Holden Rodeo TF 2.8 Turbo Diesel dies up hills

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 11:25
ThreadID: 38088 Views:28332 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Hi Guys, wondering if anyone could provide some assistance. I have a 2000 Model Holden Rodeo 2.8L Turbo Diesel, which dies going up hills, for instance, driving at 110km/h I hit a certain hill, the vehicle speed then drops to 85-90km/h. In comparison to my older 1991 Mitsubishi Triton 2.6L Petrol, it use to keep steady pace at 110km/h.

Am I expecting to much of the turbo diesel or is it possible I have a performance issue?

Can anyone assist..

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 11:46

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 11:46
A diesel should hold on the hills better than a petrol. Diesels have more touque.
I would have thought that the Rodeo should have done better than the petrol Triton.
I have a diesel Triton and a Rodeo will out pull it although use considerably more fuel in doing so.
Neil
AnswerID: 196768

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 15:38

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 15:38
Not in my experience. My V6 Jackaroo is constantly running up the rear of mate's troopy. The troopy has more torque than the Jackaroo but will never outrun it anywhere.

The downside is the Jackaroo (auto) also easily outruns the troopy down steep hills...:)
FollowupID: 455213

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 12:15

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 12:15
How long since the fuel filter was changed?
AnswerID: 196769

Follow Up By: BushyC - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 11:22

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 11:22
Peter 2, I changed the fuel filter about 3 months ago, I was hoping it would make a difference and spewing it didn't.

FollowupID: 455329

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 12:43

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 12:43
Mate, get used to it. I have the same issue with my rodeo 2.8 TD. I dont know why, just doesnt seem to have enough torque, especially revving so high.

I have had 2 (and still have one), and have found this is 'normal', although the extent of the hill may play a part. I have found that 5th gear at 100km/h on hills doesnt have the pull that it needs. 4th gear is great, but at 100km/h will scream its box off!! I usually cruise at the 90-100 mark, and know others who do the same. Seems to be the most 'comfortable' speed for the rodeo 2.8 td, because of the gearing.

so in answer to you question, from my experiences with rodeo 2.8 td, yes, you are expecting too much. Remember, its diesel, so it is going to be a bit slower and doesnt have the same oomph as a petrol. Take your time, and smell the roses.

AnswerID: 196773

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 18:03

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 18:03
G'Day All,
First hand experience from a number of friends suggests the air intake is too short and not very efficient, adding a snorkel seems to improve the problem, may be worth a try
Rolande
AnswerID: 196818

Follow Up By: BushyC - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 11:22

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 11:22
Rolande, I'm going to try play around with the intake, and then try the same hill again, see if it makes any difference.
FollowupID: 455330

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 14:11

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 14:11
BushyC

Post results and let us know how you go

Rolande
FollowupID: 455359

Follow Up By: BushyC - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 10:01

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 10:01
Rolande, I checked out the intake pipe that leads to the air filter, you are right, super constrictive. I also noticed a sensor located at the opening of the intake pipe, once I figure out how to remove it and relocate it on a larger diameter piping to replace the old intake pipe, I will post the results. From there it looks like a wise investment for myself to purchase a intercooler.

FollowupID: 455564

Reply By: Dion - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 08:17

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 08:17
My 2000 2.8 when I had it responded well to an over engine installed intercooler. There was no increase of speed, but it was able to hold onto hills better than it previously did prior to the fitting of intercooler.

Dion.
AnswerID: 196902

Follow Up By: BushyC - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 10:01

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 10:01
Dion, when you installed the intercooler did you make any fuel adjustments?

FollowupID: 455565

Reply By: BushyC - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:07

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:07
Hi Guys, thanks heaps for the info, kind of feel better that I haven't bought a dud.

Rolande, I'm going to try play around with the intake, and then try the same hill again, see if it makes any difference.

Dion, when you installed the intercooler did you make any fuel adjustments?

AnswerID: 196921

Reply By: BushyC - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:09

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:09
Peter 2, I changed the fuel filter about 3 months ago, I was hoping it would make a difference and spewing it didn't.

AnswerID: 196922

Reply By: guzzi - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:30

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:30
Bushy,
another bloke want more power from his 2.8 have a read here;
Site Link
goodluck
AnswerID: 196984