Australian Pensioners Insurance ?? Insurance generally.

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:12
ThreadID: 39278 Views:5174 Replies:13 FollowUps:11

The new van, our first, has finally... finally arrived at the dealers and will be available to be picked up tomorrow (Friday). A Coromal pop-top costing just under $29,000 The question is who to insure with.

We have had our 2 vehicles insured with NRMA (IAG) for years. Never had a claim with them so cannot even run the "self suck it and see" analysis on them in these car come together events and obviously no knowledge on caravan claims.

After a huge TV ad campaign in NSW I rang Australian Pensioners (APIA) for a competitive quote. I kept everything that NRMA offered the same and APIA came in at $354 pa which is $80 less than NRMA.

Anybody with good or bad thoughts about the 2 companies in my trifecta (or good thoughts about anyone else for that matter) will be gratefully recieved for an overnight analysis.

Thanks in anticiation
SKI'er

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:26

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:26
Hi SKI'ers,

I need to be covered when 'off road' and NRMA said their coverage stops at the end of the road. Even if you drive 200 metres off the road to camp you will not be covered. Only a call centre chicky but enough to put me right off.
As for APIA - that infernally annoying woman will never get me to buy any of their products. Also they are an agency not an insurance company - I don't know if this makes a difference.
My caravan is insured with Suncorp, they were able to convince me that their policy met my specific needs - for example towing/driving/bogging on beaches and off road.
What I am suggesting if identify your own needs/risks and match the policy to these.

Mike.
AnswerID: 203910

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:39

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:39
Hi Mike

I've had comprehensive policies with NRMA and they have covered the vehicle anywhere it is legally entitled to be, on or off-road. It sounds like you were given the wrong information. The thing about insurance is that if it doesn't exclude it, then it is included.

FollowupID: 463599

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:25

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:25
I have everything with NRMA cars, boat, camper trailer,trailer everything comprehensively insured and camper is covered everywhere including off road as well as the hilux. Only thing they specified with the hilux is thats its not being used for any events eg Nissan trials, hill climb events etc. They were also the cheapest that I could find. My neighbour works for API after the stories Iv heard from him I wouldnt touch them, probably why my mother who qualifies for a pensioner discount is still with NRMA. Just my thoughts. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 463651

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:02

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:02
Thanks Mikee5 for your input re APIA v NRMA or CIL as an alternative.

With the positives I heard about APIA I went with them. I did re-ring the NRMA and ask how much. I explained that we already had 2 vehicle fully comp policies with them and 2 CTP insurances and wondered if our “for lifetime no claim bonus” had been taken into account on their first quote and was it transferable from vehicles to first time caravan insurance.

Yes it had been taken into account on their previous quote and Yes the lifetime no claims was transferable to a new caravan – ( a sort of vehicle) policy.

Nevertheless NRMA were a smidge less than $100 dearer than APIA. I thanked the lady and indicated it was time for a change. Interestingly she immediately discounted the policy by 10% (about $40). BUT Still $60 dearer.

To be honest I never really got onto CIL because their call centre was closed on Thursday night went I picked up some advice postings and didn’t reopen until 9.00am Friday when I was supposed to be on route picking up the caravan from the dealer.

Thanks for all your advice. Moving to APIA has saved me at least $60 on this policy.

On the strength of the generous time taken out by you all we have joined ExOz and hope to be able to assist others as we gain more experience in the touring ( for 6 months of the year) in this exciting stage of our retirement.
Kind Regards
SKI’er
FollowupID: 464083

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:29

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:29
SKI'er, I like to maintain the relationship with my insurer of choice. We already have business insurance with one company for many years. A few months back they decided to get an assessor to do a job on a claim of ours which I wasn't happy with. I got them to re-assess and got a payout.

When we got a quote for Kim a couple of weeks back they were 20% below the quote from the van retailer who they had regarded as previous best. There will be some items you have in your van as fixtures, and some may be personal items from the house, make sure you don't double insure, identify items that are normally fixtures and those that aren't as they may be already under your personal items insured in your house.

Building the relationship, thought it may be tested occasionally, is the best way to go. My answer doesn't answer you directly but suggests what you may look to.
AnswerID: 203911

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:04

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:04
Thanks John R for your input re APIA v NRMA or CIL as an alternative.

With the positives I heard about APIA I went with them. I did re-ring the NRMA and ask how much. I explained that we already had 2 vehicle fully comp policies with them and 2 CTP insurances and wondered if our “for lifetime no claim bonus” had been taken into account on their first quote and was it transferable from vehicles to first time caravan insurance.

Yes it had been taken into account on their previous quote and Yes the lifetime no claims was transferable to a new caravan – ( a sort of vehicle) policy.

Nevertheless NRMA were a smidge less than $100 dearer than APIA. I thanked the lady and indicated it was time for a change. Interestingly she immediately discounted the policy by 10% (about $40). BUT Still $60 dearer.

To be honest I never really got onto CIL because their call centre was closed on Thursday night went I picked up some advice postings and didn’t reopen until 9.00am Friday when I was supposed to be on route picking up the caravan from the dealer.

Thanks for all your advice. Moving to APIA has saved me at least $60 on this policy.

On the strength of the generous time taken out by you all we have joined ExOz and hope to be able to assist others as we gain more experience in the touring ( for 6 months of the year) in this exciting stage of our retirement.
Kind Regards
SKI’er
FollowupID: 464084

Reply By: Keenycruiser - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:36

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:36
I have just had the "great" experience of making a claim for a $48000 Windsor caravan, stolen from a property after first moving another caravan. The insurer was CGU (a sister company to NRMA under the umbrella of IAG) and they treated me as if I was the criminal not the person losing his "pride & joy". It has taken over two months and a grilling by an investigator, which involved producing my driving record, detailed phone calls, receipts etc. etc. before it was finally settled. I have now gone to APIA and hope I do not get the third degree treatment if I make a claim. I have insured house & contents, two cars and the caravan and they are $900 cheaper than NRMA and $800 cheaper than CGU for the same cover.
Make sure you get good cover for the contents of the van because you don't realize what you have and it's value until you lose it all. You can replace the van but trying to remember and replacing everything in the van is the hardest part and very expensive.
Good luck and make sure the van is secured.
AnswerID: 203912

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:05

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:05
Thanks KeenyCruiser for your input re APIA v NRMA or CIL as an alternative.

Kind Regards
SKI’er
FollowupID: 464085

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:19

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:19
Hi there Keenycruiser, sorry to hear your loss, theres all ways some scumbag that spoils it for some one. Glad to hear was all sorted and back on track again.Must have been a bloody brillant van and a big one at that. Will have to show my neighbour this forum reply the way he was talking he wouldnt touch them and he works for them and still has his car insured with nrma. Thats the only reason I told my mum to keep her stuff with nrma. Glad they have done the right thing by you and yes have heard nrma like to send there investigators out and give you a grilling, havnt had that happen to me so far but they will cop a mouthful if I ever do make a claim and they do the same to me as they have you, then I will move everything elsewhere just didnt bother when I rang around this year as they were the cheapest for everything and no one else will touch our commodore as its been lowered and a few mods but is all noted on insurance papers so shouldnt be any problems if I have to make a claim hopefully not. Have a great weekend. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464091

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:41

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:41
I have my vehicle and camper insured through Budget Direct.
You can do an online quote and they're good to talk to on the phone.
AnswerID: 203913

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:07

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:07
Thanks MrBitchie for your input re APIA v NRMA or CIL as an alternative.

Kind Regards
SKI’er
FollowupID: 464086

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:42

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:42
I can't speak from personal experience, but amongst all the bad news experiences with insurance claims, i have heard of good news claims from people insuring caravans with CIL. Well worth investigating.

We just go with what ever package our broker gets together as best each year, which includes the caravan. Fortunately no claims so far with the van.

AnswerID: 203916

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:09

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 17:09
We have our Kimberley Kamper insured with CIL as they specialise in Caravan and Camper insurance....I have been more than happy with there prompt service thus far......Worth a look....
FollowupID: 463617

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:08

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:08
Thanks Motherhen & Teabag for your input re APIA v NRMA or CIL as an alternative.

Kind Regards
SKI’er
FollowupID: 464088

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:02

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:02
Skies,
after 9 years with the RAC my premium just kept going up, rang apia and they knocked $360.00 of my anual bill, been with them 2 years now and had 2 claims as the ad said , they wre there when they said they woul and they were brilliant fixed everything themselves I didn't do a thing they handled everything brilliantly, when it was all finalised they sent me a cheque for $50.00 when I asked what it was for they said they failed to ask if I was happy with the work done within 10 days so they automatically pay me compensation !!! couldn't believe it what a fantastic ins' company I will be staying with them ,
regards,
AnswerID: 203918

Reply By: Member - Ken J (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:31

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:31
Hi SKI'er,
Have all my insurance types with A P I ( being A wrinkly ) . Have never had a problem with them including replacements to annexe awning, auto lift up up garage door, mobile phone .. Like all insurance companies u must read the policy book for what is covered & what is not. if unsure write your queries down & have them show u the item/ page etc you are unsure of.. Good Luck
Ken J
AnswerID: 203925

Reply By: LPGPete - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:41

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 16:41
G'day SKI'er,

I insured my new van with APIA last December - having checked a number of different policies and quotes includiing AAMI, NRMA and CIL. I was quite satisfied with the APIA policy coverage and quote, being SURE to separately identify the cost of "non standard accesories" e.g. A-frame storage box, WDH A-frame "tidy", pole holders, safe, slide out BBQ, cover etc.

We did a 10 K Km trip to The Centre in June/July, and when my sister-in-law was driving (there were 4 of us), she accidently "scraped" the awning against a dead overhanging branch driving into a rest area on the Lasseter Hwy travelling east to Erlunda.

We didn't notice that there was a little damage until we next opened the awning - and while it was quite minor, the awning would likely deteriorate over time and probably tear.

I raised it when I had the van in for the 10K Km service ands it was recommended that I make a claim.

It took one phone call to APIA - and they replaced the whole awning at a cost of around $1,700 (it's a 25 Ft van) - and then a week later they rang me to be sure I was satisfied. I was almost apologetic to the caller, having made a claim after only several months - and he said, "that's what we're here for"!!

Since then, I have moved my house and contents insurance over to APIA (from QBE), which was again very competitive - but they were not competitive for my 2 vehicles currently insured with AAMI.

So, from my experience, I am so far VERY happy with my APIA caravan insurance.

Hope that helps.

Pete
AnswerID: 203929

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:20

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 18:20
Gday SKI'er

Fortunately not from personal experience, but a family we met earlier in the year rolled their CT and car on the GRR. Car was driveable, but CT was a write off. Within 24hrs of calling NRMA insurance, a brand new CT was on a truck from Adelaide to KNX so the interuption to their holiday could continue with the least possible interuption, pretty good service in my book.....

Reminds me - I better re-read our policy, I looked at it fairly well, it has a list of things which exclude cover, and didn't mention the off road thing, I hope I didn't miss it!

Cheers andrew
AnswerID: 203952

Reply By: Tia Maria - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:02

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:02

Another "wrinkly's" view. My personal experience with APIA is 100% negative. Either they couldn't insure us or they were not competetive. Don't accept their advertising at face value, the advertising campaign aimed at pensioners is just that, advertising.

Caveat emptor. John L.
AnswerID: 204007

Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:12

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 21:12
had a claim on written off Falcon in Feb from APIA and had full settlement in 6 days. Drunken driver without insurance hit the vehicle T bone no hope of getting money from drunk. Phoned APIA and had great service and complete satisfaction and direct deposit on 6 day. highly recommend
AnswerID: 204011

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:39
I have APIA on the Gin Palace & had one claim ( involving a petrol Bowser @ Woolies @ Parkes) & they were even better than they portray themselves on TV. We were stuffed around by repairers but they sorted it, and the van is good as new now. I was impressed.
I now have APIA on the Jackeroo which came in around $170 cheaper than AAMI who it was with before....
I reckon that loyalty to a company these days has to be tested every time you are sent a renewal notice, I phone the competitors & tell them what I have & can they better it....
Interestingly, I have Holden Roadside Assist Ultra which I renewed in lue of NRMA because it was cheaper. Only had to use it a few times but the last time the NRMA turned up & said that I was lucky that I had the HRAU as the NRMA normally would not have driven down the track I was on to get me going......
AnswerID: 204195

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:14

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:14
Thanks Dave Thomson, Ken J, LPG Pete, andrew B, Tia Maria, LastAussieWorker and Mr Fawltyfor your input re APIA v NRMA or CIL as an alternative.

I am too new to fornums to know how to thank you individually so please forgive the collective thanks bouquet.

Kind Regards
SKI’er
FollowupID: 464090

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:55

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:55
We had our house with APIA for a very short time when we had a claim for storm damage (A tree branch fell.)
They could quite simply not have been any better.
Prompt, courteous and efficient.
I know it's not van insurance, but when the renewal comes up I'll be giving them a ring.
FollowupID: 464792

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:15

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:15
"I am too new to fornums to know how to thank you individually so please forgive the collective thanks bouquet."

Mate, rather then repeating yourself trying to be polite, just post a single reply thanking all as a "REPLY" rather than a "FOLLOW UP" to each individual.

Welcome to the madhouse ;-)
AnswerID: 204602