Coil vs leaf springs on camper trailer

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 09:27
ThreadID: 39705 Views:14584 Replies:14 FollowUps:9
We are slowly entering the market for a camper trailer for a trip round Oz next year, that will include the Gibb River Rd around Aug-Sep, so we're expecting to encounter heavy corrugations there and elsewhere. How do leaf sprung camper trailers handle corrugation compared to coils? Are there any leaf sprung CTs with shock absorbers?

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 09:38

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 09:38
Its all about money at the end of the day. Leaf spring suspension is reasonably cheap, easy to fit and repair. Some coil setups are very, very good, but come with the extra price tag that goes with the engineering and components.

Go to the shows, have a look and get some prices, etc. Most of the coil sprung campers were as much as a caravan!
AnswerID: 206498

Reply By: The Fox - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 09:53

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 09:53
I had a coil sprung Trak Shak till about 3 years ago. Loved it. Had if for 9 years, bought it for $9800, sold it for $13000. Replaced 1 set of shockys, cuppla sets elec brake magents and spent $6000 on a respray before i re-sold it. Replaced tyres, but they were worn down ones form the disco.
Buy quality and your re-sale will be good.
Traveled with mate who had slipper spring Cavalier. He had to wrap jars, take great care packing & still suffered breakages. he couldn't believe we just threw our porcelain coffeee cups toghether loose in the plastic tub under the kitchen. We travelled together over many corrugated roads and he was fascinated that we didn't get any breakages. I wasn't aware there was an issue till i travelled with him. His jars kept having the lids come undone!
No kids now, so we have a carry-me-camper on the tray of the f250 but the Trak Shak was great.
AnswerID: 206499

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 10:08

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 10:08
$6000 for a respray?

I agree about suspension, we have a Track Desert Eagle MC2 coil suspension & we use china coffee mugs, never lost one yet, after heaps of High Country & Outback kilometres.
You also see heaps of broken leaf springs in the Outback!
FollowupID: 466468

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:01

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:01
Go the china coffee mug and the "glass" wine glasses. Never broken anything in the Trak Shak in over ten years on some of the worst roads in Oz.

I am on my second set of shockies and bushes. Springs are fine and will last another ten years easily. It is easy to tow and I make very few concessions for the trailer. If the car will go there, so will the trailer. If I am in a hurry, I try not to be but sometimes it happens, I drive fast and the trailer keeps up, following like a faithful puppy.

I debated the coils vs the leaf, Trak Shak offered both at the time, I am glad I spent the extra money. You pay for it once, but you tow it many times.

FollowupID: 466536

Reply By: PradoTrev - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 11:57

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 11:57
Hi Scubaroo

I have a cameron off road camper with leaf spings and shockers same as the other posts no breakages and have never seen the trailer bounce in the mirrors.

have fun

AnswerID: 206510

Reply By: The Fox - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:14

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:14
Woops - $600 for the respray!
AnswerID: 206511

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:36

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:36
Of course coils would be better which also goes with cost. Springs are fine, they will do the job and are cheap, easier to repair and source parts for. Springs with shockies are better.

My Cameron h/duty off road has springs, no shocks, and haven't had any problems with it on the outback roads i've driven on. Will be taking it around Oz next year with no mods to the suspension.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 206512

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:32

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 13:32
Scubaroo,

I have had both Leaf and now have coil and there is no doubt that coil is better, especially for the contents of the trailer. If you go Leaf, make sure they are shackle springs and not slipper springs. Slipper springs aren't up to the harsh treatment Camper trailers get. My last Camper trailer before the Kimberley Kamper had a 2 ton Axle with 9 Leaf shackle springs rated at 1900kg and I re-enforced the spring hangers (very important). Firm but no problem when we did the Gibb River road. This decision will mainly come down to cost but both will serve you well if you get the right gear.
AnswerID: 206518

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:14

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:14
G'day Scubaroo
Leaf sprung will do what you want. They have been around for ever and some vehicles still have them. Just make sure they are not too stiff - that's what causes problems. Heavy duty can have too many leaves but will give you a properly hung system - I had to remove a leaf or two to get the CT riding well. I have shockies on mine - they were an optional extra.
You also need to consider hard floor v soft floor (and a heap of other things).
Which state/area do you live in?
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 206520

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:22

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:22
I have a KK with leaf springs plus shocks and it tows terrific.
Once asked the owner of KK was there any disadvantage to having leaf compared to coils and he said they only went to coils because the opposition were ? They had done a lot of testing of both and while they conceded that coils did the job better the difference was very minimal !!

Leaf AND shocks is better than leaf alone ( whens the last time you saw a leaf sprung car or 4x4 without shocks ?? )

But dollars and personal choice is yours.
AnswerID: 206522

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:28

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:28
I have leaf springs on mine.... Leafs are much easier to repair/replace in the bush. Shocks would be good. Don't have them and too hard to retrofit but should have got them to start with.
AnswerID: 206533

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:56

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 15:56
Only just got our CT.
Leaf springs, no shocks.
Have heard stories about leaf and coil, negative and positive for both.
As said above , a good leaf setup works well, and maybe a good coil a little better.
The dollars decided it for us.

I have also been looking at shocks. My CT has 1900kg rated springs (7 leaf) and axles, and is only a 750kg trailer. It also has those 'W' bars on the upper ends of the leafs, which from what I can work out help to dampen the springs. Maybe not as good as shocks, but do help and most probably as good as a poorly mounted set of shocks.
There are a few leaf sprung CTs with shocks. Retro fitting shocks is not easy if not already allowed for in the chassis and leaf setup.
So I will be playing with leaves over the next few months, thinking of taking one or two of the short ones out for better and softer travel. Will just have to get plenty of miles in testing :o).
Tyre pressures also make a big difference. So plenty to play with.
In CT circles this debate about coil versus leaf is almost a nissan/toyota or engel/waeco debate or IFS front versus solid front axle. :o) Horses for courses.
AnswerID: 206537

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:57

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:57
G'day Oldplodder
Yep - mine had those W things on them plus shocks plus too many leaves. Removed W thingies and 2 bottom leaves. Now rides beautifully whereas before it was stiff as with rough as ride.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 466531

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:06

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:06
I had the choice between leafs & Coils & was told the stud axles break on coils. Therefore I went to leafs.

I ended up breaking 6 of them around Oz 9, 7,6&5 leafs trying to get a better combo. The ones with the W on top appear better but I was sick of my trailer & sold it so I replaced with standard leafs to get it home & sell it.
FollowupID: 466646

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:17

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:17
Scubaroo ,

When I bought my Trak Shak , it was a few years ago and I asked the previous owner of the Company ( very cluey guy ) if should I get the coils or the leaf suspension . He knew I could afford the coils but he said go for the leaf spring set up .

I am a clutz with car thingies , so I took his word . That thing goes over really rough roads and really bad corrugations without any problem at all . ( Rudall River NP and the corrugated Tallawanna Track were easy )

Cheers ,

Willie
AnswerID: 206544

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:09

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:09
Willie, see my above post. I'm glad you are having a better run. Must be in the design of the trailer as well.
FollowupID: 466648

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:29

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:29
Hi Rox ,

Yes I guess the suspension design is very important in the outcome . Other factors are load and the way the trailer is driven .

If I had had your problems , I would have sold the barstool as well .

Cheers ,

Willie .

FollowupID: 466654

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:34

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:34
No I am thinking of tents no suspension to break.

Also not many Nat parks were camper trailer friendly??? they just love bollards & make it extra hard for camper trailers even though they are on the increase.
FollowupID: 466655

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:54

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:54
Rox ,

I would not write off campers - I think you got a dud design .

My wife and I ( and kids before they got big ) have been through the whole spectrum of camping accessories from centre pole tents , to a Drifter 6 , to an on-site van at Eucumbene , to a 4WD trailer with a Southern Cross centre pole tent , to a Trak Shak and or Ultimate Swag tents .

Now If my wife is coming on an extended trip we take the Trak Shak and the swags . Anything under a two night camp and the Trak Shak is just used as a cooking / storage platform . If we are staying somewhere for longer , we set it up and live in luxury .

If I am in the WA deserts or the Pilbara or Kimberley I would rather just take my tent swag . It is incredibly comfortable and has mesh sides and top for watching shooting stars and being alone in it , you can fart at will without drawing recriminations .

On the South Coast of NSW last year I had a win for the campers over the NP wankers . I backed my camper up to the bollards , then opened it over the top of them . It worked a treat . The ranger looked a bit perplexed when he came past , but he said nothing . The sign said no caravans - it did not mention campers .

Cheers ,

FollowupID: 466661

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:29

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:29
We had a Bushranger flip over hard top camper trailer with independent cantilever suspension and leaf springs (not coil), as opposed to beam axle with leaf springs. This worked fine, took it up the Gibb River Road, Purnululu, Tanami Road, Buchanan Highway (track), Vic High Country, Broken Hill, Silverton, Pooles Grave, Milparinka, Thargominda, Birdsville Track......etc., guess you get the picture. No breakages of any kind (trailer or contents). Cost new was under $13k.
They told me when I bought it that it was harder to get the alignment right and keep it right with coil springs. Don't ask me why this is so as I am no mechanic. They also made the same point as someone made above - that outback you may have difficulty getting the correct replacement coil spring, or effecting on-the-road get you to the next town repairs. Whereas a leaf spring can always have a/some new leaves cut & put in, or in an emergency you can cut a piece of tree, wrap rope around it all, wet the rope, and carry on to proper help.
Enjoy!
AnswerID: 206546

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:53

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:53
While 15 years ago it may have been true that you were more likely to get a replacement for your leaf spring in the bush I don't believe that argument holds up any longer. There are plenty of GQ's and 80 series Cruisers parked in the bottom paddock just busting to donate parts to some needy soul.

I live in the bush and the vast majority of vehicles being used ou here, both in town and on stations, are coil sprung. Even the die hards who have leaves on the rear are going across to coils at least under the front end.

As for being able to jerry rig something easier with leaves, well I don't believe that either. I once repaired the steering on my GQ with a 2"nail and a piece of copper pipe. Look at the problem, look at what you have, and adapt to suite your needs.

The initial purchase of a coil set up may be dearer but once you have it replacement springs are cheaper than leaves. Not that I have had to replace springs yet.

FollowupID: 466582

Reply By: banjodog - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:11

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:11
Sometimes being different equates to cost. To have coils will be dearer than leafs, just because it’s different. My main concern with leaf springs is that they aren’t long enough to give a good ride and articulation off road plus the fact I’ve never seen any with bump stops fitted – they’re on the car be it coils or leafs but not trailers. Falcon ute springs would be the pick for me.

Coils will have the advantage as they’re set up as an independent suspension. Have seen some with both coils and leafs but without shockies. Leafs on their own, leafs with shockies, slipper style leaf springs (which hardly bend but good for a box trailer caring gravel). Admittedly , some could be home made jobs I've seen.

In thread 39702 begs the question of a dual axle camper being better – options for that style camper are leafs or air bag suspension with shockies. So would an air bag suspension be better than coils?

AnswerID: 206652

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:31

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:31
We have a 1997 trackshak in the family that's been around the block twice on leaves with shocks - all is still original.
I've written previously that I've towed a camp-o-matic (independent) through some rough terrain (cape and gulf) as well, and I'd say the leaf sprung trailer does it better.
The leaf trailer definitely recovers better than an independent setup. When the independent's get loose, they 'dip' on one side due to the softer compresssion rate which sets up a sway or bounce motion which can flip the trailer or drag the tow vehicle. This gets increasingly worse to downright dangerous as the shocks heat up and lose their damping ability.

Lose the shocks on the trackshack and you've still got rebounder leaves to get the job done.

Just my views, and if you don't plan on bad currugations, hitting bulldust holes or washouts then I suppose the above has no relevence - go for the softer ride and put some bloody good shocks on, and update them regularly.

AnswerID: 206696