Willem
Sounds like something you hear at a Board Meeting...lol
Have done around 500km with the new tyres
1. Yep they are pretty noisy on the bitument at 40psi
2. They ride pretty good on gravel roads at 25psi
3. They are pretty awesome in the real rough cross country stuff. I drove up and down a long incline littered with schist shale and they handled it with ease. Also drove up a creekbed in 2wd and only started digging in when pushed in really soft soil
Still have to find some real sand somewhere, drop them down to 15psi and see how they perform. Not expecting to get more than 35,000 kilometres from them but at $180 each including MRF tube, they are a good deal.
And the sidewalls are about an inch thick!!!!
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 00:39
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 00:39
Hi Willem
I am trying to stay out of trouble LOL
but have a read if this Site Link
I know it's hes opinion..
Have had a reply saying this..
the reason CAT run steel tracks ???
Have fun
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:09
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:09
sorry mate but thats just a joke from someone with no idea - Yes I hae pulled off a split rim from a rear wheel carrier actually just today - maybe yor 12 year old daughter would struggle but i didnt. The proof was his raving about 6 ply 15 inch tyres - you wouldnt get off the bitumen with those certainly i used to pop them with regularity until i saw the light. My mrf super traction are now retired due to complete baldness but even below legal tread limits their punctur resistance was light years ahad of even the much vaunted goodyear MTR and even further ahead of the rest
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:17
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:17
sorry and as for safety those stories about peple splatterd on cilings I have seen the safety alerts for them and without exeption hey are heavy earthmoving tyres. When re inflating splitrims out in the fielsd you chuck them under the passenger ide of the ute where there ae no brake- fuel lines, still never seen one pop off but evenif it did all is safe, guty writing the report has no idea
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 06:42
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 06:42
I have a Saftey Harness for the inflation /reseating of split rims in the trader. It is 2 straps that fully restrains the tyre for inflation and prevents the split rims from flying to far. But even though I use one I still put it under the vehicle for inflation. I have seen a Unimog split rim let go on a road trip and the damage done was that great that the Unimog had to be towed on a flat bed until we got to our destination so that the greasers could effect repairs.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 08:26
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 08:26
Hello Richard
Yup, its his opinion.
I bumped into him on the CSR last year. I said G'day but he ignored me. Only after he had driven off did I realise who he was. He used to frequent this
forum some years ago. I have corrresponded with him in the past. Have not met him personally but a good friend of
mine knows him
well and the view of his demeanor is not too complimentary.
I have driven 4bies with split rims for many years and have never had an issue when inflating them after having a flat. As mentioned above the phenomena of rims flying off the bead is related more to heavy equipment or tyre shops who inject high speed air into tyres.
The fella does say in his website that splits are good for mining, pastoral and off track driving and that is basically why I have gone back to them. I simply cannot afford to throw away $350 tyres four at a time.
This fella also drives a Ford and runs Coopers...pet hates of
mine..LOL
OK You are not trying to stir....just being mischievous...:-D
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 10:56
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 10:56
I have to agree with Jol. And I respect him immensely - anyone who's quadraplegic and runs a 4wd tour company as volunteers for VKS is pretty good IMO.
I ran splits on my first 3 Landcruisers and got very good at repairing punctures and stuffed tubes - would have averaged about 6 per year.
Last 6 years I've been running tubeless, and have staked 2 tyres in 6 years. And I don't run Coopers :-)) And I do a lot of trips.
Just my experience!
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 00:33
Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 00:33
Here we go................ Honest Johns opinion again...lol
We are talking about an opinion about split rims and not what someone has achieved in their lives. I cannot see the correlation between the two.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 10:47
Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 10:47
Gee Willem,
I'd hate to see Experience and Opinions get confused :-)))
Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:04
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:04
You'll never look back mate. Cheesecutter rags are the way to go.
Great shot of the moggie too. Wouldn't want to bump into her whilst taking a quiet dump.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 08:30
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 08:30
Hi V8
Yeah if you run into trouble in Game Reserve when the call of nature comes along you may be in chit street...lol
How is your leg coming along. Any improvement yet?
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 12:02
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 12:02
If I saw that kitten I think I'd have 'soiled' my tweeds anyway;-)))
I have the highest respect for the warrior cats. Their armoury, reflexes and cunning make them the
pinnacle of the animal world for me. Watched a doco on tigers that had adapted to swimming to catch their prey. You can't run, climb a tree, jump in the river or out swim them......scary critters alright and to make matters worse they will patiently lie in wait and ambush you. Hrrrrgghhhhh......
After watching the Dakar rally I'm developing a worrying urge to visit Africa. Daktari was my favourite movie as a kid so the bug has bitten me
well and truly I think. Even went out a for dinner at an African Steakhouse on Thursday hahaha. Boerwors with monkey gland sauce......mmmmmm
The leg is still cactus rootus. No improvement unfortunately, but I'm adapting to it much better over time. I can now drive my manual Cruiser using a leg brace if I sit close to the wheel and I get in to the vehicle (it's lifted) by hooking my fingers into the roof channel and swinging in backwards. Second nature now. Even got a sock putter-onnerer machine that works a treat so I'm fully self sufficient nowdays. Biggest concern for travel is changing flats as I have a Kaymar wheel carrier and it's quite a lift even for a fit bloke. Sort of wish I had the orignal Toyota wind up unit again.
Something will happen.
Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:51
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 01:51
Yup, Willem, as soon as I run out these 275/16 "fancy town tyres" ( They were on it when I bought it) I'm going back to splits 'n 10 ply crossplys (minimum).
Prolly get better fuel figures too!
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 08:39
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 08:39
Hi Bilbo
You going prospecting this year again? If so then the splits may have to go on sooner...:-D
I had a look at a prospectors GQ at Meeka last year. It was shod with MRF's. I have also seen another Chinese tyre on a prospectors truck...Ching Ping something..not sure. Apparently they are quite cheap to buy and are very rugged...16ply I think.
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 11:20
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 11:20
G'day Bilbo, from memory you work the areas I used to frequent, and we all found that splits and rags were most certainly the way to go.
I reckon you'll have a barrel of fun with the mighty 6.5 V8 in 2WD mode on them cheesecutters too - broggies and rooster tails everywhere! Getting exited just thinking about haha. You'd better watch out your rig doesn't get confiscated under those new anti-hoon laws.
Cue up Benny
Hill on the stereo........
"they called him Billllll......booooooooooo
and he drove the fastest bush-basher in the west"
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 10:36
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 10:36
NANKANG i think the name you are after.....I have a set on my GQ and so far have done 3000 km . I have done a few hundred in the Sunrasier Desert at Christmas time and was quite happy with the performance..On the bitumen they steer straight down the road and are a little noisy..
Reply By: markeaust - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 11:05
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 11:05
I used to run Good Year Custom Extra Grip (Hi-Milers) on my old short wheel base many years ago. These were rag/crosplies 7.50x16's and they used to do about 70k km on the bitumen. Never had a
puncture in the mountains, only one when I picked up a nail in the city. They took me everywhere (perhaps with the exception of pure cross country like you Willem).
I recently made some enquiries about these and there a a couple of
places that said they could get them for me, but they were quite expensive from memory and I can't remember what pliy the sidewalls were.
I too stick with the old 7.50 x 16 'Telstra Tyres'....suit me at the price I get them for and never had a problem with split rims and personally can't see the point of wide tyres other than look good in the city.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 15:02
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 15:02
Mark,
I ran the Himilers too on my old 55 series. You could get them in 6 and 8 ply. The 6 ply were easily punctured by stones in the tread; the 8-ply were much better. Only other complaint with them was they got a flat spot on the bottom when parked overnight, and were a bit bumpy in the morning until they warmed up :-))
Reply By: Bob Creasy - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 11:21
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 11:21
I have been running MRF super traction for over 12 months now they are a better tyre than the 16 ply Chinese tyres only one
puncture and the tyre was not ruined still sorting out pressure
regards Bob
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 12:17
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 12:17
Hey Bob, ever been around Bogada
Bore area? You wouldn't happen to drive that Hi-Lux with the Yamaha 80 on the back by any chance?
Follow Up By: Bob Creasy - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 17:24
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 17:24
Bogada yes, hilux retired many years ago
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:58
Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 at 20:58
Hahaha...small world! Must be 13 or 14 years ago now. I was doing fieldie work for Mark at the time on an old RAB rig with Geochemex. Cooked you a chicken curry one night from memory when you were passing through and dropped in. Glad to hear that your Hilux and Mark's Lancruiser have both headed to greener pastures - certainly earned their keep those two.
Dono
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:41
Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 11:41
try 28 psi - gives a softer ride without bagging out
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 21:56
Sunday, Jan 14, 2007 at 21:56
Willem
got up this morning to fined a flat left rear... Troopy on a bit of a lean..;-)
changed the wheel & got her back up straight..
striped the wheel found a small split in the tube, this is the second time this has happen on this set of tyres and tubes, the set from the factory no problems (except for in some peoples eyes only getting 46000 km on them.
second set the same tyres but Korean tube... I can see the argument about having tube's that don't last as long as the tyre...LOL
PS.. that now my third split I have done all by myself (time for a career change) and it is much easier the a tubeless wheel me thinks, 40 oC in the west small hangover no problems..LOL
Reply By: kimprado - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:53
Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 18:53
Gidday Chairman,
Where did you buy them?
I think you'll find that 35,000K's is an under estimate.
Kim
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 20:36
Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 20:36
Bouht 'em locally
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:09
Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:09
Who gives a flyin toss about offroad, what are they like on dairy products?
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:33
Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:33
The older you get the less sense you make...lol
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:34
Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:34
Well arent they cheese cutters?
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:44
Monday, Jan 15, 2007 at 21:44
Hahahahaha! I want some of the same what you are on