Vietnam Vets on the Road

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 21:46
ThreadID: 41941 Views:1995 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
G'day All,

Having just returned from an extended trip around our beaut country, it was great to meet so many good folks and to be able to take the time to hear their stories.

One thing I noticed was the increasing number of Vietnam Vets travelling around and how many more of them are displaying their decorations in the form of stickers on their vans and cars.

I chatted to a number of them and all have interesting stories. A few commented that the stickers are a good way for them to meet each other and share a few beers and stories. I guess a lot of these guys are reaching retirement, but it is great to see them showing their 'medals' proudly and more and more doing it.

Wear 'em with pride fellas.

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:27

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:27
I don't know how familiar you are with that page in history, but it affected a lot of people, both soldiers and civilians. It tore our society apart, and the treatment of returning Diggers was nothing short of disgusting.
Kids were just marking time until their marble came up. Those who went and those who wouldn't. All the way with LBJ. Run over the $%^&^%ds. Death and destruction for dinner every night on the TV. You number one. The smell of kero and .....

It wasn't so long ago for any Vet.
I'm so pleased to see some pride and appreciation. Finally !!
AnswerID: 219549

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:07

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:07
Footloose,

As a Naval officer and Joint Operations (including military history) instructor, I have read and researched a lot of this fascinating (and often confronting) period in our history. Not that the Americans were entirely to blame for 'dragging' Australia into the war. Our own Government were more than actively involved in our commitment (for a fascinating read on this, try Michael Sexton's book 'War for the Asking: How Australia Invited Itself to Vietnam').

It is a cliche, but true nonetheless, that soldiers don't start wars and our Vietnam Vets did not deserve the treatment they (generally) received. The Australian Defence Force has only really recovered from anti military sentiment and neglect resulting from the war and its aftermath in the last two decades. This is nothing, however, compared to the personal suffering of those involved.

So, as you point out, it is long overdue, but good to see the respect at last.

FollowupID: 480107

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:33

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:33
Matt, have spent many years researching the whole mess. Read so many books that I cant remember which was which. Was Sextons the one with the telegrams with bits censored ?
Another retro read is the editorials of the day.
The whole thing was a mess from the point of view of many people. I'm not so sure that we learned very much. Look at current events.
One thing I have learned is not to trust Govts. As a civilian I can say that :)))
FollowupID: 480115

Reply By: Voxson - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:57

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 22:57
Beautifully said Matt...
AnswerID: 219554

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:23

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:23
To the Sunburnt Ear

Our homeland was carved out by the bushman
Been defended by our heroes at war
We're lucky to have bo.................

Site Link

AnswerID: 219557

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:38

Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:38
"We're lucky to have bo............" ught a house before it became impossible ? LOL
FollowupID: 480117

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 00:31

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 00:31
Matt & Footloose, off topic of EO but I'm curious. I wasn't around during the vietnam war but obviously know a little about it. Do you think there are any similarities between the way the US & Ozzie governments behaved during the vietnam war and their actions with the current war in Iraq? I follow events with current war.

Similarities from what I can see, in a general sense, the Yanks were the initiators for both wars and the Oz government blindly followed like a good little puppy dog without questioning anything. And the civilians and soldiers of all sides suffer where the pollies sit back and try to work out how to spin events to thier advantage so they can win the next election.

Is this the impression you get? If you don't agree then tell me what you think and any other ideas you may have. As I said I wasn't around during Vietnam so I'm interested.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 219566

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 08:25

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 08:25
Barnesy,

A big question, but you would be able to draw many parallels between the Vietnam conflict and current events in Iraq and Afghanistan. Many fundamental differences a well, but always open to interpretation and your own personal view I guess.

As for Australia blindly following the US, again, grab a hold of Michael Sexton's book it is a fascinating read. If you believe Sexton, Australia did anything but follow the US like a blind puppy into Vietnam. Menzies and Hasluck were very active in pushing the US (and hence Aus) into committing ground troops to the conflict. Parallels with Iraq? Well, you really need to make up your own mind on that one.

FollowupID: 480139

Reply By: macca172 - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 16:38

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 16:38
Iraq.....Vietnam revisted, minus the jungle!
AnswerID: 219694

Reply By: growler - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 17:32

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 17:32
Have my ribbon stickers proudly displayed on my 4by-trailer and car.Your rite mate amazing who u meet and talk to when normally u wouldnt even look at them
AnswerID: 219706

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:07

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:07
Hi, Growler ..................
Am interested in the discussions on this thread, particularly following the mentions of 'stickers.'

Not heard of them before ................. can you give me any guidance here?
ie: where to get them, etc...
[I would imagine they must be controlled or regulated by Dept. of Honours and Awards or some such body, to prevent unauthorised use ???]
FollowupID: 480343

Follow Up By: growler - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:14

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:14
Pedro mate,try VVA or Redcliff RSL they should be able to help.No it is not regulated so anyone can buy but it doesnt take long to work out who is a Vet.(mind you i have met a few good liars)if you have trouble getting some call me on
fbasejag@msn.com
When you get show with pride
FollowupID: 480561