Short Shockies For Trailer ???

Submitted: Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 01:28
ThreadID: 41133 Views:13588 Replies:14 FollowUps:14
Hi Folks,

Am in the middle of consuming large amounts of alcohol on our one day off and because ourinternet connect has been crap for the last 2 weeks I am seizing the opportumnity to acces this site and ask the following question so don't laughif it sounds like I have lost my grip on rreality.

My new offroad trailer has leaf springs. It needs shockies to reduce travel damage to all the stuff I put in it.

There is only about 8 inches between the axle and the underside of the trailer floor. Do we locate pygmie shockies to go in there or do we slant normal length shockies and hope for the best ? What about front end struts off a small car like a suzuki perhaps ?

Any idea greatly appreciated.

PS: Booze is really cheap here. I am in the middle of a bottle of Jim Beam ( 1 litre not the Oz standard 750ml) and it cost me USD$ 14 = AUD$ 18 ?? --- Nice :-))))

Cheers ... Taz

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 04:37

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 04:37
Taz,
I can't give you any info on the shockers but I have a set of shockers I had on my Prado 99 model on the back for about 2 months, they are peddars, nothing wrong with them and going cheap. I am at work at the moment and will be home in about 4 or 5 days so drop me a line if your interested, they are hanging around my shed collecting dust.

Enjoy the Bourbon mate

Peter.
AnswerID: 214844

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:21

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:21
Thanks for the offer Peter but I still have the set I took of my Prado when I had the OME fitted. Problem is that I doubt there is room to put them on.

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 475116

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:29

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:29
G'Day Taz,

When I asked this of our local trailer guy he suggested small shocks of the Moris Minor variety, (new not second hand!).

The aim being to keep them as upright as possible

rolande
AnswerID: 214850

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:43

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:43
Rolande,

I had the same thought but now I am wondering if they would be sufficient to stop a 1 ton + trailer from bouncing without foaming / overheating too quickly ????

Thanks for your input.

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 475120

Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 08:06

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 08:06
G'Day Taz,

No easy answer I'm afraid, but the most important thing in my opinion is to make certain the srings are not under or over rated for the amount of weight you are carrying.

If the springs are matched to the weight then the shocks should be fine, alternately you could just fit some of those rubber "helpers", they look like longer bump stops and will help compression, leaving the springs to control rebound

They should work the same but be easier to fit than shocks. The secret to springs is the longer the better, AL-KO now make 900mm trailer springs compared to the usual 550-600mm springs fitted to most trailers

Rolande
FollowupID: 475126

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:52

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:52
Taz,

Have a look at my rig profile, The shockies are slightly off 90 degrees. You may need to do this to get the shocks to fit properly.

If we all give you our address can you parcel post some bottles over here for us to give you a toast.

AnswerID: 214855

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:39

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:39
Kev,

Very nice. Does this set up work well for you ? I love the concept and it will be the easiest to install but the thought crossed my mind that when the leaf springs are articulating there could be a conflict of angles placing undue stress on the shocky as it compresses ... you don't hear any tortured screams of metal coming from behind you as you drive do you ?

By the way, you and I must be the only guys on this site to own 8 x 5 offroad trailers. Must be the kids. I have a standard 6x4 box as well but there is no way I could come close to fitting all our gear in it - perhaps if I painted it blue and put a little light on top I might be able to create a Tardis effect .... lol.

When I get home in Feb I will do some more work on mine. Need to build a small shelving system to store kit in. I also need to move as much weight as possible to the rear of the trailer to: 1. Force the suspension to work more and 2. reduce some of the towball weight .

Thanks for sharing.

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 475119

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 11:51

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 11:51
Taz,

The shifting of gear towards the back is required on mine also as if I have all the jerries full I have effectively 180L in front of the axle.
The suspension cost about $2k and that was below retail. The trailer rides smoothly along all surfaces at any speed.

As for having an 8' x 5' offroad trailer I'm of the opinion if I can tow a big trailer fully load to all areas that I want to go then I'll do it.

I use Space Cases to store my gear in the trailer as they are Water and Dust proof (as we both know from our occupation). I can fit 4 that are 1100 x 550 x 550 across the width with room down one side for two others. So all up I can fit 6 large space case in it with room for a chainsaw size box at the rear.

FollowupID: 475179

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:56

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 06:56
One block that used to be in our fishing club used shockies from the seats out of trucks and they were only about 200 mm long. He did plenty of miles and his rig was fantastic to tow.

Some truckies on here maybe able to help with more onfo on these shockies.

AnswerID: 214856

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:49

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:49
Brian,

Sounds like a cunning option however like the morris minor shocky theory I am wondering how long they would work for before they started foaming and overheating.

Having been a truck driver in a past life I know where I can get some if I need some. I will investigate further when I get home.

Thanks for your input.

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 475123

Reply By: On Patrol - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:07

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:07
Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan
ALKO used to make a 4wd / off road trailer shock that was fairly short. Check with Cavalier Camper trailers. 7 Whyalla Street, Fyshwick, ACT 2609. They can possibly get them for you.

Keep the cheap headache mate. I'm more a VB man.

On Patrol
AnswerID: 214860

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:19

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:19
They better be able to help ... they're the ones that built my trailer.

Didn't know they were in the shockie market. Thanks for the tip

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 475115

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:59

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 07:59
Go to your local car parts place and ask for the front shocks for an early Torana, they are short, have eye's both ends to take a HT bolt as a mount (7/16" from memory)
I just put another crossmember in between the chassis rails to take a piece of 50mm C section as the top mount, the bottom mount is a bolt with the head welded directly to the 40mm axle. They last for years as long as you protect them from rocks with a rubber flap. I've been using them on Cub supamatic for nearly 20 years, replaced once.
If anyone gets desperate I might be able to crawl under the camper for a part number, they are a Monroe shock.
AnswerID: 214863

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 08:49

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 08:49
Hi Peter,

Without wanting you to crawl under your trailer with a measuring tape can you provide an approximate length of the shockies ? I am leaning toward using them as you and Kev have suggested but I would prefer small ones so that I can have them as vertical as possible. Torana parts should be relatively easy to get hold of or are they becoming rare as they approach Classic Car status ?

Thanks for your suggestion.

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 475134

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:29

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 09:29
Measurements off the shocks in situ aren't much good but they are prettys short when compressed, less than 300mm, 250 something from memory.
I will get the part number but not really interested in pulling them off ;-))
FollowupID: 475138

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:20

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:20
I crawled under! I'd reckon they are about 200mm compressed and 300 maybe abit more extended, Made in Australia Monroe Wylie p/n 110-880 other numbers on it are D 14E943 which I don't think are too relevant.
FollowupID: 475154

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:32

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:32
Taz

You are getting some practical advice, but in case you need another lead Camex have some for caravans. www.camec.com.au/

Section 40, page 4 for what its worth.

Max
AnswerID: 214888

Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:51

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 10:51
Trailer shock mounting kits are available. You go
for some info.
You can also go the the Monroe web site
for the different kits available and how to correctly install shocks to a trailer.
AnswerID: 214891

Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 11:07

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 11:07
Try again

Trailer shock mounting kits are available. You go
Here for some info.
You can also go the the Monroe web site Here
for the different kits available and how to correctly install shocks to a trailer.
AnswerID: 214893

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:50

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:50
I like the look of that. Nice and simple and fairly cheap to replicate especially if there is room between the tyre and the trailer body for my old Prado shocks.

Now all I have to do is wait 34 days till I get home and then I can go to work on fitting them.

Thanks for the link Chris
FollowupID: 475272

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 14:12

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 14:12
Slant mounted shocks . The effect of slant mounting is simple if you use vectors . Start with a vertical mount ; 100% of the shock absorber effect is in the plane we are interested in , vertical . Slant the shock absorber from the vertical and we have two vectors , one vertical , one horizontal [ the horizontal vector is measured from vertically above the lower mount along the horizontal to the new upper mount ]. If the horizontal vector is , say , 10% of the length of the vertical vector , then 10% of the capacity of the the shock absorber can be considered to operate in the horizontal plane , and 90% in the vertical plane . So the shock absorber has to be increased in capacity by 10% to do the same job in the vertical plane as the vertically mounted shock . By measuring the distance between the lower and the new upper mounts we can determine the length of the shock absorber . By measuring the weight of the trailer at the wheels , and increasing that weight by the percentage ammount required by the slant mounting , we can determine the correct weight capacity for the shock absorber . We can determine length of stroke by loading and unloading the suspension and then we only have to decide on soft/hard rating . Or we could just mount any shock in any position knowing that some effect is better than no effect.
AnswerID: 214908

Reply By: Moggs - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 14:18

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 14:18
Why not just put rebounders on the leaf springs??? - has worked well for me in every offroad trailer I have owned.

I was under the impression that unless you can get the shockies vertical they are next to useless. Anyway, this thread has made for some informative and interesting reading.
AnswerID: 214911

Follow Up By: Polaris - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 15:22

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 15:22
>

Not really Moggs.

There are very few vehicles on the road that have the rear shocks vertical.
Have a look under the rear of most 4x4's and you will see what I mean.

A 4x4 F-150 that we owned had the rear shocks really layed over - standard!

I mounted a pair of eye/eye shocks under our offroad camper trailer (on Hilux leaves) at about 45 degrees and they worked fine - much better than no shocks. Took all the bounce out of it.

Most motorcycles also have the rear shocks really layed over - especially MX and Enduro bikes, and these type of suspension are second to none!

Tuco
FollowupID: 475220

Reply By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:57

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 19:57
Hi Folks,

Thanks for the suggestions and links. I think I have decided on a simple and relatively cheap solution based on the advice I have received from you guys.

And in case you were wondering ... no I don't have a hangover. Just a bit dehydrated from sleeping with the heater on as its -15 outside.

34 days to go ... See you soon.

Cheers ... Taz
AnswerID: 214985

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 20:16

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 20:16
You obviously did not drink enough. LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 475276

Follow Up By: Sarg - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 21:35

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 21:35
What about a spring over adjustable type similar to that used on the rear of offroad motor bikes?
FollowupID: 475299

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 22:16

Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 22:16
Gday Taz. Alko shocks mate, thats what your after i reckon. Not a bad little unit. The keep our Jayco dove settled a fair bit.
We got replamement ones from a caravan store here in Perth, so really, any old caravan shop should have them.
Just measure your lengths and take the measurements in with ya, and away you go.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 215007

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 19:54

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 19:54
G'day Taz & Milka,

You say your new off road trailer has Leaf Springs and you want to reduce travel damage to all the stuff you put in it.
Mate! forget it it is a waste of money IMHO, either get better leaves or add one or two but you will not stop the travel damage. Another way is to pack everything in boxes with lids and tie them down.

As I said don't waste your money on shockies, we did 7,000 klms with the shockies on and 7,000 without them no difference, it is the way you pack your load!

andy
AnswerID: 216233