SWB Paj returns

Submitted: Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:10
ThreadID: 41997 Views:1837 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Well My Mrs is doing cartwheels at this new model release.

She has a SWB Pajero which is gettin a bit tired, I did a post previously about suitable replacements, as we had even looked at importing one from South Africa, as they werent available here.

The new Paj is avail in 5 door or 3 door, the 3 door being the SWB.

Guess its gonna cost a few $$, shes booked an appt for Sat morning.

She likes the small size but full off road capability with low range and in T diesel too.

she didnt want a big fourbie, as she struggles to park it, so to release a swb again is great news.

Also very good marketing from Mitsibushi, as there isnt really a fair dinkum part time 4x4 in this size avail in t diesel too, so reckon it will be a big hit.

(The x-trail / vitara / CRV / sort of range dont come in diesel.)

To spend $50k we want 500,000kms out of it not 200,000kms like average petrol will do before pulling up. We intend to keep this one for good, so gotta be diesel.

As Mitsibushi is the most Australian car too being the only one with a manufacturing thats manufacturing as opposed to assembly plant here now, shes happy.

Before the Holden brigade rev up, Holden is American, assembled here, and as a pledge to Australia they showed their loyalty by sacking 2000 workers recently, 'proudly Australian' I dont think so.

Guess I'll await the hate mail from petrrol heads and holden owners!! LOL

~chill out its only a vehicle,

Ron

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:20

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:20
Ron, Pajero's aren't built in Oz. They're fully imported.

Holden Commodore is designed and built in Oz.
Ford Falcon is designed and built in Oz.

AnswerID: 219871

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:41

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:41
Not so I'm afraid, built right here,

The commodore was designed by GMC, the parent company, which sold as Omega in uk, half of rear comes from Germany at the Vauxhall/Opel plant, and engine is usa.

How can you call that Aussie,? was never designed here at all, partly assembled yes.

Dont know enough bout Falcon background to comment,

....compared to Mitsibushi which are built here at one of their biggest plants in the world, theyve just invested heaps of millions into it, and now offer a 5year warranty, and 10 year on main items too numerous to list.
Thats why their ad slogan is 'better built, better backed'

and I'm not being biased, my choice of vehicle is a Nissan.

FollowupID: 480462

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:51

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:51
Unless Mitsubishi have renamed their Elizabeth plant "Nagoya" and not told anyone, mine at least was built in Japan.
FollowupID: 480465

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 00:57

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 00:57
Magna/380 built here, but NOT the Pajero. Never was and never will be...
FollowupID: 480643

Reply By: pmacks - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:51

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:51
Great advertorial Ron
i am sure thats Mitsubishi will be pleased
AnswerID: 219881

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 14:05

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 14:05
just send me the $$$
FollowupID: 480468

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 14:20

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 14:20
I don't know where they are built but I know for me to get a new drivers seat it ad to come from Japan.
Jo
AnswerID: 219888

Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 14:42

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 14:42
Sorry mate but Pajeros aren't built in Australia, never have been as far as I know.
AnswerID: 219897

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 15:48

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 15:48
I don't care where they are built but I do think the 3 door would be a great playmate, I for one would love one.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 219917

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 15:58

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 15:58
Agree, I'm not overly fussed where they are built, Mrs wants one, I'm a nissan man myself.

Local dealer and website say built in Aus now, top compact vehicle.

Ron
FollowupID: 480487

Reply By: pickle - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:11

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:11
All Pajeros and Challengers are built in Japan at the Pajero Manufacturing Co. Tritons are built in Thailand! They all come on a boat to our shores.
AnswerID: 219919

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:14

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:14
Mitsubishi has sacked many workers in the last 15 years - 'proudly Australian' I don't think so.

Mitsubishi has been brilliant at extracting government support (read our taxes) from the government to prop up the Magna which no-one wants.

Mitsubishi has been brilliant in the past at failing to do vehicle recalls and was prosecuted heavily for this in Japan. Buses with defective brakes not recalled - many killed.

Model car company, I don't think so.

All of this is not particularly relevent, like your unnecessary attempt to slur Holden or Ford.

If you like a car, buy it. If you think it will be better backed, buy it. If you think it's made in Aus when it's not, who cares?
AnswerID: 219971

Follow Up By: DP - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 21:38

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 21:38
not sacked... made redundant. Payouts have been made available to employees - and quite generous ones at that. Their line now runs on minimum staffing levels more suited to their build rate. How long for is another story...

your beloved Holden too "sacked" 1/3rd of its assembly work force deleting the 3rd shift, and Ford too is in the process of "sacking" it's workers as they too reduce build rates to match their sales...

Only Toyota is currently achieving / exceeding projected sales which is based on their export market... too bad it's Camry / Aurions.

Meanwhile Holden (GM) and Ford now source the majority of their components from O.S. - primarily China based on "worldwide sourcing" programs that are factored purely on price.

All manufacturers ahve their own evils... don't be fooled.

Just my rant - based on 17 years of Tier 1 automotive experience.

on a lighter note - yes I'd love a new Paj shorty too!
FollowupID: 480594

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 07:36

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 07:36
Gerhardp1

Well like I said further up, not really got a care where its made, buts its a fine vehicle and has won australian 4x4 of year 2007 award, and if you want to dispute that....."Who cares" to quote your words.

also my "Attempt to slur holden or ford"

I think you should read my post... where did I slur as you say Ford.

Ford not mentioned in my post at all.

I mentioned Ford further down in a follow up, where I said didnt know enough background to comment on Falcon.

So in summary if youre gonna have a pop, try to at least get your quotes correct in future.

And I agree in total with DP's comments above.
FollowupID: 480651

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 09:21

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 09:21
Try this for an accurate quote, then

"As Mitsibushi is the most Australian car too being the only one with a manufacturing thats manufacturing as opposed to assembly plant here now"

You're supporting a decision to buy a Japanese made car with the above statement - no wonder people take a pop at you. Then you take a shot back from your wobbly platform.

Nowhere did I criticise your choice of vehicle - I actually would buy a Pajero before I would buy a Toyota.

I'm currently looking for something to replace the Jack (which is not a Holden by the way, it's an Isuzu). On the list to consider is the H3, purely because I love the "in ya face" design and the adventure pack with 33" tyres is not available on ANY other make/model. Whether it finishes up having enough good points to overcome the bad is yet to be seen. If the v6 VM Motori diesel is eventually used then it will be a no-contest - 184kw @ 4000, 500nm @ 1800, and Euro 5 compliant and I'll have one in an instant. But until then I think it may be inferior to a Rodeo 4x4 with the just released 3.0 litre diesel in all but style. If it's released with the same engine as the Rodeo, you'd have to ask if the style is worth the price premium.

If I were to buy the Pajero diesel, style would again be an issue - the Pajero is a love it or hate it style, and it has never had me lusting after its looks. It hasn't got a chassis either, but it does have a good engine (nothing cutting edge, though - it's no VM Motori) and it has a good drive train - no common stories about weak diffs as in Toyota's 100 series. I'm pretty sure you could service a brake master cylinder for less than the $5000 needed for a Prado (see a previous post) and you could probably get a set of keys replaced for less than the $2500 Toyota wants if you lose your Prado keys.

As Ron said, no manufacturer is squeaky clean across the board (even if we really knew what that should mean).

So I'll finish with accurate quote #2 - "If you like a car, buy it."

FollowupID: 480673

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 10:19

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 10:19
Wow I m just impressed that someone is interested in buying a Hummer! From what I hear there a heap of *hit but hey if you like the look........
FollowupID: 480683

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 10:48

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 10:48
Hi Stu, do you know someone that has driven them? That would be pretty difficult unless you've been in the US. Otherwise what you hear must be heresy ...oops, that's hearsay. Inadmissible :)

I saw the one at the 4x4 show last year and to me they look great in the flesh. How badly buit they are we'll have to wait and see, since the RHD versions will come out of Africa (sounds like a film :) ) and the LHD ones are built elsewhere as far as I know.

The only innovation is the style, not the underpinnings. But then Toyota and other popular Japanese makers are hardly innovative either. Putting a Corolla diff in the front of the LC100 is not innovative. For a manufacturer it's all about how much profit can be made. If a vehicle is popular, they won't have to discount their prices to where they just make reasonable profits. If a vehicle doesn't sell, they will reduce the price and add more fruit as Mitsubishi especially knows with the Magna. Even though it's arguably better than the cars it chooses to compete with, the buyers don't agree so prices have been reduced and extra fruit goes in, and it still doesn't sell.

With a bit of luck, the Hummer won't sell well, and they'll drop the price and add more fruit so I'll be able to buy one with adventure pack (extra low low range gearing, 33" rubber, diff lock) and VM Motori diesel for $49,999.........

FollowupID: 480689