AGM Batteries

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 20:56
ThreadID: 37786 Views:7591 Replies:7 FollowUps:25
I first bought a Lifeline 100 amp AGM in June 2004 and it is now appropriate to comment on it.

After two and a bit years and about 25 camping trips it is still going strong. It is primarily used to power a power hungry 80 litre Waeco Fridge. It gets its recharge from the car and solar and holds a very good charge.

Today I had to remove from the back of the car to do some repairs to the box that it lives in. It has been sitting idle for over a day and is still showing a nice, fat, 12.74 volts.

I also have a REMCO 100 amp AGM in the camper, but it is only 10 months old, so it is too early to pass judgement on it. It's doing a stellar job so far.

Overall....AGM's are worth the money IMHO.

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:18

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:18
Hi Jimbo,

Yes, AGM's are great. They can take a hammering and will also charge up in record time.

If budget allows most customer walk out with an AGM instead of a wet cell.

What is your cranking battery ?

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 194968

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:29

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:29
Derek,

The cranker is what came with the Jerry Can (Terracan). From memory it's a "Rocket", 600 CCA, 75 amp (they do quote both in Korea), sealed calcium job. It too is a bloody ripper. After I start the car it is only a matter of seconds before I hear the Redarc "clunk" and start sending power to the AGM.

ATB,

FollowupID: 453058

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:35

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:35
That's great too. Just shows how well AGM's perform and even with mismatched batteries.

The Redarc is also a great unit.

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 453062

Follow Up By: joc45 - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:36

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:36
Hi Derek,
In your experience, how do the AGMs handle heat inside an engine bay?
I know that any lead-acid battery doesn't really like heat, but often the engine bay is the only place to put these things.
Gerry
FollowupID: 453063

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:41

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:41
I have had no problem with fitting in the engine bay.

I do fit a heat shield if near the turbo or exhaust.

The biggest problem I have seen with batteries is people tightening the hold down clamps too tight.

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 453064

Follow Up By: joc45 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:51

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:51
Thanks, Derek.
I currently use a conventional battery and have mounted a heat shield between the battery and the turbo, plus I have a thermostatically-controlled fan (only a 100mm computer fan) which directs some cool air from the front of the vehicle past the battery. Guess it helps.
Anyway, sounds like an AGM will be ok in this environment when I next upgrade.
Gerry
FollowupID: 453152

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:45

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 21:45
Jimbo, I'm also a great AGM fan. I've had two 120AH Fullrivers for over a year and just bought a 60AH a couple of days ago. I plan to use the 60AH to run the elec motor on the tinnie. I was usisng one of the 120AHs for this,but at about 35KG they are just too heavy to be lugging in and out of the boat. Although mine are relatively new, I give them a caning.

I also have a conventional vented deep cycle in the engine bay. When it dies, I'll replace it with an AGM and run four of them. I think that is enough.
AnswerID: 194978

Follow Up By: ADG - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:40

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:40
Hi Norm. A bit of a side issue, but what size electric motor do you have on your boat and what sort of run time do you get with the 120A/H battery? I am trying to decide what size battery or batteries I need.

Anthony
FollowupID: 453133

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:59

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 11:59
Anthony, I have mostly used the 120AH in a Rosco Basscatcher canoe. The motor is a Minn Kota 40 lb Riptide. I've been out for 4 or 5 hours a few times with it. But that is probably only 2 to 3 hours of running. Plenty of power left when I get back. On Hinze dam we do a fair bit on full power as it is a big dam and the elec is the only motor allowed.

The 40 lb motor _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx a max of 42 amps (running full speed). I suspect (but haven't measured) that average current is more like 25 amps under a normal variety of uses on a fishing trip.

I doubt that you would need more than one battery unless you were going to troll for long periods. I don't do a lot of trolling; I find it a bit boreing. The bigger elec motors are 24V, so you would need two batteries in series for them, but only if you have a very large boat.

I was happy to drop down to the 60 AH for the tinnie. Saves a heap of weight and will give me at least 90 mins of running without pulling too much power from the battery. I use the outboard to get to the fishing area, then the elec for silent running around the snags, short position changes, retreiving lures etc.

The AGM is ideal for the boat, particularly for roof topping as you have to move it a lot. I tip the battery on it's side when in the canoe as I can get a better storage position this way. The set up in the boat will also have the battery on it's side.
FollowupID: 453139

Follow Up By: ADG - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:02

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:02
Thanks for the info.
I picked up a 54lb Motor Guide at a good price and plan to use this as the sole source of propulsion on a 12ft tinnie, as I don’t really wish to carry around an outboard and petrol (a small diesel outboard would be great).

I currently have a cranking and marine battery under the bonnet with the marine battery a backup start battery and to power all vehicle electrics. I was thinking then AGM battery in tray to power fridge and lights with an Anderson plug connect system to easily disconnect and take in the boat. The fridge would be powered from the marine battery under the bonnet when the AGM is gone.

Reason for thinking two AGM’s was to:
1. For short boat trips the other AGM can stay in vehicle and power fridge to save the marine battery
2. On longer boat trips two AGM provide some security. If one goes flat, you know its time to head for home on the other.

Perhaps a 120A/H and 60A/H would be the go as I could use whichever battery suited at the time.
FollowupID: 453251

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:31

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:31
With elec motor as the sole source of power, I'd reckon you will want at least the 120 AH. You will do more full throttle running to cover distance as quickly as possible. Your plan with a 120AH and a 60 AH is probably a good one.

I guess you realise you won't get much faster than about 4 knots pushing your tinnie around with elec motor, so you will want to chose fishing spots where you can get pretty close to the desired area before launching. Also, if pusing against tinde and wind, you will go slower and use a lot more power.

Worst case, if you decide to add a small outboard later, you will have a good trolling motor and power source for it.
FollowupID: 453275

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 23:17

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 23:17
Thanks for the feedback Jimbo.

I get 4-6 years out of wet cell cranking batteries used as both starting and auxillary batteries. But I don't discharge them below 12.2 volts.

Has anyone out there used an AGM for more than say 5 years???
AnswerID: 194987

Reply By: Muzzgit - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:31

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 00:31
That's good to hear Jimbo. I am contemplating which way to go. I know many on here recommend the Exide extreme, and I am tempted to go that way, but AGM's are in the back of my mind.

I have two sealed calcium/calcium batteries under the bonnet of the patrol. I think the one on the cranking side is dying :( it is less than two years old.

It is the newer of the two, and has never been used to do anything other than start the car, but I find the redarc takes longer to click in now, and I quite often hear it click out while waiting at trafic lights.

I used a multi meter this morning and found the aux on 12.74v while the cranker was on 12.40v ?

Price is the big issue here. I can get an Exide extreme for around $120.00 when Kmart have a sale on.

If AGM's come down in price a bit, I might be tempted.

Muzz
AnswerID: 194992

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:45

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:45
Muzz,
Did a trip last year, where the only two Calcium-calcium batteries in the group died. Not sure whether it was the heat, or the corrugations, or the natural history of a Calcium battery? Have heard that they have issues with getting charged properly.
FollowupID: 453124

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:44

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:44
"I used a multi meter this morning and found the aux on 12.74v while the cranker was on 12.40v ? "

The cranker is also powering all the continuous loads in the vehicle - battery backup power etc. When you open the door the Interior Light _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx an amp from it.

For battery voltage to give an indication of capacity you have to make sure there has been no charge or dicharge for many hours.
FollowupID: 453173

Follow Up By: Muzzgit - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:11

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:11
Yes I agree Mike, but I have a turbo timer, so the motor was still running when I got home on sunday evening, and I only opened the door to pull the bonnet latch Sunday lunchtime so I can't think of much that would draw from it besides the alarm system and ECU, which would be minimal.

I convinced a good mate of mine to go with the calcium/calcium batteries and one of his has crapped itself already (12 months old), so if this one is going, as I suspect it is, then I'm off 'em.
FollowupID: 453253

Follow Up By: Muzzgit - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:33

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:33
Sorry, that should say got home Saturday evening and checked them at lunchtime Sunday.

FollowupID: 453259

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 23:34

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 23:34
I used 2 x 80a/h Delcor calcium DC batteries for almost 5 years as my Aux batteries, I replaced them earlier this year, well replaced one, it was given away and the other one has replaced my 4 year old '700cca overlander' cranking battery before I travelled north for the winter.

I put in two new AGM's so now I have all Deep Cycle batteries charged by the vehicle alternator, no cranking batteries, that will test the 'idea' that DC batteries won't last as starter batteries, it's now 5 years old and still going strong, or the 'idea' you should only use identical batteries in a charging circuit, as you can get no bigger difference in batteries than a Calcium DC and an AGM.

Yes Jimbo, AGM really is the way to go, giving unreal performance compared to Calcium DC batteries, from my own experience.

I wake to a battery system that is showing 12.4v at 6am (still almost dark) after powering the 'power hungry' fridge, coffee maker and lights etc during the previous night and then by 9am is again showing 12.7v due to the solar panel recharging the system again.

Modern new technology - it is the way of the future :-)
FollowupID: 455514

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 00:03

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 00:03
Yeah I was running 2 calcium-calcium 105amp/hr/550cca's under the bonnet, one as aux and one as crank. After about two years the cranker was starting to struggle in the winter months, especially with the added turns of the motor required to start with B100 on those colder mornings.

I ended up putting a 700CCA overlander as the cranker and hooked the two 105's up permantly (one in the back of the car in the storage box in a plastic battery box and the other remained under the bonnet. They are working awsome in that configuration. Running the fridge at 2c for 30hrs with about 8 hours of 1amp fluro on drops the voltage by about .2v, much, much better than before.

I'm also now running a 3 stage 14.7v charger permantly in the back of the surf, I have a 240v socket on the front grill that I plug her into when it's sitting at home, keeps the two deepcycles fully charged and floated all the time. Those batteries were only about $120 each and are now well over 2 years old, have both been pretty hammered on several occasion (run very very flat before I put them together) and they still seem to be hanging on with heaps of gunta.

I reckon the calciums may not be as good at cranking as they are at deep cycling, so I think in future I'll stick to the older wet cell excide/overlander types for starting but I reckon I'll buy another couple of cacliums when these ones pack it in. If they last another 2-3 years (might be stretching it there, but you never know) then they can go when I upgrade the surf when I finish my career change/uni and I'll get some newies for whatever I upgrade to.
FollowupID: 455521

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 08:09

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 08:09
Calcium-Calcium batteries will not charge fully (and therefore not last long ) unless your generator output is designed for these batteries - 14.8 volts.

Do not confuse these with the more common Calcium batteries which only have Calcium in one plate.
FollowupID: 455550

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 09:46

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 09:46
Yes and no, calcium-calcium batteries will "eventually" charge off a lower voltage, however for normal around town usage they will not. Hence the 14.7V 3 stage charger mounted in the car to keep them topped up.

Yeah I hear you with the two different calcium batteries. My bad.
FollowupID: 455561

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 00:17

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 00:17
"calcium-calcium batteries will "eventually" charge off a lower voltage"

- yep, that's why long-distance vehicles with 14.4 volt Alternators get fitted with Calcium-Calcium batteries - they have less tendency to overcharge on long trips with few starts.
FollowupID: 455796

Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:38

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 08:38
Wet cells are the typewriters of yesterday . GONE.
AnswerID: 195020

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:21

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:21
Sounds like a crisis :-)))
Since 99% of vehicles have them!
FollowupID: 453287

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:21

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:21
Good to hear , would expect nothing less..
AnswerID: 195062

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:37

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:37
Good to hear Jimbo that you've had just over 2 years of trouble free use but as an AGM is 60 to 100% dearer than an equivelant capacity wet cell, I suppose seeing that a standard battery lasts around 4 years the true result wont be known until it lasts for over 7 or 8 years to see if it was good value for money.
Cheers Craig.......
Testing twin 115 AH deep cycles (3.5 years & still going:-)
AnswerID: 195144

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:53

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:53
Craig,

The advantage of the AGM is not just its longevity. It has a capacity to accept an huge volume of charge. My testing suggests it will accept an amp per minute from the alternator.

I've been away prior to getting the solar panel and run the Waeco 80 by simply idling the motor of the car a few times each day. That was in hot weather.

ATB,

FollowupID: 453262

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:20

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:20
Jim,
I'm with Craig on this one. The AGMs, especially the cheaper Chinese versions haven't been out there long enough to say anything meaningful about Longevity.

The warranty says a lot about longevity.
The Lifeline and Remco only come with a 12 month warranty.
The Wet Cell Yuasa Overlander and Exide Extreme come with a 24month replacement warranty.
If the AGM manufacturers came out with a 5 year warranty, I'd take notice.
FollowupID: 453286

Follow Up By: Muzzgit - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:15

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 23:15
what Phil said...
FollowupID: 453301

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 23:58

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 23:58
If you buy "elcrappo" batteries then you get the same performance.... :-)
Both Lifeline and Remco are not top of the tree specifications, but they're not the bottom either.

If you spend $240 on a 1OO+ a/h AGM you get a battery that has (in writing) a design life well of in excess of eight years.
Look at some of the home solar power plants in the north west or Telstra outback battery banks, they are many years old.

I've installed what I believe is the best battery available, yes I sell Fullrivers but have put in a dearer and more highly specified battery, (that I don't sell) because I require total reliability and performance beyond all else, no good dieing as the richest corpse in the cemetary, spend it before the kids get their hands on it L0L

If my battery lasts only 10 years that equates to just $24 per year, which is dirt cheap, when compared with a 2yr warranty on an Extreme at $140 and hoping it lasts 5 years, is $28 per year.
FollowupID: 455520

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:56

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:56
The AGM batts may have a design life of 8+ years but in reality that's not what many fitting them to 4x4's are getting. In the ideal world of a Telstra battery bank recieving regular charge from a solar panel 10+ years would be expected of a quality setup but with irregular charging & the heat & vibration under the bonat of a 4by, many report on this site of AGM's failing under 3 & have seen first hand several myself. Unfortunately not many AGM's have been installed in 4x4's over extended periods (8+ years) so for me the jury is still out.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 455637

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 19:03

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 19:03
Mainey,
I take it you only have a 12 month warranty on these batteries?? Like Craig, I've seen a few AGMs and Gel Batteries die at an early age when put under the bonnet of a 4wd.
FollowupID: 455657