Telstra Next G vs CDMA

Submitted: Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:54
ThreadID: 38553 Views:5887 Replies:13 FollowUps:29
Howdy all, Telstra want me to change over to Next G from my existing CDMA.

What's the word on the street about it? Coverage, handsets, car kits, existing aerials etc?

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:58

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:58
Are they offering you a free handset? Will you have to sign up to a plan? Will you have to signup to a particular (minimum cost) plan in order to get a handset?
AnswerID: 199416

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:02

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:02
As for coverage...? Don't know, 'cause the Telstra mobile coverage server has been down for about a week now!
FollowupID: 458259

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:14

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:14
Mike, that is hardly right, I have seen it on the two occasions I looked.
FollowupID: 458277

Follow Up By: Tim@Stratford - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:02

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:02
Mike & all,

Just checked the site - It worked for me when checking State by State.

Site Link

Tim - Stratford
FollowupID: 458299

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 05:43

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 05:43
5.40am Tues.

Must be an awful lot of people up early today wanting to check their mobile coverage! "Server busy" says Telstra.

I wonder if you guys who are getting through have Bigpond acounts?

FollowupID: 458378

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:47

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:47
I was trying to gete through the other day when I was posting to EO in another browser Mike and on the phone at the same time. It seemed like there was a problem with access one way, not the other. I was trying to find out about possible access for data as I am beyond the ADSL limit from an exchange.

Stop trying to give excuses as to where you are wrong for a change. As I said above I got through and had maps twice, knowing I have seen the whole western side of Victoria as well as the state in onother one, I am not going to worry about getting there again for you.
FollowupID: 458389

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:34

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:34
Get out the wrong side of the bed John?

If you read other posts in this thread you'll note I'm not the only one who has had issues accessing the server.

FollowupID: 458401

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:37

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:37
Nah Mike, you are the one making crapo claims about the server being offline for a week. Think you need the reality check about trying to be correct. By the way, I don't own Telstra shares.
FollowupID: 458530

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:23

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:23
Had a look at their coverage maps about a week ago. Very busy site. Seems from their maps there are few if any extra towers but the range from each tower is better. I haven't had any offers yet :-(
AnswerID: 199418

Follow Up By: Kev M - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:41

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:41
I haven't been contacted either both SWMBO and I have CDMA phones that are in the 1st year of a new contract.
Maybe thats the reason, some of us are out of the original contract time therefore Telstra as usual would try and push their new produce.
Kev
FollowupID: 458268

Reply By: Peter 2 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:56

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:56
The word is that they will offer free phones for existing cdma customers, instead of losing market share like they did when the analogue phones were turned off.
The longer all existing cdma customers sit on the fence the better off we'll be
AnswerID: 199424

Follow Up By: Doodle - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:13

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:13
Hi Peter,
Next G Coverage????
I have been trying to check Next G coverage from the Telstra site several times a day for several days and during the evening - site busy. I think that may be a load of cod's wallop. How can the site be busy 24 hours a day? I'm starting to think the original coverage they showed may have been grossly exaggerated and Telstra have shut down the site before too many people cottoned on. I may be cynical but I have learnt not to trust one word of any of their promotional promises.

Cheers.....Doodle
FollowupID: 458276

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:00

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:00
Mate I worked for the big T for nearly 30 years, don't have to tell me a thing.
FollowupID: 458296

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:37

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:37
I've also been trying their coverage site for several days without success.
Something fishy going on here methinks.
T-Rib
FollowupID: 458336

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:32

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:32
I believe the *have* to offer the same terms and contract conversions on the new network.
FollowupID: 458503

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:15

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:15
Hi all . Most interesng info for you all

Had normal telstra and have been put on the g network , I also had a 3g phone . that now boasts telsta support

In the past , on my intersate runs , I use to get the best coverage by telstar and the 3 g network was always poor , Now othe last 3 trips , the telsta g network has been bleep poor , and the 3 g network covorage awsum ,

did a run 4 days ago with another fellow in the car with a straight telsta phone , so we had testra . telsra g and my 3g phone , guess which phone had the most coverage lol the 3 g

its all gone to the dogs lol thank god for sat phones
AnswerID: 199433

Follow Up By: hl - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:14

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:14
The Telstra 3G and NEXT G are NOT the same network or coverage....
So, unless you had a NEXTG phone, you cannot compare.
FollowupID: 458302

Reply By: Geoff - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:17

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:17
The answer with coverage is, where ever there is a CDMA Switch or Tower a Next G or 3G 850 Switch was installed running them simultaneously through the same antennas. So basically the coverage will be the same as much as one radio gives the same coverage as another radio on the same frequency.
AnswerID: 199434

Reply By: lux06 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:19

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:19
From talking to some high up Telstra guys, they've mentioned that the new 3g network will have a range of 200+km from 1 base tower, where the current CDMA is about 50km. This will take about 3 phases of rollouts and may take some time for it to be beneficial to the country areas. But 2008 the 3g network in the country will be amazing if all goes to plan. Also the hype is coincidental for the share offer but the network will be very cool in 12 months.

AnswerID: 199435

Follow Up By: Geoff - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:29

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:29
That does sound amazing 200+km from 1 base tower, this is a not just a bit exaggerated but way out there. It will give you the same coverage as CDMA as the Next G Network is a new CDMA known as WCDMA (just google it). But what it will give you later on after the future rollouts is great bandwidth and the features for the bush and everyone are going to be amazing.
FollowupID: 458285

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:46

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:46
The cell towers would have to be bloody high to get 200km at SHF frequencies. It's the same problem with any of the VHF+ frequencies; they are "line of sight" only and at 200km the curvature of the earth would be an issue.

FollowupID: 458290

Follow Up By: lux06 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:00

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:00
Hi Mike,

I just did some checking and found that the earch curves at 12cm per kiliometer and i did mean 100km radius (200km range) so if you get a 12 meter tower it will be okay to cover the distance. Ericsson are doing the upgrades on the towers and in phases III the epectation is this range.

FollowupID: 458317

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:44

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:44
Very interesting. I hadn't done the maths so was just guessing but I thought it would need to be much higher. Thanks for the info. Maybe we will see 200km then? Would be terrific - would give me e-mail access across most of the High Country I expect :)

FollowupID: 458341

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 11:26

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 11:26
I used to design radio communications links 20 or so years ago. 50 km was about all you could get due to earth bulge unless you have a very high site.

The calculations are fairly complex and take into account what is known as the Fresnel zone. This is where an indirect signal bounces off the ground and interferes with direct signal, causing cancellation. For Radio signals, this has an effect of magnifying the actual curvature causing the shorter distances. (Bit like the Mirage effect on hot roads)

While my experience was for point to point microwave links, the same principles apply for Mobile Communications.

The 200 km will be the theoretical maximum value based on other limiting factors, such as "path loss" (How much signal is left after it has travelled the distance), "fade margin" (allowance for interference and environmental factor affecting propagation eg. rain), "timing Code response" (Base station sends the data, the mobile can only respond within a given period of time) etc.

Having experience with Telstra, the 200 km will be some figure that marketing latches onto so everybody will think that they are clever.

Based on what I recall there will be only half a dozen or so sites nationally where reliable mobile radio comms over 50 km will be possible.

Mal
FollowupID: 458422

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 13:02

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 13:02
Mal
Won't the power output of the handset also limit the effective range of the tower?
Meaning you may be able to receive a signal from the tower because it is higher and outputting more watts but you may not be able to get your signal back to the tower because your lower and less powerful?

FollowupID: 458432

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 14:29

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 14:29
John,
In point to point work, we used reciprocracy to design the system, ie, same antenna (same gain), same transmit power, same receiver (same sensitivity) etc at both ends.

In a mobile environment, as you correctly pointed out, things are not equal.

However, in a well designed RF system the aim was always to provide a reciprocal experience.

ie. The total link budget (signal loss) from the output of the Base Transmitter to the input of the Mobile Receiver is the same or close to the total link budget in the reverse direction.

The Transmission loss (propagation in air) component is fixed, however (within limits), you can vary or take into account,
a) receiver sensitivity,
b) antenna gain and or use different antennas for transmit and receive (different gains),
c) antenna downtilt (basestation - main lobes of coverage pointed in particular directions),
d) transmitter power (handset and basestation).

What you have to be careful of confusing though, is that a base station will transmit more power that a mobile, for the simple reason that the base station is carrying multiple physical or logical channels (depending on technology), to not just one handset but to many handsets with active calls. So you have a cummulative effect in power transmitted.

I know some of the Telstra people who design the mobile networks and they are technically very astute and a pretty good bunch of guys as well.

I know that in past systems their designs are reciprocal, but with RF you do get some variation in propagation paths based on things like near end effects (local reflections) etc, that often make it seem like you have coverage on your mobile, but can't make a call.

Hope this helps,

Mal

FollowupID: 458438

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 15:10

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 15:10
Thanks Mal your explanation is well done.

The point I was trying to make is that you may have a tower able to transmit 100 km's but its as good as useless because our Handsets (Radios) won't do the same.

Hence the need to continue to fill the gaps with more towers to be able to maintain the "The total link budget" both ways.

FollowupID: 458448

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:47

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:47
Apparently line of sight isn't as much an issue as been stated above as it is only the deepest valleys here that need an external antenna. That had surprised me, but if I go ahead I would put on the external to ensure the speed if/when I go that way for broadband.
FollowupID: 458533

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:18

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:18
Here are the coverage maps for NSW I lifted from Telstra tonight:

CDMA

Next G

AnswerID: 199452

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:42
it aint there yet.. IM going CDMA again.. I know it works.
AnswerID: 199458

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 23:06

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 23:06
Coverage is already in this area Bruce for streaming video if you wanted it. Be better than CDMA for signal and also useability.
FollowupID: 458364

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 12:23

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 12:23
I just want a phone thats a phone! I got a camera, a MP3 player, a DvD player in the car!

;)~
FollowupID: 458427

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:52

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:52
Been talking with Teltra some more this evening......

I'm currently on a Telstra $100 per month business plan and my wife is with Optus on a $70 plan. If I swap to Next G, and she does too, we both get new Samung A701's with bluetooth headsets. I need to sign up for a plan of course, but that's the same across the board anyway.

Here's the good bit. If I go down to a $60 plan, and she migrates across and does the $40, we get UNLIMITED FREE calls to each other and my normal mobile to mobile rate only increases by 1c per 30 seconds. The rate to land lines increases by 6 c.

Sounds pretty good to me. They assure me that wherever I get CDMA coverage, I should be able to get Next G too.

I have some numbers to call tomorrow about my existing RFI1795 CDMA aerial compatibility and the best hands free cradle kits too.

I'm going to investigate laptop compatibility for remote area large resolution picture e-mailing as well.

I'll keep you posted.
AnswerID: 199492

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 00:00

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 00:00
NextG uses exactly the same frequencies as CDMA so ANY antenna that works for CDMA will work as well for NextG.

The RFI CD1795 gives 6dB gain from 825-960 MHz. It is a broomstick-style antenna about a metre high. It will work on CDMA, GSM and NextG.

It will NOT give 3G coverage, but will allow 3G phone fallback to GSM.
FollowupID: 458371

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 16:10

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 16:10
'assure' & 'should' shouldn't be in the same sentence!

They either assure you that it will get the same coverage, or say that you should, which in effect means, that you may not.
FollowupID: 458464

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 05:13

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 05:13
I have a Motorola on a next g plan thingy ,,,
no bloody good at the moment ,,
Work less than the Optus mobile my Mrs has ,,

Supposed to be good and they advertise them to work in the Outback,,
They don't,, I can assure you

Make up your own mind !,,
It is the way they are going ,, but at the moment the digital network is far superior

Cheers Bucky
AnswerID: 199511

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:33

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:33
"It is the way they are going ,, but at the moment the digital network is far superior"
and CDMA is 10 times better than Digital, except in the big smoke.
FollowupID: 458386

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:09

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:09
Hi boys!
Here in Kangaroo Island the situation is very bad.... I called Telstra and they said "no worries mate .... Next G is working fine all over the island...“ but I'm Italian and I'm very suspicious .... I called a friend of mine who got it few days ago and said: are you happy with your new telephone?? … The reply was NOOOO!!! It is worse then a bloody GSM …!!!! So … I decided to buy a second hand CDMA phone from e-bay and …. In 15 months time think about next G network again!
Cheers!
AnswerID: 199526

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:28
Went to the Telstra shop today..... 'bout as handy as half a scissor.

My conclusion now is nobody at Telstra knows their arse from their elbow re: Next G. It seems to be a staggeringly ill executed launch and frankly I find it imcomprehensible that something as big as this could be rolled out in such a bumbling, half @rsed and inept manner. Woeful.

After waiting for what seemed like hours on hold this arvo they simply hung up on me without anyone even answering the phone in person. At least give me the engaged signal or something.

Couldn't even view a mockup handset at the shop, a queue 8 people deep, no idea if I can get a hands free kit to suit, no coverage maps (even electronically), no printed material on offer apart from glossy froth and bubble. In essence, nothing of any consequence on offer whatsoever.

Telstra could of had a couple of customers sign up. Joke.
AnswerID: 199599

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:43

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:43
>no coverage maps (even electronically)

Yes.... I've had the same problem for a week or so...?
FollowupID: 458508

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:05

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:05
The postcode only bit gets the alarm bells ringing too. All that glitters is not gold it would appear.

Pretty sus isn't it.........hhhhhhmmmmmmmmm:-(

Might be time for Telstra to do a bit of Sol searching???
FollowupID: 458520

Reply By: phil - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 16:47

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 16:47
I had a long talk with a Telstra Customer Service rep (and she actually provided service!) It started with an account problem with my mobile but progressed to other subjects.
Among other things I brought up the Next G network.
It will not be fully rolled out for about 2 years. When it is, and coverage is equal or better than CDMA, then CDMA will be turned off.
She advised me to stick with my CDMA phone if all I wanted was a telephone.

Seems sound advice methinks.

Phil I
AnswerID: 199719