Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 14:29
BoomboomIT
I've been looking to upgrade my
suspension on a MK Triton 05 and wondered if it's worth while. Is it really just for serious 4x4 offroad stuff or a worth while investment. I'm planning a long trip around Australia and waying up what i do and dont need.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:04
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:04
I lifted the rear of tha pajero 2", front almost stock.
Mainly used for touring.
More for load carrying ability, and a little better rear clearance on
creek crossings, and a little more compression distance on bumps. Did tend to bottom out with a full load and standard
suspension and height.
Not a lot of adjustment on the front torsion bars, so hard to play with. Just wound them up 12mm or so for a little more travel on bumps.
Have gone as big as I legally can on the tyre diameter. To get as much clearance as I can under the front bash plate, so it doesn't bulldoze too much in sand.
Quite happy with it. Doesn't seem to lean much more in the corners. The 2" rear lift comes back to stock height with a load. Use a roof rack, so didn't want to go too high as I am concerned about stability on roads and tracks. Have done a few trips and keeping it as it is now. Good shocks may make a bigger difference.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:08
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:08
I agree with Oldplodder,
if you intend to tour Australia then you are going to carry a decent load which in my opinion would require a
suspension upgrade.
It aids vehicle handling and off road ability.
I too am looking to upgrade my
suspension in my 2000 MK Triton and am tossing up whether to go OME heavy duty constant load or the progressive loaded
suspension system.
The biggest problem that I have is that the Arrogant Rude Bast@rds wont give me a total cost. ie it will cost about $1300. I don't want about figures I want to be able to tell SWMBO that I'm spending $1399.63 on the
suspension on the Triton to allow it to handle smoother for my crook back LOL.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: BoomboomIT - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:48
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:48
Cheers Guys
Good info - I'LL check out the OME heavy or progressive and see what they want for doing my Triton.
JB
Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 10:14
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 10:14
I have a '97 MK 2.8 diesel dual cab Triton. I 'raised' the front of
mine by 'tweeking' the torsion bars - I've got it back to 'as new' now with much better underbody clearance although (obviously) the diff ground clearance is the same.
Email me if you you'd like some pointers: adelaidemac@hotmail.com
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 16:15
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 16:15
I reckon the
suspension on them needs something they ride rougher than a cart sprung 75 off road. On the upside those springs can carry some weight certainly they sit down with a load far less than a 79 series ute. They are very low in stock form (pull one up next to a hilux ) and realy need pandering if anything more than touring is done.