<span class="highlight">Globalstar</span>/CDMA - next G

Submitted: Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:39
ThreadID: 40888 Views:2576 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
Gday All

Just reading the post below on the new phones, and was wondering if anyone knew if my dual Sattelite/Cdma phone (Qualcomm - Glabalstar) will be able to pick up, or be modified to pick up the Next G signal, or is it soon to become a Sattelite only phone? (I have emailed Globalstar and will see the dealer nest week as well as ask here)

Cheers Andrew

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:42

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:42
Unfortunately I reckon you already know the answer....

Leroy
AnswerID: 213391

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:46

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:46
oohhhh come on Leroy, I was hoping not to have my hopes dashed strait away, you could have left it an hour or two.......LOL

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 473726

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:58

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:58
LOL Sorry mate but that's the reality of it!

Leroy
FollowupID: 473785

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:08

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:08
Looks Like it is a NO!

Good Morning Andrew,

Many thanks for your email.

In relation to your query regarding the CDMA network, we understand we will be given access to this network until approximately end of 2008. At that time only the Satellite component on the Qualcom GSP 1600, will be available, with the intended phase-out of CDMA.

There is much speculation in relation to CDMA and the new G, however, we are awaiting official government approval as to the verification of Telstra’s propositions in relation to these networks, and whether we will have access to the new G network.

At this stage we do not believe that a software upgrade to the existing Qualcom will be available, therefore possibly looking at new technology could be on the agenda.

Please visit out website at: Site Link where we will release any updates as they come. In addition, under our “Where to Buy” link, to find and stay in touch with your local Globalstar Dealer, who will also be informed as the updates come to hand.

Should you have any queries, you are welcome to contact our Customer Care team on 1300 882 448, at any time.

Kind regards,

Customer Care

Globalstar Australia Pty Limited

AnswerID: 213395

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 01:51

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 01:51
Thanks for the info, much appreciated

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 473898

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:18

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:18
I wouldnt be bothering with globalstar go for iridium anyway. much better reception
AnswerID: 213581

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:23

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:23
Its a bit late for me to change now...but I have had very few dropouts and I am happy with the service, compared to a few who have posted here. I think globalstar should state on their website about the CDMA issue, as it was one of the factors that convinced me to get the phone and contract that I did.

Maybe they should offer a free replacement handset as the one they are selling now will not meet its consumers expectations.........fat chance

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 473913

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 10:32

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 10:32
yes very true I doubt they will replace them. Do you have an in car antenna? I have one fitted in my vehicle and I get about 90 percent coverage I recieve calls whilst driving along regulary (I divert my mobile to the sat phone on racq tows).
FollowupID: 473923

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 11:17

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 11:17
No I just have the std phone - Although it will work wile driving with my head out the window! (not recommended). I tend to just turn it on at set times to ring the wife and tell her we are still alive, or heaven forbid ring emergency services if something bad happens. I may look into the car kit if I find one cheap, but accessories are generally a bit pricey for these. (I couldn't believe you buy a $2000.00 phone and have to pay extra for a leather cover for it)

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 473926

Reply By: CLC50 - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:41

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:41
Sorry Andrew
I rang Globalstar last week in reference to my Satellite Phone & CDMA,purchased last March 2006,They stated no help on change over,
they also they said they will be contacting all account Holders,if there are any changes.
Well I wonder if they are going to give you the $40 allowed for CDMA calls of your Acc LOL
I received the Government Rebate, but had to go a Plan $70 per month ,with $40 free calls CDMA. Will Caught Again.
AnswerID: 213634