Prado on fire - CLEAR any SPINIFEX!!!!

Submitted: Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:29
ThreadID: 37548 Views:5259 Replies:17 FollowUps:26
I found these on another forum today. They're recent I believe. Teaches everyone a lesson - clear out that spinifex before this happens....

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:45

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:45
Should be no dispute from the insurance about writing that off!
AnswerID: 193559

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 22:02

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 22:02

There seem to be some strange anomalies in these pictures. The seventh picture shows no sign of the wheel, tyre and rim... and yet, the plastic flare seems largely intact. If the fire was so intense it burned the alloy wheel, surely the flare would have gone too...
Weird.....
FollowupID: 451519

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 22:05

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 22:05
Have you ever seen a magnesium wheel burn? They go in a flash - literally!
FollowupID: 451521

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:44

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:44
I can assure you that the flare is gone. That is the bit of metal that holds it to the guard. You can see the holes where the plastic clips onto it.

Muddy
FollowupID: 451571

Follow Up By: hl - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 11:33

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 11:33
Hmmm...
quite amazing how those rims vanish.... point taken....

FollowupID: 451575

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 17:03

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 17:03
Yep - magnesium really does burn in a flash...but there are no mag wheels left on the road these days as far as I am aware. Magnesium is mined largely from the ocean and hence mag alloys are highly susceptible to corrosion. You know the old from when ye came so shall ye return - or something like that. Most alloy wheels these days are a copper nickle aluminium alloy I think as this material is hard wearing and less likely to corrode etc.
FollowupID: 451606

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:47

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:47
That should polish right out.

The Importance of carrying a Fire extinguisher and a pressure Water sprayer when in county like that.
AnswerID: 193561

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:48

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:48
Ohh! What a feelin!
. Sheesh.
AnswerID: 193562

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:51

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:51
Chris,

A lovely crisp clear bit of hardened molten Prado alloy adorns my desk. I picked it up from the wreck about 3km south of Georgia Bore on the CSR in July. Even the bullbar melted down to the ground. Apparently the Prado was only 5 days old.
AnswerID: 193564

Follow Up By: feral - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:59

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:59
Must have been the wrong Prado, Willem!!

If you cared to look you would see that the flames are almost out and yet the bullbar is still intact.

Either your bullsh**ting us again or these Toyota's are an extreme danger in the bush.

I certainly wouldn't be driving one if thats the case.

FollowupID: 451469

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:08

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:08
Ah a typo mate

the sentence should read I picked it up from a wreck...not the wreck....

I will put the Prado in my Rig Pic for you to see

FollowupID: 451474

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:13

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:13
There you go mate. All true blue
FollowupID: 451476

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:20

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:20
Yes,

I recently saw some pics of another Prado similarly afflicted by fire after picking up spinifex. Not sure where it was but was different to the one posted by Omaroo.

Definately something to watch out for, regardless of the vehicle you drive.

Muddy
FollowupID: 451477

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:26

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:26
Found it!

Oh Bugga

FollowupID: 451478

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:27

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:27
Gday Steven

Just keep the Playdoe filled up with MUD and you'll be right...lol
FollowupID: 451480

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:35

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:35
Yeah thats the one
FollowupID: 451483

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:27

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:27
It looks like they saved the BEER in that photo............ bottom right hand side.

At least they had there priority right lol (not laughing at thier misfortune)

FollowupID: 451556

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:43

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:43
You are very observant Brian...lol I never saw that when I looked at the pic last night.
FollowupID: 451558

Reply By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:02

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:02
Yes we passed by the Prado last month & wondered what had happened. I have a photo holding one of those molten bits of bull bar that Willem has now pinched!! (shame on you Willem ... the Prado will become history like the old landrover :-)

I was told by someone that they were a couple of journalists who decided at the last minute to do the bottom half of the CSR. Can anyone confirm the story or point me to a website
AnswerID: 193570

Reply By: Scubaroo - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:24

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:24
Methinks Prados are cursed - there was one a while back burnt out after a collision with a motorbike on the blacktop somewhere.

Fire extinguisher might have saved the ones in these photos!
AnswerID: 193576

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:27

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:27
Hmmm the 10L willow water carrier doesn't quite appeared to have cut it! Just saw it laying in the foreground of the photo.
FollowupID: 451479

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:30

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:30
That was a 100 series.

Not even time to retreive the pushbike off the roofrack before it was a fireball.

I am amazed at how flammable vehicles are (paint, trim, upholstery) and how quickly they become furiously involved in fire.

Muddy
FollowupID: 451482

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:31

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:31
Do you know if it was petrol or an oil burner Chris ?
AnswerID: 193578

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:39

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:39
That one was a TD. You can see the 3000 sticker on the rear pillar.

In both that one and the other one that I posted a link to above you can see the fire starting at the rear axle. There must be something in that area that catches the stuff and brings it into contact with possibly the rear brake discs or something else that gets hot.

Might have to have a look under my 120 and see if I can spot anything.

Muddy
FollowupID: 451485

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:39

Don't know Ray.... but suspect diesel because in one of the photos you can see the "Turbo" badge.
FollowupID: 451487

Follow Up By: T.C - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:39

Thinkit was an oilburner, Look at the 3000 on the back of the car in the first pics.

FollowupID: 451488

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:43

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:43
Actually it was a "Flex-fuel", burns anything. Petrol, diesel, sump oil, radiator fluid, metal, plastic, leather, aluminium, rubber, heck, even windscreen washer water!!!

Very eco friendly......
FollowupID: 451491

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:45

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:45
maybe it has to do with the amount of plastic being used in our "modern"cars

AnswerID: 193581

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:51

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:51
There's a burnt out vehicle on its side on the GJT a few km before Gary Junction. Does anyone know the story of that one ?
AnswerID: 193586

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:16

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:16
One of the Bosses, (I've got heaps!) sent this to us in June. Was a bloke he knows that owned the Prado.

Fire started in rear brake pad/lining, then burned diesel fuel line, and rest is history. No doubt bit of grass etc helped. Plenty of diesel to burn in a Prado.

hooroo...

AnswerID: 193594

Reply By: MartyB - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:37

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:37
Telstra lost a hiace van recently.
It was actually bogged in mud and the catalytic converter started the grass burning.

Marty.
AnswerID: 193612

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:55

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:55
How much for the fiberglass ariel?
AnswerID: 193618

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:03

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:03
Interesting to see both fires 'as they happened' and that both - I mean this one and the one on the CSR - seem to have started at the left rear. Whether it was something in the brakes, or a build up of grass - is it just a coincidence?

Perhaps we can do an Exploroz investigation and report a design fault to Toyota!

Tim
AnswerID: 193629

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:59

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:59
Tim

It has happened to a GQ Nissan as well. There is a burnt out one on the Hunt Oil road in the Gibson Desert. Same thing. Fire started in rear brakes and spread to fuel tank and occupants had to jump for their lives.

I have removed all bash plates from underneath my truck and when driving in spinifex country I clear the chassis out every night. The dry grass can build up quite substantially around the fuel tank.

FollowupID: 451561

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:45

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:45
I have not looked at a prado or underneath one, just wondering as both seem to have stated left rear area does the exhaust have a heat shield over the muffler in that area and is it close to the brakes. How much room is there between the manifold and the body of the vehicle. Are you able to have long range tanks in these and if so are they in the rear where I guess the spare tyre go under the vehicle if so a build here near the exhaust pay also be a factor.

I am only guessing as I have not seen one but may be something to look at. Makes my 15L pressure sprayer I take a worth while investment I guess.

Feel sorry for the people involved.

AnswerID: 193654

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:30

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:30
Gidday Brian,

It's too wet today (never thought I'd say that again!) to go for a look-see, but the Prado already has long range tanks (~180L). The exhaust on the diesel is on the RHS but I'm not sure where it actually goes without looking underneath. Spare is on the back door.

FollowupID: 451570

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:06

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:06
The big problem here was probably , as Omaroo hinted , a small fire next to a magnesium wheel . They make the flint and scrape fire starters out of magnesium because magnesium is easy to lite and burns super hot . The next problem is that to approach the wheel to put out the small fire is extremely dangerous . The airforce procedure with hot brakes next to a magnesium wheel is to approach from forward or aft , set up a mist spray and clear the area for 20 minutes . The airforce got rid of mag wheels on the early Hercules because of the fire hazard and because the were prone to cracking anyway . As mentioned elsewhere on this forum , alloy wheels aren't as good as steel wheels in the bush .

AnswerID: 193662

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 13:14

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 13:14
Rotord, they are called "Mag" wheels because in the early days they were made out of magnesium. All new wheels now are aluminium alloy except for race cars which are chasing the weight savings so are not a problem regarding a fire.
I know on some of the current crop of new diesel engines they are using a catalytic convertor the same as the petrol engines do. These do run at high temps and I wonder if the Prado has one and if it does was it a possible ignition point.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 451584

Follow Up By: brett - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:30

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:30
Does seem strange the wheels have vanished. As said before they're not magnesium but an aluminium alloy, the bullbar which is also an aluminium alloy is still intact, also the link to the other fire shows the wheels, so if they didn't burn in that fire why did they in this one, also no sign of any steel belts either. Something doesn't seem right
FollowupID: 451644

Follow Up By: nonon - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 01:34

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 01:34
Brett. The link to willems page shows a standard Prado [steel wheels] and the one at the top of this page is the GXL [alloy rims]
FollowupID: 451669

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:26

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:26
Pleased to say i'm very glad it's not mine :) I will say a few things are interesting in phot'o 1 it looks like 3 doors are open however in photos 4 and 5 all doors are closed. In photo 1 & 2 headlights not on but they are on in photo 4 (ghosts). The rear door was closed at the start and open in photo 6 & 7 although I feel this may have been opened after the fire.

If you look at the left and bottom of photo number 7 that silver shaped stuff is most likely whats left of that wheel (mag) and it looks like there is some on the right hand side as well, why there is no wire from the tyres is interesting. The intenity of the fire in number 4 bottom left and number 6 both left and right front seems to indicate the wheels and tyres were on.

Photo's 3 & 4 indicate a fair breeze so this most likely saved the bullbar from being a pool of alloy.

Anyway just my 2 cents worth.

AnswerID: 193772

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:57

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:57
Brian I suspect that the steel belts (if there were any to begin with) would have been vapourised by the heat of the wheels burning. Aluminium alloy burns pretty hot...
FollowupID: 451692

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:59

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:59
Bugger!
AnswerID: 193848