Creb Track Rollover

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 17:33
ThreadID: 41473 Views:5165 Replies:23 FollowUps:27
I crawled out of bed at 4am and left Cairns to do the Creb Track through the Daintree. The bloke with me does it on mtorbikes so we knew the track was in good nick with no rain landed, or so we thought.
The track was moist but not slippery and was very peaceful for a Sunday. We got most of the way through and on a steep incline came across a late model Patrol on its roof with 4 young blokes sitting around it. It was in a cutting with the track completely blocked, which then meant i had to go back the way i had come. Pretty disappointed.
They were fairly quiet as expected and we had to pump them for info.The driver told us the had been there over night. They were doing the track in what they said were overcast conditions on a dry track when a heavy shower of rain came through and made the red clay hills slippery as. He said they lost traction, gathered speed, hit the embankment and hit the roof. One of them then said there was also another family stuck further up the hill who had slid off. A tow truck was going to come and get them" when they can get in".We made sure the lads had food and water and went up to speak to the family who happened to be in a hilux. They were bleep off to say the least.
The truth then came out. The hilux had been following the Patrol up hill at a very safe distance. Everytime the Patrol got a little sideways the driver braked and came to a stop. Hilux driver saw Patrol driver did not have any idea and got right out of his way. The patrol stopped and started several times and finally got mobile enough to do an accidental 180 degree turn on the spot. The Patrol came down the hill , saw the Hilux who was parked off to one side, panicked and once again braked which put him into a slide. The Patrol makes contact with the hilux sending the hilux off the track into a silt drain and sits it only two metres from a drop off straight down in to a steep ravine. The hilux is now bogged with minor damage and can not move as he could slip down further. The Patrol is now on a steeper incline under full brakes and he cannot stop the vehicle. He slides ( sometimes straight, sometimes sideways) for 200 -250 metres into the embankments and finally hits a whooo boy (speed hump) gets airborne, hits the side of the cutting and hits the roof. Family radios police to notify, but police can not get in and probably dont want to after they are told no one was badly hurt..
Result: 24 hours later and counting, one family on a longer than anticipated picnic and 4 young fellas without a ride.
We were stuck half way up the hill behind the patrol so could not help either of them.

I can not post photos so if any one else wants to, give your e mail an i'll send them to you. Very good pics.

P.S. The Patrol was a 3.0 litre,the spot lights were Lightforce and he had OME suspension. He obviously had not read the tyre posts, because they were crap and i apologise for not checking out his fridge set up.

Cheers Dave

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 17:42

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 17:42
Must've been the fridge that caused it ... ughg.

Anyways, you can email andrew at vividadventures dot com dot au and I'll postem for ya.

Andrew.
AnswerID: 216868

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:06

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:06
Dave's a slow poster fighting some IT problems ... he might want to add some verbage to them, but here they are:

Poor bugger Dave - I've just worked out, your file names had capitals, so what I told you would work wouldn't ... apologies.

At least they had a nice view, it appears?

Andrew.
FollowupID: 477374

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:13

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:13
Onya Andrew. That Bonz fella, would'nt know a 'puter if he tripped over it. Probably off having a Nanna nap :)))
FollowupID: 477375

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:54

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:54
Andrew,
Thanks mate.
Photo 1: Looking from my vehicle downhill.
2: Looking uphill from Patrol towards Hilux. Hilux is 200- 250 metres away
3: Disillusioned owner and me who can not get pass.
4: Innocent Party. Have got really good photos of the Hilux and where it is stuck but it is a business vehicle with name on the door.
5: The track ahead over the Patrol. Look really hard and you can see the other side in the distance
6: Mmm........What now?
7: Storm brewing out to sea between Cairns and Port Douglas

I asked Patrol lad if i could have his spotties since he wouldnt be needing them and he said "For 30 grand their yours".
They were shocked at how quickly it got so slippery and just wanted to get out but unfortunately never had the experience or equipment to pull it off. Hilux driver said he has a friend who years ago got his car stuck in here and it took him 4 and a half months to retrieve it.....I wouldnt doubt it.
We left the Patrol to go up and check on the family and when we came back there was total silence as they all stared at the Patrol. I said " Its not going to get any better the longer you look at it." Nah they say "We were just having a minute silence". They all pi33ed themselves laughing.
The Patrol was full of heaps of sheit inside and we asked if anyone got hit by anything. One bloke said a bottle of grog come through but luckily missed them, and unfortunately broke......
They were nice blokes who will learn a lot from the experience. Stupid,,, but nice. That could have been me on any number of occasions, but like the rest of you,,,,I've changed.
They were also travelling with another vehicle who was further in front, but they got out without major incident.
FollowupID: 477382

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 06:53

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 06:53
hahahaha i was almost in bed when the note came thru Gramps, I hope you rememberered what it was u were wanting

FollowupID: 477398

Follow Up By: Grungle - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 08:31

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 08:31
We came across a Hilux on its side on the track to Roaring Meg Falls when we were up there in 2002. Belonged to a large Camping store and he just took some wierd arse line to put it over. We were there scratching our heads trying to figure how anyone could do it as it wasn't that bad a section of track. We winched them over and then sent then on their way.

I can vouch though that it was slippery for us on the sections that DaveNQ1 describes. We had rain the night before and it was real greasy. Tyres and pressures make all the difference though.

FollowupID: 477409

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:05

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:05
Gr8 story Dave, like to see the pics, I will link them into this post if u send em to me bonzinc at iprimus dot com dot au

GWBonz

AnswerID: 216872

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:41

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:41
C'mon Bonz, hurry up. A man could forget what he was waiting for :)))))
FollowupID: 477372

Reply By: Busy Bee - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:06

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:06
I reckon they'll be walking out as there have been some fairly decent showers this afternoon.
AnswerID: 216873

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:33

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:33
Yeah mate. Was nice this morning but getting worse as the day went on.
FollowupID: 477370

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:12

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:12
He did a 180-degree spin that took him from climbing the hill into descending the hill.

WOW that is impressive.

It must have been slippery as hell for him to achieve that feet, or was he running bald HT tyres or something.

Some picks would be fantastic, as I am having troubble visualising how he managed to do what he did.

AnswerID: 216874

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:32

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:32
Exploder,
When the pictures come through you will see the tread. The pictures don't really show just how steep it is. It blew us away too when we saw where he done the u turn.
FollowupID: 477368

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:28

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:28
I bet it was a Waeco fridge.

Kev

AnswerID: 216877

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:40

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:40
Nope, Kelvinator's are renowned for causing this sort of stuff up!!

FollowupID: 477334

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 19:42

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 19:42
If they had been there all night I guess that all the fridges contents would have been drunk by the time they were rescued.

Kev

FollowupID: 477342

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 20:14

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 20:14
And then some!!

FollowupID: 477344

Reply By: Robin - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:55

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 18:55
Sounds like a real classic Dave

I wouldn't be to hard on them though, when we went up CREB track
from Melbourne we took our road type at tyres because there is
just to much road in between.

However we did take insurance in the form of a set of chains.

Also seen a new patrol roll in a slippery farm paddock due to careless bit
of playing around combined with raised suspension which does nothing
for a cars stability.

AnswerID: 216881

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 19:22

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 19:22
Dave,

I suppose it's lucky that no-one was injured or killed.

We had a similar one down here in 2005 on the Hearne Spur Tk, a semi-local and his mate from o/s were driving around the High Country in an older Troopy and headed up Hearne Spur, presumed to go to Wonnangatta Valley.

The short version is a DSE firespotter located a small fire in the area and sent fire crews to investigate. They found the Troopy rolled and totalled half way down Hearne Spur. They then found the bodies of the two occupants both obviously deceased.

The polcie attended and had the vehicle mechanically inspected - nothing found wrong with the vehicle. They could only guess at lost of traction (dry, shaly track in this spot) or wrong gear with the driver dumping the clutch on the steep pinch.

The long story being too graphic for this forum but it's a reminder to all to be aware of their capabilities and that of their vehicle.

Tim - Stratford.
AnswerID: 216884

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:11

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:11
Tim,
Good point. I am a firie myself and have seen smaller accidents than this with the consequences much greater. I think they all realised just how lucky they were. The family in the hilux were also very lucky.
FollowupID: 477386

Reply By: On Patrol - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 20:24

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 20:24
Good post Dave
There is always someone with more car than they can handle.

If you still are offering the pics mate, my e-mail is

rencol at bigpond . net . au

That would be great Dave as I am going up that way in May.
AnswerID: 216888

Reply By: balko - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:19

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:19
Every one,s a expert till it happens to them. Then all they do is blame someone or some thing else. I've driven trucks and trailers for nineteen years with not even a rear ender . But last easter had a 5 kph roll over in the hilux going down hill. Been down before and been down after no probs bottom line is we all make mistakes and thats how we learn. its lucky they are four young blokes so now they have plenty of time to put into practice what they have learned . It did me my wife hasn,t been 4wd with me since easter. Cheers Balko
AnswerID: 216897

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:58

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:58
Very true Balko.
We were travelling on a flat slippery track on the Nullabor, and the vehicle in front of me touched the edge of a wombat hole at slow speed, slid sideways, rear tyre came off rim, and quietly flipped onto its side. It was an eye opener as to how easy a 4wd can flip
FollowupID: 477359

Reply By: Voxson - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:22

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:22
I would love a look...
gqpatrolatbigponddotnetdotau
AnswerID: 216898

Reply By: Stiphodon - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:44

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:44
I'd definitely like a look! aksel.thuesen @ jcu. edu. au
AnswerID: 216903

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:59

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 21:59
Love to see them

sgunderson67 at optusnet dot com dot au

AnswerID: 216905

Follow Up By: Angler - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:21

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:21
Would love to see them also.
gu2u2 at hotmail dot com

Pooley
FollowupID: 477365

Reply By: keepingitreal - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:02

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:02
Share em around fellas'
AnswerID: 216906

Reply By: DaveNQ1 - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:27

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:27
Sorry about the delay. Computer dramas (or operator error). Have posted to Bonz and Andrew so hopefully they will share with the forum.

AnswerID: 216913

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:26

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:26
Good pics Dave. See what you mean about the tread and 180 turn :)))))
FollowupID: 477378

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:46

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:46
Mate,

Keen for a look at the pictures....

rappat at iinet dot net dot au
AnswerID: 216915

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:04

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:04
Online now
FollowupID: 477384

Reply By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:56

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 22:56
Please forward photos. About to do Cape this year and will possibly passing through to do the treck. thanks Twintrail(W.A)
AnswerID: 216919

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:05

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:05
Online now
FollowupID: 477385

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:20

Sunday, Jan 21, 2007 at 23:20
Dave I've been on the track while it was raining once, (three days) not nice at all, this was in the old Datsun 720, had a set of chains on the rear wheels (you can she her in my rig pics) I dont think we would have made it with out them.

Not a nice place to be in the rain, you have to be careful where you that a leak as not to tread in it and slide all the way to the bottom.... LOL

Not a good way to spend a weekend

AnswerID: 216922

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:03

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:03
Richard,
The bloke with me once got stuck in there for 2 days, and they were on motorbikes so had no protection. He reckons they were too cold to get hungry, but they had plenty of water to drink. :>)

FollowupID: 477383

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:35

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 00:35
Been there done that. Chit happens when you lose concentration.....lol

And no one had a winch to rescue the vehicles?

AnswerID: 216938

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 06:56

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 06:56
thinkin the same myself Willem I reckon I could have got the thing back on its wheels but you'd need a denet tree or three to winch off

FollowupID: 477399

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 08:54

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 08:54
we had a handwinch but the trees were too far away. Even if i had a winch on my vehicle i would not have used it. The hill towards me was too steep and directly behind me drops off again.
Call me soft......but i had visions of that Patrol doing what it did to the Hilux.
Once we knew we had to turn around and go all the way back, we didnt waste any time as the weather looked to be closing in. A Unimog was supposed to be on its way and i think Patrol lad was happy to wait for that.

FollowupID: 477413

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:28

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:28
yer I reckoned the trees would be too far away and you have to have your vehicle safe before attempting a recovery like that. I wasnt judging you Dave, at all, just wondered and as soon as I hit the send key the tree scenario dawned, sorry if u took it that way mate.

FollowupID: 477512

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:25

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:25
No Bonz, i didnt think you were judging me mate.
We drove away, and all the way home kept coming up with scenarios that we could have tried to help them. It was difficult to drive away and we really felt for the family in the hilux as they were the innocent party. Both groups did not really want us to risk our vehicle to get them out. About the only thing we could have done was go all the way back out and come in from the other end of the track to tow the hilux. With the weather closing in we really couldnt stuff around. The Hilux bloke was not far off digging himself a track out and was going to utilise the Patrol mob to ensure it did not slide down the ravine. The Patrol could not be driven anyway so there wasn't much point messing around with it anyway.

FollowupID: 477527

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 09:53

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 09:53
One would wonder if thier insurance will cover this incident ??? be a real tester thats for sure.

I would not like to consider the cost if not insured not just his vehicle but the cost of the other vehicle and loss of income as its a business vehicle but the recovery of both. I wonder if the track was open or marked as closed?

I did part of the Creb track last year and it got rather slippery and I was having trouble with a couple of the climbs, infact I stalled on one of the climbs, so opted to pull out (sook maybe). The only issue I had now was to do a stall start in reverse.

I dropped tyre pressure even further and as I had only done a stall start a couple of times to say I was $hitting myself I can say the slide which was proberly only a couple of feet seemed a lot longer.

Now I stick with places I feel i can do until I can gain LOTS and LOTS of experences.

Would also like to see the other photo's

AnswerID: 216983

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 14:15

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 14:15
Brian,
The track was open and in very good condition with nil ruts. It only opened late last year due to the previous wet and they spent a considerable amount of time and resources doing it up. Parts that are usually very boggy are now filled with rock. Compared to photos i have seen of the track previously, it was like a freeway.

I too would like to know how they would get on, insurance wise.

FollowupID: 477466

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:14

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:14
Is that a SA or Vic number plate on the Nissan? Just checking and not having a poke at our southern brothers.

AnswerID: 217039

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:11

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:11
Vic
FollowupID: 477486

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:13

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:13
Bluddy long way from home! That will ruin any holiday.

FollowupID: 477487

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:26

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:26
If they're from elsewhere, that mud can surprise you. I'm from WA and went down a ferkin steep hill near Mossman after some rain in my old 75 once. Had to slide it down by putting the side bars into the cutting. Even a Stuart tank had problems. That mud's the slipperiest bleep e, and I mean slippery, I've ever encountered.

Go easy on the lads, I can see that happening quite easily (and quickly).

AnswerID: 217045

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:14

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:14
V8,
The lads were from Vic and were amazed at the mud as well. They didnt bog at all, just slipped as you would well know. It is a totally different place on a wet track.
FollowupID: 477488

Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:34

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:34
I am sitting in Mossman just south of the CREB where it is pouring . My guess is that the track will now be impassable for the rest of the wet season which it appears started today.

Kevin
AnswerID: 217067

Reply By: Upstart - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 23:55

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 23:55
I last did the CREB a few years ago in the dry season. We had no dramas at all. I wouldn't be heading up there until after Easter at this rate.
Would love to see the pics too thanks.

capeupstart@aanet.com.au
AnswerID: 217170

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 09:29

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 09:29
Upstart,
Andrew from Vivid Adventures has posted the photos for me. They are up the top of this thread.
FollowupID: 477654