Hi Lift Jack for Trailer wheel change?

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 09:14
ThreadID: 41687 Views:5591 Replies:9 FollowUps:0
Hi group,
I'm looking for some advice on what jack to use when changing a wheel on a camper trailer that we are buying.
The problem I have is that the Jack that comes with our Defender has to go into a hole on the bumper to support it, so would be unsuitable.

Would a Hi Lift jack be worth purchasing and use that on the trailer?
Also would it be safe to use a hi lift jack to change a wheel?

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 09:22

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 09:22
A small bottle jack is all that's required. Hydraulic is best as it only needs a small handle and is easy to store.

AnswerID: 218123

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 09:44

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 09:44
I do have a Hi Lift Jack mounted on my trailer(which is basically for use if I have a problem with the jockey wheel) but have made a space in my GQ for a Trolley Jack which works wonders when needed out bush.

AnswerID: 218126

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 10:31

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 10:31
Have a look at the Trail-A-Mate it might be suitable for your needs.
AnswerID: 218137

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 10:33

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 10:33
Is it possible to weld a suitable 'hole' or socket onto each side of the trailer near the wheels so that the Landrover jack will fit it - saves carrying 2 jacks???
AnswerID: 218139

Reply By: Nick R - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 11:12

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 11:12
I would go the hi-lift personally as they can have many more uses but then that depends on if you are going to put yourself in the situation where you will need it.
as for safety, hi-lifts are not the safest, just don't get under the trailer while it's up, I've not seen one let go.......
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 218150

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 12:34

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 12:34
Hi mate,

It all depends on the camper trailer you have. The hi-lift jack might not be able to jack the trailer if their aren't any solid jacking points readily available. A bottle jack is easy and will always work if you have a nice firm base to jack from. Jacking from the axle works best in my situation, but my bottle jack end has a U clamp on it so the axle should slip off. I would not advise modifying your camper trailer so you can use your defender jack and jack from the front. Only my opinion though, you should do what you think is best.

A HI-Lift jack when used correctly are fantastic and can do several handing things (winching for example) which means I always carry one when doing a big trip. For that alone I have one even though I have an alloy bull bar and can't utilise all it uses. Yeap, Go a hi-lift if the budget allows and a small hyd bottle jack from super cheap or something. It is all added weight and in the end that would be three separate jacks, but you need to be able to change those tyres when they give up the ghost.

Good luck with your trip

AnswerID: 218163

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 15:19

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 15:19
G'day, Pomgonewalkabout,
Man! i always use the Hi-Lift on any of my trailers, campers and caravans. If they don't have mounts on them I put them on or get them fitted. The Hi-Lift is a useful tool!

andy
AnswerID: 218189

Reply By: The Fox - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 21:07

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 21:07
Have used an air bag heaps of times when i had the trak shak. Very easy, plenty of lift.
AnswerID: 218243

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 02:44

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 02:44
hi lifts- fantastic on bogged or hung up vhicles------- crap otherwise. i would test the hi ift as part of the prestart and as soon as the vehicle was 1/2 inh off the ground it would sway. Nearly lost a finger testing out the jacking points on a vehicle that wasnt stuck (thatsanother story)
bottom line is hi lifts are a recovery tool NOT a tyre changing jack
AnswerID: 218290