Jayco jay dove

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:19
ThreadID: 42060 Views:10486 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Hi, I have just purchased an old Jay Dove. Prepared to spend a fair bit of time and money turning into a runabout for the family camping. Can anybody tell me how stop the roof wobbling on the four extendable corner posts when erected??? Do I have to rebush the arms???

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:26
I'm not sure how much movement you're getting but a fair bit is normal in a bit of wind.

We have just sold our 2005 Eagle, and it moved about like mad in strong wind. It was clearly visible whilst lying in bed to see the roof moving about.

I'm not sure I'd be too concerned. It is after all a large roof supported only by four extending poles. They have been around for over 30 years. I've never heard of one collapsing.

ATB,

AnswerID: 220255

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 23:14

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 23:14
G'day Newby,

Yeah! We have a Jayco Dove it does wobble in the wind but from what I have experienced it seems to be normal, it hasn't worried us at all and the only thing I can suggest if it really worries you, is to put some guy ropes on each corner?. As far as setting it up for family camping......well it comes that way already apart from the things like your own power supply, extra water. These were easily fixed with dual 85amp batteries with solar panels and an extra 60 litre water tank. I am only speaking from my experience and ours (new) we bought with an annex, bed-end flys and inner-sprung mattress. We have added and subtracted things along the way, there is not much cupboard space, so plastic boxes with tight fitting lids hold things like clothes, food and bedding. There's only two of us so my wife and I usually put the boxes on the spare bed end or if we want more room inside, have the annex up, put the them out in that.
I think I forgot to say our Dove is the outback
AnswerID: 220281

Reply By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 18:04
I have a 1994 Jayco Eagle. 2 weeks ago it was set up on the edge of Storm Bay in Southern Tassie(my home state). We endured 2 nights of storm force winds across the water and the Eagle survived happily.It did have the annexe up,which stabilises things a lot, but I doubt there would be problems without it....just a bit more movement.I spray the lifting arms with ezy-glide before I close the roof to keep the sliding parts lubed.A quick spray in the sail track along the roof for the bed flys and annexe before I slide the ropes through helps a lot too.Happy camping!
AnswerID: 220434

Reply By: Auntie - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 20:02

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 20:02
G'day Newby. We bought a 1978 Jayco Dove in 1999, and in the past eight years or so we've dragged it round a good part of Australia with no problems. She certainly gets a rock up in a strong wind, but that's where the strength lies. If it was more rigid, I reckon it would fall over! Ours withstood the tail end of a cyclone up the WA coast in 2002 with no damage. Scary though. I got the springs mounted over the axle, and fitted 14 in. light truck tyres, to give a bit more clearance. Also fitted 7 leaf slipper springs. Sits beautifully behind the Explorer. Also welded a bar on the back, and fitted jerry can holders ( for water, not fuel. ) and a pole carrier. Canvas is in very good condition, but I'll be prepared to pay to replace it when the time comes. We ( both in our early 60's), have no trouble putting it up an down in about 15 mins., and plan on keeping it 'til we're past the use by date for travelling ! It's been along the Gibb River Road, and half way up the Kalumburu Road in the Kimberley, plus many other places. The old ones seem to be pretty tough.What vintage is yours ? Wish you all the best with yours. Take Care.
AnswerID: 220461

Follow Up By: Newby - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 22:06

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 22:06
Not too sure of the exact year of manufacture. The rego sticker says 1900 ( I know it couldn't possibly be 1900) but I have seen this on a few older type caravans, so whether they were just stamped 1900 prior to the actual year of manufacture becoming stamped on the compliance plate. Any idea of how I could find out? I have tried looking for a date on the fridge but have had no luck. I will have to brace up the four poles where they come up from the bottom as I suspect the wood weather damaged. I will see what the damage is like and may even replace it with some light gal iron. Anyway I am looking forward to the challenge.
Thanks for your reply.
FollowupID: 481071

Reply By: Auntie - Thursday, Feb 08, 2007 at 10:36

Thursday, Feb 08, 2007 at 10:36
Mine had a compliance sheet in a cupboard from the then State Electricity Commission (Vic.) dated 1979. Plus, where the 240volt cable from the overhead lights comes down in a sleeve in the canvas wall, there should be a sewn in tag showing the year of manufacture of the canvas. Mine states the canvas was made in 1978 in the US of A. It would depend on your internal layout, so just have a good old stickybeak.I'd had my van about 5 years before I found it !What part of the world are you in.
AnswerID: 220548

Follow Up By: Newby - Thursday, Feb 08, 2007 at 16:06

Thursday, Feb 08, 2007 at 16:06
I will have a look for the compliance plate on the weekend, as for the canvas it was replaced 6 or 7 years ago. I'm from country Victoria, the town of Donald. What part of the world are you from?
FollowupID: 481210

Reply By: Auntie - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:23

Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 22:23
Good luck with your Dove. I hope you get as much pleasure from it as we havehad with ours. You should enjoy working on it also. We're from the N/E suburbs of Melbourne. Bet it's dry up your way. All the best mate.
AnswerID: 220910