Comparing Engines 4.2Nissan - 6.5Chev

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:07
ThreadID: 38809 Views:5790 Replies:6 FollowUps:24
A recent thread got me thinking (as dangerous as that is) and I have been doing some maths (simple maths of course!!).

A standard 6.5 chev puts out 280ft-lb of torque at 2000rpm according to linquip's website. Also a standard 4.2 Nissan motor (non turbo) puts out 195ft-lb at 2000rpm. Now the maths start. I have graphs of an intercooled turbo charged 4.2 pumping out 40% more torque than a standard td42T (which is 330Nm standard) so as far as I can tell this worked, intercooled td42T pumps out an impressive 462Nm or 341ft-lb at an equally impressive 1500rpm. (40% more than 330 = 462)

Can anyone dispel my maths? have I forgotten something?

Maybe you want to know hp figures for the two motors as well? How does 155HP sound for both engines. Have not confirmed the 6.5 chev's HP figure but from what I can gather (off the net) this is true and correct. I know the Nissan's output to be true.

I understand if someone put a bit of effort and a few dollars into the 6.5 it would return much better figures than those that I am quoting, but my point is, with a few spare weeks and a healthy bank balance you can get a "Chev type drive" from a 4.2 Nissan without spending 20+ grand on the Chev conversion. More like 5 grand on upgrading a td42T.

Have I completely lost the plot and done my sums all wrong or what?

Cheers to all, Trevor.

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:24

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 16:24
Trevor,

To me it sounds a bit like the discussion we've had on here before comparing the 3.Litre Patrol motor to the 4.2TD. On paper the 2 donks are about equal; if anything the 3L is supposed to have a slight edge in both power (114kw v 116kw) and torque (330nm v 354nm).

However, in the "real world", most blokes who have either owned or driven both, say the 4.2TD is much more "tractable" (I guess that would be the right word) than the 3.L. The feeling is that the 4.2TD comes onto power that much lower down in the rev range than the 3L and holds that impressive torque all the way up to 3000rpm and beyond.

I would dearly love to get behind the wheel of a 6.5 Chev-powered Patrol (even for just a short drive) and I'm guessing there would be that feeling of "OH CHIT, what have we go here!!!!!!!!".........

As I've said to others before.....sometimes there simply is no substitute for cubes!!!

AnswerID: 200880

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:35

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:35
Yeah, I am guessing that a 6.5 will eat up the 4.2 from idle to 1500rpm but from the figures I have from a dyno up here is that the 4.2 eats the 6.5 from 1500 - 3600rpm. Considering most driving is in the 1500 - 3600 rpm bracket, I am wondering whether the extra oomph below the 1500rpm mark is worth the extra dollars to put the 6.5 in a Patrol????

I have always had an inkling that my Patrol would end up with the chev in it, but after seeing these dyno figures and driving mine the way it is, I am not so sure now.

Cheers as always. Trevor.
FollowupID: 460098

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 21:59

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 21:59
Hey Trevor,

Maybe I will be able to let you know the answer to the question/s you have raised in a few days' time.........we will see what transpires?????.......hahaha
FollowupID: 466386

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 23:14

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 23:14
Roachie? Roachie!!

Does this men what I think it means?

You are going to put the ultimate ACESSORY on your Patrol?

You ARE going to put a 6.5 Chev in it??

This can't be!

This will be interesting.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 466408

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 11:44

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 11:44
wait n see
FollowupID: 466478

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:15

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:15
Why not, roachies must be worn out now with round 150,000klms on it... old junker now..
FollowupID: 466482

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:04

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:04
Roachie,

See if they will do a deal for two LOL!!!!!

This hunk a junk of mine is running on the warm side again, but it has been 38c round Moree (where I am now) and I am towing again. I want one with a blower though.........dreeeeaamm dream dream dream.
Going to Brunswick???? or is there someone local.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 466508

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:40

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:40
Trev,

Just bolt a chip or a mandrel exhaust to it,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ;)

That'll make it run cooler eh?

PS - See my thread on soundproofing.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 466512

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:50

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:50
Bilbo,

I don't remember saying that but if I did I retract it cause I don't think anything will keep a hard working 4.2Turbo Patrol cool.

Can you post here the thread no. for the soundproofing, as I am on a pda so it's a bit harder to go looking for threads.

I am serious about my thoughts that a chev will end up in my Patrol, but it will have to be a turboed or supercharged version to keep my "need for speed" at peace with my hunger for torque.

As always thanks for your knowledge.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 466580

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:10

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:10
Just having a friendly dig, Trev mate.

;)

Take care,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 466587

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:45

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:45

Why not wait until Toyota Brings out the LC with the V8 twin Turbo, and get rid of the Nissan. at least that way you will have "ultimate ACESSORY" LOL

FollowupID: 466594

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:40

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:40
Trev, its a funny thing torque figs, and hp ratings for jap engines always seem to be way off!!, when you compare them to a equivelant sized engine from other makes. you hear about it in the trucking industry all the time, eg a 450hp cummings diesel will absolutley walk over a 450hp UD or similiar japanese truck.
As far as pulling power goes.
Its always been the same , the high reving small jap engines have big torque figues, but what can you do at idle with a load on?, bugger all!

Agree with roachie on cubes thing, but the japs arn't up their with real hp &torque, as far as i'm concerned.

AnswerID: 200898

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:41

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:41
I also agree with the "no substitute for cubes" theory but the figures on hand make it hard to justify the huge extra dollars to put a 6.5 in a Patrol to get all that extra grunt at revs that I barely use. When for a great deal less, I can get more torque and HP in a rev range that I do use.

As I said maybe I am missing something and need to get behind the wheel of one of these 6.5 chevnissan's for a week or so to really get the appreciation of what it's all about. (Got one to lend me LOL!!)

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 460100

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 00:19

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 00:19
",,,,,,,,,to put a 6.5 in a Patrol to get all that extra grunt at revs that I barely use. When for a great deal less, I can get more torque and HP in a rev range that I do use."

But Trev, you use that rev range everyday, all the time. It's impossible to go from zero kmh to say, 90 kms without passing through "that rev range". That low down rev range is what gets you to the rev range that YOU USE.

What I find stressful about towing is in traffic,waiting for the engine to get up the rev band and get the rig moving at the same pace as every other bugger on the road,,,,,,,,,waiting, waiting, waiting.

With the Chev this doesn't happen. It just gets up there a whole lot faster.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 460135

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:27

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:27
How ya goin' Trevor
I did a bit of reseach on this awhile back and found similar numbers to what you have ,but I also found that chev have a 6.5 litre turboed motor which had a claimed 525nm torque (standard)
problem with em' was the turbo was mounted on the side and they suffered water flow problems when worked in a small engine bay.so even if got the plumbing right to remount the turbo, the block couldn't dissapate heat
I have a mate in canberra who bought a rangie with a 6.2 chev deisel and it sounded awsome, but that was it
countless hours trying to get it to cool down ,problem was that it was just to big for engine bay
It had the biggest radiator that could fit in there and vents cut in to gaurds and the bonnet to get the hot air out .
He has disconnected both the temp guages (thermostat & bottom hose) and doesn't care anymore!!!!!
He concluded that if its really hot, there will be steam!
that was 4 years ago ,and its still going (no steam yet)
AnswerID: 200914

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:33

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:33
Cashews aren't nuts.....
FollowupID: 460066

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:10

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:10
Nah. . . . . cashews are just silly
FollowupID: 460080

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:20

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:20
Bent.

Don't survive in captivity - at least not around my place..
FollowupID: 460085

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:04

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:04
"He concluded that if its really hot, there will be steam!" LMAO> That’s a good one.
FollowupID: 460092

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:31

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 19:31
here a some numbers I found for chev deisels
6.2 116kw@3500 385nm@2000
6.5 120 @3400 394 @1700
6.5t 140 @3400 515 @1700
these are the numbers quoted from a well known engine adaptor orientated business based in victoria
AnswerID: 200929

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:50

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:50
Hi Shane,

Thanks for that. I am going well thanks for asking, hope you are as well.
I wonder if the 120kw in the 6.5 is at the flywheel or the rear wheels cause the 118kw of the worked 4.2 I was talking about is at the rear wheels (even mine is running 125kw at the rear wheels, just less torque). The chev's torque figures are also less than what I worked out this worked 4.2 is achieving at 1500rpm (460 odd Nm).

Just gets me thinking about all the hype of a chev 6.5. No disrespect to owners who have made the change or not dismissing the awesome reputation of this stinker of a donk, merely observations.

Cheers bloke, cya soon.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 460103

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:16

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:16
Trevor,
If you could get yourself behind the wheel of a 6.5 powered Tojo or Patrol, you would not be asking this question. I have driven afew and they all make my 4.5 petrol Troopy feel like there's a 1 litre Suzi motor under the bonnet.

I was 110% cetain that I was going to convert until.... every single person (no exceptions) I spoke to who tow large loads with this motor have had overheating issues. In the end I spoke to I think 8 or 9 owners, all with varying degrees of heating issues. Some only had hassles towing up a range on 35 plus days, others had much more to worry about. After everything I've learned about these motors I've concluded they just don't have the cooling capacity built into them to keep cool in Aus, in a smaller engine bay, lugging 6 tonne plus in my case.

I now sit and wait for the new Troopy due in March. Wider, coils (new for me) and a 4.4 litre V8 Toyota diesel. Sounds good but we'll see.

Matt
AnswerID: 200954

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 22:21

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 22:21
Thanks Matt,

Overheating issues only add fuel to the debate for saving your dollars by doing up the 4.2. Merely observations and discussions no flack being thrown at one party or another. Would be a boring world if we all thought the same.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 460127

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 00:39

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 00:39
Trev,

,,,,,,,,,,,,Overheating issues only add fuel to the debate for saving your dollars by doing up the 4.2.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Ask Roachie what his TD42T does. Overheats, that's what. So if one was to go out & get the already overheated Nissan "worked on", then it's only gonna get more overheated. Roachie has spent a kings ramsom on his Patrol with no solution. The issue here is the water channles in the block castings are too small and no amount of chipping, turboing and add-ons is ever going to alter that. The cooling system was adequate for the engine when it does what is was designed to do - low road speed truck engine.

I'm not knocking the TD42 Trev, I'm just questioning your logic. The TD42 is a good, old fashioned diesel - the kind I like - but it's a former Japanese truck engine. Push rod valves and thus poor gas flow and limited valve porting configuration. Hence - poor "breathing" or as we former race mechanics like to say - Poor Volumetric Efficiency. Small water jacket and thus overheats a bit when pushed hard. It's a limited engine.

But I ran one for years and caned the daylights out of it and it never even looked like failing.

The Chev is similar to the TD42 in many ways. It has many similar shortcomings. BUT - it's a big but - it's a bigger engine and therefore under less stress whilst doing the same job,better.

The Chev will never be a ZD30. It will never be a Toyota turbo diesel. It's a truck engine - but it's a big one as opposed to a smaller one.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 460141

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 00:11

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 00:11
Trev,

I'm sure by now that you will have read my comments in another thread about power and torque in various engines.

My main point in those posts was not how much power and torque is delivered but how and when it is delivered. i.e Look at how flat or steep the torque curve is. If it's a less steep curve but culminating in a smilar max torque number then it's a more tractable engine. That's what a 6.5 Chev is - more tractable.

My personal observations amd comparisons have been as follows:

The Chev will beat a 3.0 litre Nissan and a 1HDTFE Toyota for torque up to 1800 rpm. i.e it will pull better at lower RPM.

I have experienced no overheating problems no matter how much I have abused the engine. The only time it got a bit warm was idling in a paddock for 20 minutes with the air con left on, with a 40 knot wind in 38C blowing from the behind the truck (wrong direction for the fan). Note - "a bit warm" and NOT overheated.

Chev 6.5 with a turbo can overheat when pulling loaded. Brunswick's are quite honese and open about this. I chose not to fit a turbo, but I did have a turbo spec motor fitted.

I've towed 2 and 3 tonnes with all 4 motors in question. The Chev wins up to 100 kmh after that the Toyota wins. But who tows all the time at 110 kmh on "Oz" roads??

I took my "Chevissan" down to my mates place 2 weeks after the Chev was fitted. I drove his 4.2 Turbo Nissan and he drove mine. His had about 40,000 kms on the clock and mine had done less than a 1000 kms. He was quite taken with the V8. I couldn't handle how sluggish his 4.2 turbo was. My thoughts were "I can't drive this thing, it's too slow" - and I used to own a 4.2 Nissan and also, a Turbo 'Cruiser

I paid $9,000.00 for the Nissan with a blown motor, plus $26,000.00 for a new engine, new air con, new clutch, new gearbox, 2 new diffs, new suspension, 2 new batteries, new battery solenoids and extra wiring, new radiator, new brake pads etc,etc. It's a new car - almost.

If I had a choice I'd have a 1HDTFE 'Cruiser engine in a Nissan chassis with Nissan transmission. They don't make 'em. So I put a Chev V8 in Nissan chassis. It's nearly the same thing. But not quite.

Chev V8s are the noisiest beasts on this earth. I used to drive an early Nissan Patrol with an SD33 engine in it. The Chev is noisier. I'm working on it.

The Chev is thirstier, but getting better as it loosens up. It's nearly as good as my former turbo 'Cruiser. It will never be as good as my old Nissan TD42.

I don't care what the figures say. I know what I'm driving, I know how it pulls and a standard 6.5 litre Chev V8 will outpull a chipped, turboed, mod-exhausted Nissan 4.2 any day. It won't outpull a Turbo 'Cruiser above 1800 rpm.

Maybe the Japs do fudge their figures. It sometimes seems that way but I dunno.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 200964

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:03

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 22:03
Thanks for the time and effort in your response. I have been interstate, hence the time delay in my response.

You say: "The Chev is thirstier, but getting better as it loosens up. It's nearly as good as my former turbo 'Cruiser. It will never be as good as my old Nissan TD42"

What made your TD42 so much better than the chev and Toyota, or did you mean fuel economy only?? My thoughts are the TD42T I have is thirstier than my 100series n/a 1HZ so your old Cruiser should have been great on fuel in my books.

I do understand the difference in engine characteristics between an old style diesel and these common rail "high tech" small cubed diesels of today. The point I was trying to understand is the value in doing a Chev conversion as compared to the modified 4.2 Nissan motor and what can be achieved from this motor for about 5 grand. If you still want more torque at low revs off road another 1500 bucks and you can get the crawler transfer gear. 1000rpm in 1st low (standard) is now about 1000rpm 3rd low in my new transfer box so I still have 2 more gears lower than this to utilise if so needed which easily puts me into my trucks sweet spot in terms of engine rpm. Do you know if Brunswick do a supercharged 6.5 Chev and how does this go with heating (or should I say cooling???) as this would make a lot more sense to me if you are going to do the conversion add a few more g's and get the best of both worlds....HP and MEGATORQUE.

Merely observations and curiosity as the 6.5 Chev has been on my shopping list for a long time until recently finding out what is really possible from the Nissan 4.2. Maybe after a week of the Chev my opinion would come back to the Chev's way of thinking??? but after driving mine the way it is now, it would take a lot.

Best regards,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 461343

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:27

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:27
Trev,

You asked - 'What made your TD42 so much better than the chev and Toyota, or did you mean fuel economy only??"

Yep - fuel economy only. The TD42 used to do about 24 MPG - whatever that is in kms/litre - unloaded around town. It dropped to about 20 MPG fully loaded, pulling a 700kg (?) camper trailer on long hauls.

It was "OK" to drive, fell back a bit on hills when towing, had a to drop a cog or two occasionally.

The Turbo 'Cruiser that I had was a different beast entirely to the your HZ engine. It was a flyer, a racehorse by comparison to the TD42 Ford Maverick ute. A beautiful fast, smooth, dream of a car - but soft as chit in the bush. It did 22 MPG unloaded, to & from work and 18MPG towing a 3 tonne van. And as you know - it got stolen.

Now, to see where I'm coming from and to save me typing it out again, go back and read what I paid for this whole Nissan rig. Then consider - this rig was formerly a 2.8 litre Nissan. Believe it or not, it is far more diifficult (read "more expensive") to put a TD42 motor into a 2.8 chassis than it is to put a 6.5 litre Chev in it. I didn't want another Landcruiser, in spite of the fact that I just loved the one that I "lost". But I did want something that had grunt and was a rough, tough bush tank. In that last respect, Nissans have proved themselves time and again with me. Anectdotal evidence, plus my own experience has indicated to me that the "Cruiser is a great vehicle but isn't quite up to the hammering that I know I can give a Nissan. The 'Cruisers are in danger of becoming a "soft roader", IMO. Plus it was just too 'nice' a vehicle to get the bodywork all bashed 'n scratched. The 2.8 Nissan paintwork on the other hand, was already a bit jaded.

(NB - the other major factor here was FEAR. I'd just had "my retirement dream car" stolen from my driveway. In the end, after the insurance payout, I lost about $12,000.00 (?) in accessories. I didn't want the bastards coming back and stealing another one that was siiting in my driveway!! By then, I knew how easy it was for a professional car thief to steal a "Cruiser" and how often it was happening!!)

So if one already owns a TD42 Nissan and wants more grunt, cheaply, then spend the dollars that you've indicated. I didn't own a TD42 Nissan at the time of the conversion. I owned a 1999 GU 2.8 Nissan with a 'blown' engine. I couldn't even drive it after I'd paid $9,000.00 for it. It had to be put on tilt-tray truck to get it Brunswick Diesels! Can you see the difference in your perspective and mine?

But having done this 'experiment" AND having had a love affair with TD42s since 1989, I'd still rather have the Chev V8. It's just, oh I dunno, "easier" to drive than all that chipping 'n revving 'n stuff. It just does it - uphill, from a standing start.

BTW - I've now seen about 10 sets of figures for the power and torque for N/A 6.5 litre Chevs. Consequently, I'm not sure which is what and why! All I know is that it works. After all is said and done, how many 4WDs only use 3 gears in a 5 speed box without stalling or complaining? How many 4Wds can be fully loaded with gear, fuel, people and a dog and pull a 2 tonne van from a standing start using 2nd gear without slipping the clutch. It works.

But it's still N O I S Y !!!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 461383

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:31

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:31
PS - mine's got 3.9 diffs in it. I dread to think what one of these COULD pull if it had a 4.3 diff in it!!

But I alos dread to think what the fuel bill would be as well!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 461385

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 21:59

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 21:59
Yeah OK I can see the advantages for your application, starting with the dead 2.8.

I was more thinking for my situation, starting with the 4.2 and wondering why I should shell out the 20 large or more to go the chev option, when for considerably less I could get a similar (Not exactly) result with possibly more top end by upping the anty in my 4.2 mill.

With the chev under the bonnet I would not consider 4.3 diff ratios. If I wanted more pulling power offroad I would go for the transfer gears, either the 2.8 ratio (which I imagine would be heaps with this engine) or the big gun 3.7 if you really want to tear lugs off your tyres.

Thanks for keeping the discussion balanced for future readers.
Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 461653

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:34

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:34
I think we've done this one to death Trev. Waddya reckon?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 461683