Vehicle Choice
Submitted: Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:11
red up
I am planning a trip around Australia for 6-12 months and don’t have a car that I would be happy to drive down lengthy unsealed roads that will take it’s tole on the car.
Am I really going to miss a lot of things on my trip around or is they plenty to see and experience without needing a car that can handle a tougher trip?
Every $ counts as I am on a tight budget.
Hope someone can help.
Reply By: 666toy - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:25
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:25
mq or gq patrol depending on your funds or a landcruser 60-80 series.
Both of these vehicles will take you anyware you want to go.
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:37
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:37
The GQ would be a good option.....so many to choose from and at good prices, they rattle like ball berings on a tin roof but not a reliability problem, just can be annoying. Having owned a GQ it had a couple of issues but NOT once did it stop, was always able to do a patch up on the road side to get
home ect.
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 19:05
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 19:05
I agree, you get great bang for your buck with a Diesel GQ.......
Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:36
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:36
In my opinion you will have plenty to see and do without leaving the bitumen or at least graded gravel. (Without knowing your interests!) Almost every town has a tourist info office and will point you in the right direction. There are a few
places you might not get to but most of them will have local tours anyway. Treat the trip as a recce and talk to people on the way - if, after this, you reckon you really need a 4WD, save up and buy one for a second or third trip.
It seems only the city folk reckon you need a 4WD to go outside the city limits!!! The locals get by with cars and utes.
Follow Up By: mowing - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:44
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:44
Funny that!
When we lived in the bush I took my employers VN Commodore across a river (twice -I had to get back) ended up with a big dent in the sump and the motor having to be pulled out... ouch
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 17:52
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 17:52
Red, it depends on your interests and how much you wish to stretch the budget.
If you have a reliable 2wd, you will see a lot and have a good time. If you get a reliable 4wd (GQ Nissan, 60 or 80 Series Toyota; 80 would be better, but will cost a bit more, or even a ute like Hilux, Rodeo, etc) you will see even more and have an even better time.
Example; Across the
Kimberley area of WA, there is plenty too see that is accessable from the bitumen, but you could not access the Bungle Bungles,
El Questro or any of the wonderful
places along the
Gibb River Road and a lot more.
Another advantage of a 4WD is that it has more room and load carrying capacity. Might solve your problem on the other thread (trailer or roof top capsule). A Hilux (or similar) with a canopy can carry a lot of stuff, though we easily fill ours and tow a camper trailer as
well!!!.
Either way, you will have a great trip. Let your budget and interests make the choice. Lifes pretty long (hopefully), so if you are relatively
young, there will be other times and other trips anyway.
By the way, I assume you will set yourself up for camping. There are heaps of great
free camp spots around this country. Just look after them and they are there for you to use and enjoy for free (or quite cheap in National Parks etc)
Plenty of opportunities to pick up work as you get around. Up North in the winter, they can never get enough workers.
Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 20:26
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 20:26
Have a look at a Mitsubishi DELICA
They are an import from Japan, based on a PAJERO chassis and all running gear and very comfortable to drive on tar or dirt roads.
They are a 7
seat vehicle so you can just remove the seats you don’t need and you have plenty of luggage space.
Their 2.8Lt Turbo Diesel 4 cyl, motor is responsive and economical @~10Lt per 100 Klms.
Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 22:43
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 22:43
Heaps to see & do via the tar roads but having spent so much in time & fuel to travel around Oz it would be very dissapointing to get to within one or two kilometres of so many great attractions yet be stopped by a car that wont make it. To be honest a 1/4 of the
Grey army and most of the backpackers travelling Oz do so in 2WD cars & vans & they don't appear to be too worried about what they may be missing.
Cheers Craig..................
Reply By: bloodbox67 - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 00:00
Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 00:00
Gday All,
In about 6 months time the missus and I will be off on our trip. I have a 67 ex army Landrover ambulance. Just spent the last few months restoring her, compelete with crosses,
beacon etc. As long as you have the right spares and
tools there is no stopping. The old girl is noisey, hot and bloody hard to drive compared to new cars. But thats the beuty of it . I don't plan on taking it off road , maybe short side trips, but I still think there is plenty to see. Not so worried about seeing everything, I think a lot of
places have become so commercialised I might as
well have stayed and
home watched TV on them.I think it's about the freedom of the road, not the list. Plenty to see....
paul
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 10:24
Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 10:24
What accomodation are using, if your not towing and travelling alone and won't be needing a big 4x4 and as you said $$$$ count then I would most certainly be looking at the Suzuki Jimny, A lot of 4x4 owners will scoff and choke at my suggestion but these little buggers will go where Nissans and Landcruiser fear to tread, are econical and reliable,work your way to through the website to JIMNY at Suzuki's site
www.suzuki.com.au/index_flash.asp
Site Link
Doug
Follow Up By: red up - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 13:50
Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 13:50
I have a tent and there are 2 of us traveling.
Will have a look at those cheers.
May not have enough space for 2 of us.
First time using this site and amazed at all the help and response.
Have high lighted a lot things that will help me out cheers.