Spare wheel 79 series

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:43
ThreadID: 38469 Views:12551 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
We are fitting out our 79 series Landcruiser with canopy but left with the dilemma of what to do with the spare wheel. The wheel sizes on the Landcruiser are 265/70R16LT. However, the spare does not fit under the tray (unless we lift the tray). We are considering using the standard narrower Landcruiser wheel (7.50R16/8PRLT) as the spare. However this will mean that there will be a difference in the rolling diameter of 15mms. Any comments?

Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:27

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:27
emortal

I just wrote heaps on this but it went to cyber space 15mm is nothing. A new tyre with 10mm tread and a worn tyre with 3mm tread = 14mm difference in diam so no problem. I'll probabaly get flack for that though.

Also see pics below for ours. We are ahving a dustproof pod built to fit inside canopy and tyre will be mounted the same on the rear. Suggest you allow for bigger tyres in teh future ie 85 profile and allow for up say 840mm diam.

I'll add some photos to my rig profile - in the meantime how do you atatch photo to this reply I can't find it, can someone please point me in the right direction.

Hope this helps Barry
AnswerID: 198946

Follow Up By: emortal - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:31

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:31
Barry,
Thanks for posting the pics. Pity all your writing disappeared into cyber space. We're not changing tyres right now but what are the benefits of the 85 profile?
FollowupID: 457908

Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:08

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:08
Hi The 85 profile generally speaking has a bigger outside diameter if you go up the tyre range from 70 profile

ie go up to 285/85 X 16 and tyre diam can go from say 777mm to 890 mm (one example) & this = more speed with less revs which may be of use to some of us with Tojo diesel revving a bit high at say 100k etc

This link shows comparison - Americasn site but gives you an idea of how dimensions and size can change

www.1010tires.com/TireSizeCalculator.asp

Barry

FollowupID: 458010

Follow Up By: emortal - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 13:38

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 13:38
Barry,
Thanks for the link - great site!
FollowupID: 458237

Reply By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 06:39

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 06:39
We carry a narrow Landcruiser wheel as a spare under the tray of our 79 RV. Have not had to use it yet. The alloy spare won't fit under, due to miserly tray fitment by the Toyo dealer. Should have kicked up a stink, but we needed that ute so bad, replacing a write-off. Besides it only just fits under our garage as it is. We throw the full size in the back when going away, or bolt it to the van.

Cheers, Rod.
AnswerID: 198952

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:55

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:55
I have a skinny spare under the tray and a fullsize spare on the canopy. My tyres are 265/75R16, so are the same diameter as 750R16. My 750R16 slips in deflated, and when you inflate it, it holds in there as tight as a drum. I also have a bracket securing it as well.

You may want to do a tyre swap with a tyredealer - should be able to get reasonable money for a new set of 265/70. Theres a 30mm diameter difference between a 265/70 and a 750R16. I'd be changing to 265/75, and at the same time, you'll be getting a stronger tyre with a higher load index.

AnswerID: 198971

Follow Up By: emortal - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:09

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:09
Thanks Phil,
A bit embarassed here - turns out the wheels on our 79 Landcruiser are in fact 265/75. (We made the mistake of quoting the Toyota specs rather than checking out our own wheels). In an emergency do you reckon it's OK to run on the skinny spare?
FollowupID: 457905

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 19:21

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 19:21
emortal,
Theres no mechanical problem - they are the same diameter - so your "space saver" 750R16 will be a suitable spare.

Legally, there are arguments about having different profile tyres on the same axle - but that seems to have gone out the window since half the flash cars these days use spacesaver spares.

In real life, I find it very rare to actually use the spare when 4wding. We prefer to plug punctures on the vehicle, then get them repaired in civilisation.

Our fellow 80 and 100series owners will also buy a split rim so their spare doesn't work as a ground anchor in sand.

FollowupID: 457979

Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:02

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:02
E,
Dallas at Metal Form Industries, Waragul, Vic, makes canopies and also have a spare wheel carrier for the back. Can be made to swing up I understand.

AnswerID: 199038

Follow Up By: emortal - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 07:53

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 07:53
Thanks Chris,
Do you know if Dallas can fix the spare wheel carrier to the Troopys' chassis or does it come of the canopy?
FollowupID: 457904

Follow Up By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 07:22

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 07:22
Due to the size of the wheel the frame of the wheel carrier needs to be fixed to
the frame of the canopy, the chassie is too low I think, the wheel is carried vertically. Like the ones you can see on the back of Telstra utes/canopies.
FollowupID: 458027

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:34

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:34
emortal,
If you are building a solid canopy. I reckon its nice to have a closed back wall (no dust, more rigidity) and then you can simply bolt the spare to the back of the canopy. The sidewall of the tyre makes 360degree contact, so the tyre goes nowhere - simpler and better than a swingaway. i use a U-bolt and wheel nuts to retain mine - then you are also carrying spares if needed.

AnswerID: 199193