Five rocks byfield Qld

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 22:03
ThreadID: 39699 Views:8981 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
can anyone tell me if you can still camp at five rocks. We used to camp a lot their years ago near the creek but have heard from a few sources that camping is not allowed there anymoe, have also seen something on this forum about a campground at stockyard point?, there was always houses their but no campground from my memory. would like to spend a few days up that way if camping is still permitted but don't really want to camp back in the byfield campgrounds (Stony Ck etc)

Reply By: png62 - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:58

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:58
Just did a google search out of curiosity (I'm in Hobart) - you seem to need permits to have permits to think about going somewhere up there, crikey. The QPWS website had some details of Five Rocks, hope that helps.

Might be beautiful one day and perfect the next up there but I can just get in the cruiser with my camperand/or boat and go anywhere I like down here, Tassie might not be so bad after all - no stingers, no crocs, only one annual pass for all parks and lots of isolated spots............now all I have to do is overcome the damned temperature.
AnswerID: 206496

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:16

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:16
Hi, png62, gotta agree on the permit system in sunny Qld; takes the spontaneity of travel. Many National Parks also require booking ahead for allocated camp sites; what if you've never been their before and when you get there you don't like the spot ? Do you get a refund if for your pre-paid camp-site if you decide to not go for the weekend when the weather turns cyclonic?

I don't think the permits cost anything either (correct me if I'm wrong) so if it isn't revenue-raising, what is the point of the permit system? Do they ever refuse an application?
FollowupID: 466490

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:18

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:18
Should have mentioned I was refering to Qld's State Forest permit system.
FollowupID: 466491

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:58

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 08:58
I can't understand why we can't have ONE annual pass system and access to all forests/parks in Qld! How hard could it be eh!
FollowupID: 466629

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:03

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:03
Because parks/forests are managed at a local/regional level not at a state level per se.

Forestery passes allow the respective authorities to manage the area, close off sections, conduct controlled burnoffs in safety, establish a legal access system etc. I not sure if it is same in all areas of Qld, however the permit can be valid for up to two months up here (eg Cathu State Forest, Crediton State Forest etc) even though people don't realise this and think that they have to register for one day/weekend only. Permits also allow only limited registered vehicles access to these areas for public liabilty reasons IIRC, and to limit some access by certain non-insured recreational vehicles eg motorbikes etc.

At the end of the day, the permit is the only way that the management authorities currently have to monitor numbers of users to lots of these areas. An annual pass will not help with this situation and in fact may restrict access further due to lack of infrastructure to identify who is actually in the park/forest at any one stage.

I would personally prefer the current system of free permits rather than an annual pass which is a PITA to manage and may not solve some of the issues with access.

FollowupID: 466634

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 11:24

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 11:24
Hi Andrew, I see where you're coming from, the 'free' permit system is fairly easy to accomidate in state forests, but going into a NP costs you $32 a pop for each NP you want to visit (generaly). Surely a NP Pass would make a lot of sense and save you money. I hear that Teewah Beach will soon go the same way! another $32 bucks please...
FollowupID: 466642

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:03

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:03
Personally i would rather see the funding for our NPs etc come out of taxes, instead of an annual pass. At the end of the day, NPs need funding to maintain infrastructure.....where it comes from is the issue.

Down south, there seems to be a huge cost involved in just setting up a NP for revenue collection, especially with the annual pass system. Drive via thredbo even for the day and they slug you a small fortune.....seperate fees from the annual pass costs. NSW parks have overpriced fees IMO and i would rather see Qld stick to the current "cheap" system. I was told years ago that the ongoing running costs for the infrastructure would possibly outweight the revenue for most of our parks. There may only be 1/2 a dozen or so Parks in Qld that could sustain the costs if any.

Be aware that the annual pass in NSW etc do NOT cover camping fees....it is more of a "traverse fee". With the NSW pass costing around $190 for one year (slightly cheaper for 2 years), I would suspect Qld wouldn't be much different if going down the same track. No thanks :-)

FollowupID: 466664

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:09

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:09
I should correct myself in that the $190 per year pass is the only annual pass to include Kosciuszko National Park, and i believe it is $65 for a multi-parks pass excluding kossy.

FollowupID: 466665

Reply By: snow - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:38

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:38
Not sure mate, I live in Yeppoon..havent been up 5 rocks for yonks, will see what I can find out and get back to you.
AnswerID: 206513

Reply By: George_M - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:15

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:15
G'day Eza.

I haven't been there for twenty years, however my brother is a Park Ranger operating out of Rockhampton. He goes there often.

He tells me that the waterfall at the northern end of the beach is now just a trickle, probably polluted, and camping is not permitted near it. Camping is permitted on the beach below Stockyard Point, however you need a permit - get a permit from the "self check in" box near the beach, or get one by telephone or online.

There is a camp ground on Stock Yard point with basic facilities.

George_M
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 206517

Follow Up By: snow - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:05

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:05
Good work George thanks,
FollowupID: 466499

Reply By: SantaAus - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:31

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:31
Eza,
The whole of 9 mile beach north to shoul water bay training area on three rivers beach is now a national park. You need a beach pernit to drive on the beachs at 5 rocks. these can be issued at the BP servo down the main street of Yeppoon. The creek on 9 mile is now fenced off from traffic. you can only camp south of the creek now. You will need to get a camping permit, which is at the northern entrance to 9 mile. The camping ground at stockyard point has basic camping facitities, toilets & showers. I have never camped up there, due to the fact that it is sooooo... far from the beach, 10minute drive to 9 mile.

SantaAus
AnswerID: 206547

Follow Up By: govo - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:59

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:59
Quote..The creek on 9 mile is now fenced off from traffic. you can only camp south of the creek now

This is a great idea is'nt it..after all they don't want you useing the already established tracks around the creek but instead they want you to create new ones up over the dunes and clear new camp sites..makes me wonder why when i have been going to this spot for 20 years and the cleared camp sites have never changed..i supose in 10 years they will say that the new area has too much use and create a new one further south again...hmmm...maybe in 10 years there will be only walking tracks down there and no 4wd's will be allowed..end of a era.
FollowupID: 466567

Follow Up By: SantaAus - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:09

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:09
The reason they closed the creek from camping and vehicles is due to the EXTREMELY high levels of ecoli bacteria found in the creek. I too have been going there since i was a tot, over 20 years ago. They have made it sooo easy to get in and out of the place that anyone can go there. I have photos of a 2wd toyota crown parked on 9 mile beach. You get heaps of silly litle boys in their beefed up utes and 4WD's, driving in in the arvo, drinking, then driving home that night. Your right they will eventually close the whole area off to traffic in the near future, which is a shame.

SantaAus
FollowupID: 466570

Reply By: Eza - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:08

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:08
thanks all for your responses
AnswerID: 206583

Reply By: oscar_76 - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:16

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:16
Hi Eza,
My wife and I and a heap of our friends travel up to Five Rocks from Emerald 3 to 4 times a year. We can not imagine a more quiet and relaxing place to go to for a couple of days and catch up with friends. When we leave Emerald their is at least five car loads that head for Five Rocks for a great four wheel driving, crabing, fishing, drinking,and relaxation weekend.

Beach Driving Permits you can get from the Information Centre and BP Service Station in Yeppoon. The permits were free three months ago when we last went, but they are now talking of charging people for them. The camping fees are to be paid before you enter 9 mile beach. Just as you hit the entry of 9 Mile Beach you will see a fee billboard, you are to pay your camping fees here (cash, credit card....all information is on there).

We camp down on 9 Mile Beach, but yes there is camping up at Stockyard Point and no camp fires allowed anywhere anymore. There is NO camping at the fresh water stream.
We travel to the showers at Stockyard Point every afternoon for a quick fresh wash and also to stock up on fresh drinking water.
We recommend this hoilday to anyone as it is the best getaway with friends.

Thanks Mick
AnswerID: 206585

Follow Up By: SantaAus - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:03

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:03
With the fires- you are allowed fires as long as you bring your own firewood, and steel container to light the fire in.

SantaAus
FollowupID: 466568