Jayco Hawk Outback Range

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:21
ThreadID: 38933 Views:30790 Replies:10 FollowUps:19
Hi Folks,

I am going to buy a Jayco Hawk camper from the Jayco Outback range and would like any feedback from anyone who owns one please? Have looked at and considered other brands but will be going with Jayco.

I have a pretty good idea on the overall aspects of the camper but I am just wanting to find out bits of information you pick up, either positive or negative after using one for a while.

Thanks for your help.

Reply By: Hopper51 - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:55

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:55
G'Day Brian
We had a outback Hawk for 6 years and recently traded it on a new Expanda. It is a very easy camper to tow even though the tare weight is a little over a tonne. Never had any real problems with it in the time we had it. It did leak a bit of dust on the dirt roads but that is to be expected. We probably did around 40000km including many trips into the north Flinders Ranges and up to the Coongie Lakes. When we traded it we found just how well Jayco campers hold their price.
AnswerID: 201594

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:50

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:50
Hi Chris,

Thanks for the info. It sounds like you covered some ground with your setup.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 461024

Reply By: briggzee (WA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:51

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:51
Brian, We have just returned from a 4 month, 19500km trip thru W.A, Qld, and N.T towing a jayco dove offroad camper. We drove on gravel roads including Great Central Rd, Plenty hwy, Buchanen hwy, Gibb River rd etc. The van was good to tow(4.2 turbo diesal patrol) and the setup was ok and was very comfortable in the bush. Our biggest problem was DUST!!! Sometimes we a had a small amount and on a couple occasions the van was full of dust! All thru cupboards, bedding, floor, walls etc. We were not impressed. Have tried to analyze/research the problem and it seems that some sort of pressurization will reduce the dust. Am still working out a solution (including selling the van). On the blacktop and a little bit of gravel it will be fine, but for extended gravel use you may want to think again. Happy vanning. Briggzee
AnswerID: 201604

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:52

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:52
G'day Briggzee,

Thanks for the info especially on the dust getting into everyhting.

I'll have to look into that a bit more and see what I can find out.

Thanks again.
FollowupID: 461025

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:15

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:15
If you are going to buy one , you dodn't need any feedback ??

If you have enough money you may want to consider a Coromal ??
AnswerID: 201626

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:36

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:36
DH
FollowupID: 461015

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:48

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:48
Gronk,

Mate I can't agree with you there. I don't know about you but as an example if someone who owns one can tell me an easier way to do something that they have discovered through day to day use then I think it is good value to ask for feedback.

Had a look at the Coromal and it didn't appeal to us as I think the Jayco Outback series is better suited to the places we go and want to go in the future.
FollowupID: 461022

Follow Up By: Member - Mal B - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:07

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:07
talk to people about jayco service and warrenty not what it should be. i have a coromal, the ezy tow suspension is one of the best around fully inderpendent safe driveing mal b
FollowupID: 461030

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:13

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:13
What is it about Coromal owners? Because they spent 50% more than they needed to, they bag Jayco's.

Fair Dinkhum Mal, stop listening to gossip and get on the Jayco Forum. Jayco warranty support is second to none.

Jayco offer a value for money product because they are the only Australian Caravan manufacturer who operates on the "assembly line" theory.
FollowupID: 461036

Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:14

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 09:14
Sorry, when you said you were looking for feedback, I thought you were trying to get some reassurance to back up your decision to buy one !

I suggested the Coromal only because it would be my personal choice ( not nessesarily yours )

I too have looked at the Jaycos ( hawke ) but bought a KK trailer !

But, as you have seen here, dust does seem to be an issue ( Coromals may be the same too ? ) Seem to remember reading somewhere about running a small fan in caravans to pressurise the inside and keep out dust ?

FollowupID: 461130

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:00

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:00
Hi Brian B,

Out of curiosity, why are you upgrading from camper trailer to a Jayco?

I would like to understand your reasoning, as it is always good to get the opinion of others?

Also, looking at your rig picks, looks like we are both fans of Moreton Island

TonyG
AnswerID: 201651

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:27

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:27
Tony,

Having done the same as Brian is planning to do, let me offer this.

A Jayco offers a combination of C/T and Caravan. We previously loved our soft floor C/T, but it had its limitations.

The Jayco allows you to enjoy the outdoor life, but has the capability for you to sit inside (with a couch and kitchen dinette) when the weather gets foul.

Like all campers/caravans, it is a compromise. It just happens to do it very well for us.

ATB,

FollowupID: 461044

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:40

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:40
Jimbo, we had camper c/t then swan now caravan all the benifits you mention we have in the caravan only more, we don't have to wind it up a little and crawl on all fours at home to get into it, and no dust problem.
Wazza
FollowupID: 461072

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:09

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:09
Hi Tony,

Jim has pretty much hit it on the head for us.

We just want the few extra creature comforts the Jayco will offer and also the easier set up. Our soft floor is great and in fact it will be staying in the family as my oldest son is having it but it can be a bit of a pain in the time it takes to set up and pull down. This is especially a drama if you are on a touring type holiday or similar where you want to get on the road each day at a reasonably early time.

Also the outback series offers me the ability to still take it to places like Moreton Island etc that we love to go to.

These are the kind of issues behind our decision.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 461176

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:04

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:04
Brian,

Very little goes wrong. We have a 12/05 O/B Eagle. We have done 45 nights away in less than a year. The minor issues such as door catches, are easy to fix.

I would recommend taking a supply of screws, glue and pop rivets for any minor on road repairs.

My only other counsel would be to consider the Eagle. Same size as the Hawk, but the floorplan gives you a separate table/dinette and couch. On the odd occasion that you are all stuck inside it gives you two living areas.

ATB,

AnswerID: 201656

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:28

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:28
I'm not sure which one it is Jim, but the Jayco's that have the lounge at the front are very easy to get in and out of bed, because you stand on the lounge to get up onto the bed. The bigger one of the two has a straight drop to the floor from the front bed.

Not a really big issue but if you are short, or have limited mobility, being able to stand on the couch to get into bed is a godsend.
FollowupID: 461064

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:17

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:17
Jim,

Thanks for the info.

I know what you mean about the inside layout as it needs to be comfortable and functional if you are pinned down by some ordinary weather.

Take it easy.
FollowupID: 461177

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:39

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:39
we have a 01 dove that suits us down to the ground. dust was a minor consideration to start with, but a trip to Clark Rubber fixed that problem.
The roll of high density foam, about 1 inch thick, and 1 inch wide, all around the body edging solved our dust problem, along with covering the door vent.
Letting some air out of the tyres and slowing down abit off-road means we get there a little later, but get to enjoy the drive along the way.
they are a good van for what they are and as long as you realise they have limitations, i dont think you will have any problems.

mewo.

rick.
AnswerID: 201679

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:30

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:30
mewo?
FollowupID: 461067

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 00:02

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 00:02
geez,,,,,,,,,,,,your a picky bugga aintya....:)
i've been busy putting the fridge in the patrol, ready for the sparkie to wire up tommorrow, and here you are picking om my spelling mistakes....:(:(.....i am deeply hurt, offended and upset that you would chose to pick on a fellow patrol driver like this........i'm taking my bat and ball and running away to Denham at christmas....
in the mean time i'm gunna come around there and tell jackie all about a certain camper.......:):):)lol. ( insert evil laugh here);;;;;;;:):):):):):):):):):)
gawd,,,,dont ya just love the comraderie on this forum.

MEOW.

rick. :):)
FollowupID: 461102

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:45

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 01:45
MMMMMM. Yes, THAT CAMPER!

I am umming and ahring about what to do. Personally I like the compact size of the Finch when it comes to towing & 4WDriving. The setup inside and out is spot on apart from the size of the bed.

Jacqui is insisting we will be getting a new one, whereas I'm content to sell it and get a second hand one. She's standing next to me right now chewing my ear :(
"I will win that battle" she mumbled as she wandered back to the telly.

As I said the other day on the phone, Caravanland want a change over of 6 thousand if we trade up to a Dove, which we just don't have. And considering we bought it new at Xmas, the sums just don't add up.

Muzz
FollowupID: 461113

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:19

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:19
Hi Rick,

Thanks for the info on dust proofing. Once I get hold of one of these campers I will get that sorted before heading off onto too many dusty tracks.
FollowupID: 461178

Reply By: rags - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:52

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:52
BRIAN
We have had a jayco Finch for 7 years now and found it to be great.Dust has been a problem but have made a few mods when on dirt that we reduce the dust intake.These mods include the insertion of some poly-canvas strips [approx 150mm wide] across the width of the front and rear covering the roof/body joint.These covers are slid into sail track fitted on both the roof and body sections and prevent a lot of the dust from getting into the beds,and are removed prior to opening the roof.Also we fit cut out plastic corogated real estate signs [cheap] to any external vents [fridge vent, door etc] with duct tape.This bit of effort has helped the intake of dust and only get fitted if we know that we will be on dirt roads.The trailer has had a few mods to suit needs like relocating gas bottles to enable the rear door of the Prado to fully open,fitting roof mount 4 bike rack 12v pump etc.Over all we have been happy.
Thanks Russell
AnswerID: 201686

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:22

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:22
Hi Russell,

OK Gotcha. You guys have all given me some great ideas on how to deal with some of these problems.
FollowupID: 461180

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:39

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:39
Like Jimbo, we bought a new outback at Xmas and are happy with, it to a point !!!!

Firstly, we should have bought the Dove, not the Finch. The bed at the front of the Finch is only 4' wide and the Dove it is 5' wide.

Appart from that, and the dust issue, which can be fixed, here's what I did the week we got ours.

I climbed underneath and put conveluted tubing around every bit of electrical cabling underneath. This should be looked at where the cable comes thru the chassis from the draw bar, and also, although they have covered some of the wiring with tin plates, the tin is very thin and very sharp and I have no hesitation in saying that with corrigations, it will eventually cut thru.

The other thing I found dissapointing is the filler pipe for the water tank is not properly protected from rubbing on the chassis and framework, so I also covered all the corners or bends with plastic and cable tied everything to ensure less chance of rubbing thru.
AnswerID: 201702

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:24

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 13:24
Muzzgit,

Sounds like I might spend a bit of time underneath it when I get it sorting those few things out.

Thanks for the advice.
FollowupID: 461181

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:02

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:02
Hi Brian,
We have had a Jaco Dove Outback for 5 years, and believe me the dust gets in everywhere, her indoors has nick named it "THE HOOVER" as it just sucked the dust in. We have tried every thing to stop this including duct taping, to no avail.
Also the Gibb River Road destroyed some of the cupboards inside, which I had to reinforce with angle brackets etc.
The shocker brackets (6mm) used to snap in half at the thought of a rough road/track although this has now been rectified using 10mm steel.
The 5 leaf springs used to collapse and go flat at the drop of a hat, this has also been rectified with 7 leaf springs.
The rotten stapled joinery would come apart at the back of the cupboards either side of the fridge, which meant the drawers would fill with the dreaded bull dust, and you would have to wash the cutlery at each stop, which interfered with happy hour ? each night.
The vinyl "pebble guard " has a square edge along the front that gets shredded on stony roads like the Oodnadatta Track and I will replace with aluminium checker plate.
When I questioned Jayco re OUTBACK they only meant Dirt Roads !
We have had some great trips with the Dove, but it is now time to move on.
The Dove is about to go on the market and fly the coop, as we are moving up to a fair dinkum OFF ROAD caravan with air bag suspension and loo and shower etc.
So in my opinion DONT buy a JACO for serious outback touring.

What ever you decide, when travelling any distance on outback tracks etc, DROP your tyre pressures to 28 on the trailer and rear of the vehicle and 20 to 22 in the front, and keep the speed down and you will have a more comfortable trip and any damage will be minimised, but you will need a good compressor to reinflate when you return to the bitumen.

Sorry to let you down , but only learn the hard way. $$$$$$$.
Niss42
AnswerID: 201882

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:06

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:06

Thanks for your info. I am going to go back to our dealer and have a good look and talk to him about some of this stuff so thanks again.
FollowupID: 461398

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 06:20

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 06:20
Get a Trak Shak

they do go anywhere !

AnswerID: 202216