Mitsubishi Ad

Submitted: Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:52
ThreadID: 41729 Views:1962 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
I'll stand corrected but the ad appears to show the vehicle in several shots going places where there are no formed tracks. Seem to go against the grain of responsible 4wdriving and tread lightly etc.. Yes/No? Sorry I forgot its probably under controlled supervision.

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:01

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:01
I wouldn't complain as Mitsubishi will not be be able to use the excuse that a vehicle was being used inappropriately when you have some sort of failure under warranty when out bush - just point to the ad.

Garry
AnswerID: 218318

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:04

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:04
....'going places where there are no formed tracks'. Gee mate with comments like that your bound to upset a some of the members of this forum who believe that the best track is one that no one else has ever used or travelled. They're the same ones that believe you don't have to follow any rules and beside that 'it's only an offence if you get caught'.
AnswerID: 218319

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 11:05

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 11:05
Some people have to go places where there are no tracks DIO and some people enjoy it. I fall into both categories.

Depends where, and what terrain you're talking about.
FollowupID: 478726

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:22

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:22
DIO,
It sounds like you have never been off road with comments like you have just stated. It is possible to get out into the true remote areas that our great country has to offer. Sure there are people that do go to places that they should not go to, but there are still many places where it is legal to travel, all you have to do is do your homework. True off road people are responsible people, as they want to head back into these remote areas, as well as travel safely through these areas.

If you are looking for a challenge to both vehicle and driver, do your homework and head off to see parts of Australia where it is still possible to travel and to uses our vehicles for what they were made to for.

FollowupID: 478754

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:43

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:43
Dear DIO,

We are sorry that the city traffic is causing you so much frustration.

Time to get out in the bush ... before you go pick up one of Len Beadell's books for some light reading too - you need a bit of good Aussie humour.

Australia's a big place, and it takes a bit of travelling to get there, but there are quite a number of parts where it is legal and enjoyable to tread lightly off-track.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 478789

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:27

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:27
I wouldn't worry too much. Mitsubishi won't be around for long anyway. In Australia last year, they produced just 1/2 the numbers of vehicles they had forecast, and internationally also down heaps....
They figures against the local & internatioal trend.
AnswerID: 218327

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:58

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 10:58
People have been saying that for 10 years...
FollowupID: 478725

Follow Up By: marq - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 12:58

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 12:58
Signman,

If everybody started to buy one particular brand and model of 4wd, the other brands will cease to exist. If that occurs, it's worst for everybody as that company can then charge whatever they like.

I believe different vehicles are suited to different applications.
I have driven Landcuiser Utes (that back breaking fickin' things) and Wagon, Nissan Patrol and a Holden Rodeo, for periods in the past, apart from being a bit smaller the Pajero is able to go where ever the others have taken me previously.
FollowupID: 478747

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:36

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:36
I think it's well done.

All situations are 100% credible, the driving is well done, nicely shot on 35mm, simply scripted, post-production special effects have been kept to a minimum and the locations are stunning. All in all a believeable TVC showing a capable 4x4 doing what it was designed to do.

Brand loyalty aside, this kind of advertising would be far more persuasive in making me consider a product over one of those cheesy, totally implausable, special effects driven kiddies add.

AnswerID: 218381

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:12

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:12
You sound like you have some insider knowledge of the ad :-)

I didn't think that you could drive to Kanagra Walls (is that the name of the cliff in the last shot?).....

FollowupID: 478781

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:31

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:31
No insider knowledge on this one, certainly wish I did.

The shot like that would have the vehicle filmed on a controllable area of similar stone.It would be lit to look its best, cleaned within an inch of its life and then repeatedly driven the last few feet to give the director a wide range of options. A 'plate' shot of the vista would then be filmed or even taken from a still image and the two would be joined together by a clever fellow on an expensive machine to form one 'glossy' image. This is the equivalent to a new model's brochure after all.

It is standard practice to replace the background or at least make the sky 'bluer', the grass greener and remove any ugly buildings and powelines. Most ads do this.

Keeping it 'real' looking is where the discipline comes in.
FollowupID: 478786

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:30

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:30
Could have just been shot in a studio in front of a blue screen... (Moon landings?) And yea, a car that gets the best of a cyclops just makes me wanna get my eye(s) tested... not really buy a brand new 4by, not that i could afford to if i did.
FollowupID: 478800

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:48

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:48
I did the driving for that ad (with the monster).
FollowupID: 478805

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:22

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:22
Well then I failed to see any formed tracks... and erractic driving like that is what will get monster trail closed for eveyone else... :P
FollowupID: 478814

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:14

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:14
Found a pic. Here's the monster shot against bluescreen.......

Good prosthetic work innit. Pretty much what I looked like most mornings too;-)
FollowupID: 478852

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:07

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:07
Unless i'm mistaken, then the beach driving shot is done at Hill Inlet, on Whitehaven Beach in The Whitsundays........Must be a computer generated shot as it is near impossible to get permission to use this area (unless you have a spare $100 million for a certain new movie!), then the beach access to the remote island would be a problem.

AnswerID: 218386

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:11

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:11
Rod,

The current crop of ads for Mitsubishi were shot around Wilpena Pound. When I was there last year they were just leaving the area.

BTW, the current Toyota adds were shot around EL Questro.

AnswerID: 218388