next time.

FollowupID: 452034

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:26

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:26
Hey Roachie, so if the rope was US159 (or thereabouts) and the postage US67, then @ approx. 0.7500 AUD/USD it is about AU300?? - still a $90 saving or 23% on the4B Line. Did that postage include the hawse shipping? Hawse is the heavy bit.

When I ordered mine the rope was about US120 and shipping US40 - was about AU200 all up.

Seems prices have gone up! Still cheaper than what you can get here though.
FollowupID: 452035

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:30

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:30
yes Moggs, that includes the Hawse too and covers insurance as well, so I'm happy enough with that.
FollowupID: 452036

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:48

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:48
Ah ok. I don't think I paid for transit insurance - was shipped by USPP if I remember correctly.

Just out of interest, have you calculated what the difference in AU terms is on the whole lot compared to sourcing locally?
FollowupID: 452038

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:28

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:28
Moggs,
Not to the last dollar mate, (as I don't know how much the postage would be from Melb or where-ever to Kadina). But, based on FX rate of .75 it'll be about AU$362- landed. The 4B rope is $390- and the hawse was $40-, so even before postage and insurance I'm $68- in front; let's say about $85- to $90- all up I guess.

FollowupID: 452045

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:32

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:32
BTW, I don't use the winch all that much, but it was on the old GQ (ex- Govt) when I bought that truck back in 1995. The wire rope already had a couple of nasty kinks in it then and it's only gotten a bit worse since. I like to think I'm a bit safety conscious (probably not enough). I've wanted to get rid of the steel cable for some time, but the synthetic was always too expensive to justify. Now with this amount involved, I can justify it as a real safety factor.

FollowupID: 452047

Reply By: Member - Charlie S (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 11:41

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 11:41
The "Superline" from Master-Pull is heat protected on the drum end and also has a chafe guard. The XD version is sealed against dirt and grit, but also significantly more expensive. Cheers
AnswerID: 193276