Ford CourierT/D

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:06
ThreadID: 40666 Views:12246 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Gidday all,

I am a first time buyer of a 4 wd and would like to know what people think of the Ford Courier.
The one I am presently looking at is a Ford Courier, XLT, turbo diesel,dual cab, 03 model with a 102,000km on the clock.
It is a very neat looking unit with a canopy.
What I want to know is what are the problems associated with this vehicle, what is the fuel consumption like, is it a reasonable touring vehicle etc, etc.
Give me info!

Ps
Have a great 2007
Tomorrow is here!

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:35

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:35
The Courier is a rebadged Mazda Bravo (or at least used to be). So a search on Mazda Bravo of that era might get you more info.

My last 4WD ute was a late '90s Ford Courier (Bravo) dual cab petrol. We used it on our small cattle property we had at the time. It did the job, but was pretty gutless (might not be relevant to you as you are looking at a diesel) and had some limitatioins off road. But then, so does my new Hilux and all other similar vehicles. I just think the Courier has had more limitations.

For touring though, it should be fine, provided it has been well maintained. Mazda makes good vehicles after all. My wife has had a Mazda SP20 for years and it is a great vehicle.

When we came to sell our Courier, it was pretty difficult. We were looking to move it pretty fast (moving interstate), so took it to car yards. Everyone said 'if it was a Hilux, I'd snap it up, but no one wants to buy a Courier'. Some wouldn't even make an offer. This doesn't mean it is not a good vehicle, just has a poor resale, so you might be able to get a bargin! Keep this in mind when discussing price.

Another consideration, if you are looking to modify the vehicle, there will not be as many options available. Just by sheer numbers, the Hilux is way in front here, followed by the Navara I'd think, with the Bravo / Courier well behind. But if a pretty standard vehicle will meet your needs, no worries.

Can't comment on your specific questions, but as a 3 litre TD it should have plenty of torque and enough power to be a good touring vehicle. Fuel consumption should be pretty good, as most of these Japanese 3 litre diesels are pretty efficient.

Check out it's towing capacity if you plan to tow.

AnswerID: 212222

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:32

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:32
They have a 2.5l td and I reckon a Rodeo has more after market accessories available than a Navara.

Leroy
FollowupID: 472501

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 01:16

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 01:16
Yep Ford owns Mazda so Bravo and Courier and soon to be Ranger are all basically the same.
FollowupID: 472529

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 07:52

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 07:52
At 33% shareholding, they don't quite 'own' it Exploder. But they do have effective control and the shareholding has led to lots of crossovers. Mostly Mazda engineering into Fords.
Few car companies are what they seem these days.
FollowupID: 472538

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:17

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:17
Courier of that vintage is known to have issues with the chain drive in the transfer case. Relatively common failure.
AnswerID: 212229

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 01:16

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 01:16
It’s a Borg Wanner Transfer Case, isn’t it ??
FollowupID: 472530

Reply By: 666toy - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:43

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:43
I think there a sound touring vehicle. The gearbox was a little bit of a prob on earlier model's but i am sure that was rectified in 95 .
Not a lot came into my workshop those that did had faults of any other vehicle that was abused (wheel bearings, eng mounts , 1 spat the pinion gear in the rear (but the guy was using it like a tractor to be fair) etc.
They are not a heavy towing vehicle & if you want to pull a big heavy load chose another vehicle (land cruiser or patrol)
I think they get around 10ltr@100klm + - fuel consumption
Usually a reliable vehicle from what i have seen
Not the best 4x4 but well suited for touring just be careful of approach angles.
If its a sound vehicle you should be happy with it (i believe they are a very underrated vehicle)
AnswerID: 212234

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:57
spot on 666 spot on
FollowupID: 472504

Reply By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:46

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:46
gday greg ive got a 2001 turbo diesel trayback with a canvas canopy about same kms as the one your looking at and mate we love it had no problems tour all over with it towing a camper or a horsefloat i get 9.5 ltrs /100kms around town they get a bit thirsty towing15ltrs/100kms+. ive put aftermarket suspention a good set of atr tyres plus i run mtrs when i tour 120ltr tank. i travel in company with a cruiser ute we go the same places no worries i replaced the timing belt at 100,000 kms as per service manual no need the one we took out was perfect they have a good LSD in the rear A few after market mods and you will have a capable touring ute hope this helps. warren
AnswerID: 212235

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:08

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:08
G'day Greg
I used to own a '00 t/d courier XLT,dual cab, and spent a further $5k trying to improve it.
2ND battery,b/bar and winch made the front continuously bottom out (yes you can wind them up)but the standard torsion bars where too soft and back springs where hard when empty(It is a ute!)
I had some trouble with bad fuel blocking a small gauze type filter in the injector pump,why the primary filter system couldn't catch it,dunno.This was found obstructed 3 times,over 2 years (20000 klm)
another thing I had real issue with was the amount of turbo lag it had,on a steep hill, say second high,it would charge up, plenty of power to spare,but if you backed off for a wash out or hole, it totally dropped its bundle sometimes it needed low range just to get going again,especially with some weight in it,and on sand,giving me a bit of turbo rage sometimes and slipping the clutch to get revs up.It hasn't got electronics on the motor (for me,a PLUS).
I got around 10 - 11 litres/100kl before acc.,high top canopy acted like a parachute and I put larger 31/10.5r 15 all terrain K/O's caused the fuel to go to around 13l/100 ( Bris to Melb return,Newell h/way 100-105 kph)
I found that after spending $2k on OME springs/shocks/t bar It made a difference off road but I got constantly reminded of it's limitations (wheel travel)and bigger,more aggressive tyres did make improvements,but still not enough for me.There is an arb air locker available,rear only.
expect funny wear patterns on front tyres(most ifs do the same)
My gear box had to be re-bearing 70k (over 5 years old) $2353,crappy batch of bearings I'm told,pick a make of any vehicle and some one, some where has had the same prob.
I would own one again,I had mine for almost 6 years,It got me in to lots of places,just at a higher degree of difficulty.
If it's gunna do some hard work get a heavy duty clutch,I know some blokes that use couriers as service vehicles that constantly carry 7-800 kgs and they had all 3 stuff their clutches early.
I did a thread search and found a few unhappy owners/drivers comments,but if you look hard enough you will find negative posts on ANY fourby

AnswerID: 212238

Reply By: bushy04 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:54

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:54
Hey Greg, I,ve just picked up a 2005, T/D GS With 94k ex dog catchers vechile, the only problem seems to be that all the local dogs are scared of it.
Well that is stretching it a bit, but I have been driving 4x4 for over 30 yrs and as I have only done about 5k and I have found no major hicups with it to date, and am very pleased with the proformace .
I had the timing belt done with the service and the whole lot only cost$ 420.00.
The Hilux will cost quite a bit more than that, so costs may be cheaper on some things.
Best of luck it should be a good vechile.

Bushy
AnswerID: 212244

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 00:02

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 00:02
I've had mine for 3 years. It's a 2002 and it had 50,000km on it and was ex DSE when I bought it.

If you want to see what I've done to it it's in the January Aust 4wd Monthly.

I reckon they are a great little truck. Mines done 70,000km with me so far and not a hitch really. And when you consider what I've done with it and to it that's really saying something.

Of the 70,000km over 30,000 has been either off road, touring or outback, often with the camper or the boat in tow.

More info on mine other than that which is in the article can be found on my website. The link is in the signature below. If you have any specific questions email me via my website, or post them here.

I'd have another, particularly if the new 3.0l TD is any good that may be my next vehicle in a year or two.

As for the difficult resale, they are heaps cheaper than the alternatives to start off with, and from what I've seen for the extra you spend you don't get a heaps better truck, just a better badge.

AnswerID: 212257

Reply By: brad1972 - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 13:04

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 13:04
I have a 95 petrol with 285000km on it not a bad ute but!!! did a bearing between the gear box and the transfer case sort of sits in the middle were they bolt together also cooked 5th (looked very similar to a sigma box) couple of the bearings could not be bought after market and where very expensive. Did a transfer chain(about a grand of mazda and 300 hundred odd for each drive sprockets)ended up buying a earlier model that was wrecked and got they parts out of it.Goes pretty well on the hwy but severely needs a slippery diff or locker in the dirt .We have a new v6 petrol one at work but it uses a lot of fuel so much that we are not getting another one.All up its not a bad rig and I treat it pretty rough but it can be a bit weak in the gearbox/transfer case area.
Brad
AnswerID: 212299

Reply By: Greg - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 23:31

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 23:31
Thanks for the info. It has helped me make my decision. I have ended getting an '03 Hilux Dual Cab T/D!!
See you out there somewhere
All the best for the new year

Tomorrow is here!

AnswerID: 212470