Chev 6.5 Ltr in 80 series Landcruiser !

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:20
ThreadID: 42342 Views:28786 Replies:14 FollowUps:24

Been weighing up the pros and cons of dropping a new 6.5Ltr Chev in my 95 model 80 Series Landcruiser (4.5 Ltr Petrol) before heading off around Oz. The cruiser has done 200,000 klm with the body and motor currently in great condition. The reasons I am thinking of doing this are as follows:

1. Better fuel consumption and tank range (big differance !)
2. More power and torque for towing a camper trailer & dinghy and 4wdriving
3. Motor will last longer than current petrol motor (prob get 350/400, 00 Klm's
before a rebuild is required out of my petrol motor costing around $4500)
4. Fuel less flammable ie safer when storing and carrying
5. Better vehicle for water crossings up North
6. Cant afford to spend an extra $30 - $50,000 on going to 100 series turbo diesel (besides that I am happy with my 80 series !!)

In working out the pros and cons I have worked out that my approx fuel costs (compared to the diesel) and petrol motor rebuild cost in about 5 years will total = approx $18,000 !

The cost to put in a chevy (after selling the petrol) will be around $17,500. So - after 5 years I will have broke even, have a car that is mor capable and powerful, cheaper to run with a motor that will probably last me twice as long and may even have a better resale value than if I left it petrol.

Asides from all that I get tomy V8 I have always wanted !!!

Any thoughts or reasons as to why I should not do this ?????????

Birdy

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:31

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:31
Go for it!!!
AnswerID: 221888

Reply By: Dustin - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:31

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:31
Sounds like you have already made the decision and justified it to yourself so why not? Just do it and enjoy it, I know I would if I could.

A wolf is sheeps clothing is far more fun to drive than a show pony vehicle.

While you are at it take advantage of the $2k cash back and run it on combined diesel gas and get even more power and that'll only cost you a few hundred $$$.

All you arguments sound logical to me, if you can justify the $$$ now then go for it.
AnswerID: 221889

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:48

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:48
Yep I pretty much have made the decision but it all seems too good to be true - espescially as the missus has given me the nod of approval.

hhhhhmmmmmm.....

?
FollowupID: 482656

Reply By: Dustin - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:37

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:37
Just having a think about it and the only disadvantage I can think of will be the lack of knowledge of that engine if you come into strife in the bush but I guess you hope to offset that worry by having a new engine.
AnswerID: 221891

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:50

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:50
I do agree with that one ! Spoke to my mechanic here in perth who looks after me pretty well and he said as long as I have a sat phone or HF radio he can arrange for any parts to be freighted too me . I know freight wont be cheap but at least I know I can get the parts.

As long as I look after it and do the oil etc every 5000 ks - should be happy cruisin - !! (fingers crossed )
FollowupID: 482657

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:39

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:39
After watching a V8 diesel powered GQ take off down the road towing what could only be described as a "block of flats" (biggest bloody caravan i'd ever seen)

I'd do it in a heart beat, if i had a vehicle big enough to slot one in of coarse, bloody noisey though.

AnswerID: 221892

Reply By: Truckster. - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:40

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:40
Not a bad price... $6000 cheaper than I was quoted.
AnswerID: 221893

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:46

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 15:46

In what vehicle ? A mate of mine had it done in a Patrol and cost him $26000 - he needed new suspension, radiator etc. Guess it depends on the extent of work needed !
FollowupID: 482655

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 01:18

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 01:18
Birdy,

That's what mine cost, but I had a new diffs, new gearbox, new suspension, new batteries, new brakes, new rear oil seals, new exhaust, new all sorts of extra stuff for that price.

See my message below.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 482791

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 16:04

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 16:04
Hey Birdy,
Have your sums taken into count the work involved in converting a petrol truck to a diesel? Tanks, fuel lines and the associated labour costs etc? Not saying you haven't but I'm just wondering!

I have a '94 4.5l 80 Series and have thought about putting a V8 in but have only ever thrown around the idea of a Gen III Holden V8 as it's also a petrol!

Scoey!
AnswerID: 221894

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 16:14

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 16:14

Yep full conversion quote is around $19500 from Brunswick motors here in WA including all work required. My new clutch im told will be ok and same with my suspension. Its manual already and the diff apparently just needs to be altered to suit with a few other items that im not to sure about. may need a lrger radiator also.

Basically they have quoted me to do the full conversion with new motor and all associated labour costs and parts aswell as great after sale service.

My mate just had one put in a patrol and they did a great job.
FollowupID: 482660

Reply By: Praxis1 - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 17:49

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 17:49
HI Guys and Gals.

Well I just purchased a Brunswick converted 6.5 litre 2001 patrol for $39K.

Took it for a test drive yesterday and pick it up tomorrow.

I have a big van and unfortunately my Jackaroos Auto wont take the strain. Same box as in Cruisers and Jeeps.

Ill let you know how it goes over the weekend. By the way the conversion is brand spanking new.

AnswerID: 221919

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:32

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:32
Sorry about delay...been flat out and "offline for a while" - How did the new beast go ????

Birdy
FollowupID: 484085

Follow Up By: Praxis1 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:56

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 21:56
HI Birdy,

Well Ive had t for a week now and its just great.

Pretty damn quiet on the open road for one. At Idle it just sounds fantastic, Like a V8 should!!

Torque is magnificent. Had a great chat to the guys a brunswick and they told me a heap. Even invited me down when Im down that way!!

Wouldnt put an Auto up to one, although I think my mate has a turbo 400 with a split diff in his 9 tonne bus. (Turbo Version).

The Nissan 4.2 manual box is fantastic. Brunswick told me the Autos can be a real problem.

Havent attached the 2.5 tonne van up yet due to only just getting in the Brake unit and the new Large 7 pin utilux connected up!!

Im going away in two weekends time in the van up to Collie so Ill let you know what its like up hill.

Anything else you would like to specifically know??

FollowupID: 484122

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:32

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:32
Thanks Praxis1.

Sounds pretty good so far. My cruiser is a maual so wont have the auto problem. Just hope the donk goes ok in my Petrol cruiser ?

Anyways be good to hear how your Collie trip goes. Wish I was heading that way for a dip in Black Diamond Pool myself !

FollowupID: 484134

Reply By: barra man - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 19:15

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 19:15
go for it birdy,
I have a 6.5 turbo goes like a rocket. also tow a 2.6 tonne van
& you hardly know it is on the back.

barra man
AnswerID: 221935

Reply By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 19:30

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 19:30
Stop gloating. Get on and do it.

As you've got access to the money, a nod from the minister for finance, and the peace of mind it's the right thing, I move a motion that you ring old mate the mechanic and book your wagon in.

Enjoy the drive!

AnswerID: 221939

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:35

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:35
Here, here.

FollowupID: 482733

Reply By: D-Jack - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:02

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:02
I must say I'm a bit jealous, but the only thing which would hold me back would be the threat of excessive noise. It would be handy to find another converted 80 series to see how much noisier it is - I would imagine 10fold more than your currrent petrol which are pretty quiet. A couple of comments I've heard is they are almost too noisy to talk in, but at least you will be able to go out and get a set of muddies and not have to worry about their noise!
AnswerID: 221947

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:39

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 20:39
Yep the noise is about all I can come up with as a possible problem. - Or is it - love the sound of the V8 rumble. Missus doesnt seem to mind either so all good.

Will go for another cruise in my mates Chev 6.5 litre with her and just check..... maybe safer to just go for it while she is in agreeance.

Gonna make it a little hard for the early morning stealth missions for a surf or fish and maybe annoy a few people early morning at the camp site. Oh well

Thanks for the reply.
FollowupID: 482735

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 21:57

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 21:57
I went from having a 4.2TD Patrol, to a 6.5 Chev Patrol and when on the road, the noise factor is about the same. However, at idle, yes, the 6.5 is noisier/nicer!!! I love it.!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 482745

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 23:12

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 23:12
Thats good to hear. Certainly cant see anything wrong with the noise at idle - at least its a sweet sound !

So far all is positive about this motor !!! (At least it certainly seems that way)

Im pretty convinced now!!!

FollowupID: 482762

Reply By: barra man - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 21:51

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 21:51
birdy

with the 6.5 turbo it is very quite unless you give it the right boot
then all you hear is a nice v8 growl,not obnoquious like a standard V8
even under heavy acceleration it is not noisy. A nice whistle from the turbo can be heard thru the exhaust.
A comment was made when leaving work that it sounded like a small jet taking off.

barra man
AnswerID: 221974

Follow Up By: Birdy - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 23:15

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 23:15
Wont be going the turbo option at this stage but you never know in the future. What are the main benefits of adding a turbo to this motor ? Reckon ill be pretty happy with the non turbo version for the moment.

Liking the idea of sounding like a small jet - Nice !!!

FollowupID: 482763

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 23:20

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 23:20
Might be worth holding your breath for the new V8 turbo diesel Landcruisers to come out next month.

a) they might be a better bet all round if you can stretch to new.

b) the market will flooded with secondhand 6.5's over the coming months as people swap over to 'factory' V8 diesels. These will sell like hotcakes.

c) factory turbo diesel cruisers will noticably come down in price secondhand market too.
AnswerID: 221998

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 01:24

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 01:24
V8 Diesel,

A = a huge cost difference. Say, $80,000.00 for a new Tojo V8 GXL?

B = I doubt it. By now, they would have bought a 100 series with a IHDT-Fe motor if they were that way inclined.

C = Probably

Bilbo
FollowupID: 482792

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:33

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:33
No way I can stretch - would struggle to buy a turbo diesel 100 series !!!
FollowupID: 484086

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 01:14

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 01:14
Birdy,

I had a 1999 GU Patrol converted to a N/A 6.5 Chev V8 in April 2006. I'm very happy with it. It's tough as an old boot - being a Nissan - and could pull the doors off a bank vault!

When fitted with a turbo, they do tend to run a bit hot when the weather is hot and it's towing a heavy van. Brunswicks will openly tell you this. If they could fit a bigger radiator it wouldn't be such a problem. But the rad they fit is as big as they can get in without major body surgery.

It's easy to service yourself so you'll save a big dollar there. Brunswicks are great with the after sales stuff, a pleasure to deal with. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

It is NOISY! But I fixed mine with good sound insulation, installed it myself, took about 2 to 3 days - but I'm old & slow these days and I have the time to do it. The sound insulation is fitted under the bonnet - that's the simple part - and also on the inside passgenger compartment, from the halfway up the firewall, across the floor and gearbox cover, under the centre console, under the rear seats, right to the back door. The front passneger bit is the hardest to do by far. I reckon it wasn't worth doing from the rears seats back to the rear doors as the improvement was minimal, but it's done now. However there was a massive improvement after doing the front passenger compartment and the bonnet. It's now as quiet as a 100 series Toyota Landcruiser Turbo Diesel - except for exhaust boom of the straight through muffler.

But the external noise is something else again! It's still niosy outside and idling in traffic is noisier than 80 kmh driving!

Cost of the specialist insulation was about $250.00 to $300.00 from memory and was bought from Marlin Insulation & Seals in Fremantle - ask for Mark, he knows his stuff.

I have some figures for fuel consumption of my own truck, on an Excel spreadsheet if you want them.

At present I'm getting:

7.55 kms/litre 13.24 litres/100 km 20.92 mpg - not towing

5.88 kms/litre 17.01 litres/100kms 16.28 mpg - towing a 2 tonne van, fully loaded in the back of the Patrol.

It wasn't that good to start with but I've only done about 13500 kms since it was fitted and it's improving all the time. It takes about 40,000 kms before they loosen up a bit.

My wife drives it - no probs. Women seem to like the big V8 as it's easy driving.

In the bush, it beats any other 4WD I've ever driven including a Ford Maverick tray back with a TD42 Nissan motor and a 100 series turbo diesel Landcruiser. It's the low down torque that does it for me.

I only use 3 gears when I'm not towing - 2nd, 3rd and 5th.

Anything else - drop me a line at:

leslowe@iinet.net.au

Which reminds me I have to answer that email from Andrew in Kunnnarra. Sorry Andrew, if yer reading this, I got carried away,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo

AnswerID: 222011

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 10:12

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 10:12
Cheers Bilbo - got your email this morning and sent back my full quote - similar to above $19500.00 (I will add a radiator pls a few extra's) The auto option is $7500 dearer, but there will be about $2000 saved in the manual, so $4-5 kextra for the auto, I will go with the manual when the 2.8 splutters to a timely death...

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 482846

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 11:15

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 11:15
Hi Birdy

I think I'd be a little more skeptical than most of the replies.

Are you sure your not pushing the figures a bit, try doing the
sums with a gas conversion and I think the standard cruiser
will come out in front.
It isn't reasonable to include in your figures a future possible
engine re-build to the petrol engine in 5 years.

Do you have a proper design life figure on engine life for the 6.5
not a "mine did 600k email" ?
The design life of the 4.5 is 300k.

Seen and done a few major changes and you often end up with
annoying problems that you "just except" , or end up
breaking the already "not to strong" drivetrain.

If you have significantly extra torque are your CV's etc
designed for that ?

I believe you will also find the NVH figures significantly worse.

Things like
"4. Fuel less flammable ie safer when storing and carrying
5. Better vehicle for water crossings up North "

are quite debatable - so I'll leave those for another time.

What I couldn't disagree with is the emotional preference
for the sound of a V8. My brother did that to his 60 series
landcruiser and he loves it so much that he doesn't really notice my
much strong and faster 4800 GU patrol overtaking him.

AnswerID: 222068

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 12:28

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 12:28
Robin,

I've owned both the 100 Series Landcruiser GXL Turbo Diesel and this Nissan with a Chev in it. I know which I'd sooner have for bush work - the Chevissan by a long way.

Other points -

The 6.5 Chev is a well proven and long lasting engine - as long as you don't make use of the electronically injected ones, stick to the mechanical governor models. Theer are millions of 'em in use all over the world and not too many reputaion problems AFAIK.

New and 2ndhand Parts are easier and cheaper to get from here or the USA than relying on a Toyota dealer to get 'em "ex-East" or Japan. I live in Perth - hence "ex-East" - it's an expression we hate over here.

You do have a point with the extra strain on the transmission - with a Toyota. I have a Nissan with GQ gearbox and diffs so I don't have an issue.

"Seen and done a few major changes and you often end up with
annoying problems that you "just except",,,,,,,there are over 7,000 of these conversions in Australia. The bugs have been ironed out long ago. Not to many complaints from what I can gather & I did try to gather a few before I had mine done.

Re "NVH" - in my experience not as good as 100 series TD 'Cruiser, but better than Nissan TD42 Patrol. I can't say about the 3.0 litre Nissan engine, I've never driven one. The V8 is a bit harsh at first, but do smooth out after about 7,000 kms and sound proofing improves things dramatically. After soundproofing, they are a lot quieter than a 4.2 Nissan engine at 80kmh plus

"4. Fuel less flammable ie safer when storing and carrying
5. Better vehicle for water crossings up North ",,,,,,,

The first issue is no contest - diesel vs petrol. Petrol flash point is around -43C (That's minus 43C) and is a Class A substance. Diesel flash point is around 65C and nowhere near as volatile.

Second - the diesel V8 is not as likely to stall as a petrol motor due to wet electrics and the Chev has no electronics. But a snorkle would be handy to avoid to water intake to the engine with the consequent massive engine damage!

",,,and he loves it so much that he doesn't really notice my
much strong and faster 4800 GU patrol overtaking him,,,"

I bet he notices your fuel bill though! I bet he also notices your comparative lack of torque at low revs, to say nothing of the servicing costs when it goes into a Nissan Dealer.

There's ups 'n downs on both sides eh?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 482862

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 13:12

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 13:12
Hi Bilbo

It'd be dumb to argue that petrol is less volatitle, i was
more reffering to the bigger arguement about which fuel is best
as is a lot less cut and dried and also same for which is better
for water crossings.

RE - the design life, reputation is good to have but its no
substitute for a proper design life statement.

Re the 7000 converstions , well it would be hard for us to
get any real data on this, I think most of the problems would not lie
with the basic engine but with its whole installation, thats the
area that I seen many failures with.

My brothers an automotive engineer and would never go down the diesel
engine install path in a petrol engined car because of fundamental
design issues resulting from mechanical spike pressures generated
by diesel engines, it requires a full transmission change normaly,
often even thru the propellor shaft and diff bearings to.
(for long life that is)

From your comment about "Noticing my lack of torque down low"
you may have thought he fitted a diesel into his own personal car
, no he fitted a petrol Chev V8, which is probably a more common
install.
Not that it matters as petrol 4800 Nissan has more torque
off idle than its patrol diesel cousin's have at max.

He certainly notices his lower fuel bill, but only whilst
its running on gas.

FollowupID: 482873

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 13:32

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 13:32
A lot of people seem to have this vision of the 6.5 litre donk as being super-powerful and thus creating all sorts of dramas with toyo's and/or nissan's drive trains.
It is my understanding (and experience to date with my Chev), that it is NOT in fact all that much more powerful or "torquey" than the 4.2TD Patrol I replaced.
To me, it is the DELIVERY of the torque that makes all the difference.
I don't pretend to know the exact power output figures, but my underatnding is that the Chev develops about 130kw (versus Nissan's claimed 114kw) and the torque figure is in the high 300's (My 4.2 had a figure of 330nm).
However, my seat-of-the-pants feeling is that the 300-something nm of torque of the Chev comes on-line at about 800rpm (Nissan @ around 2000rpm).
THAT, to me, is the BIG benefit of the Chev.
It just lopes along and my normal driving technique should see it good for 500,000klm (as I do not like revving a motor any harder than is necessary).
FollowupID: 482876

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 13:56

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 13:56
I'm along the same path Roachie and forever driving my petrol Patrol at 1-2000rpm , fortunately it has some 400nm at 1000 rpm.
Recently with illness when I couldn't change gears properly I used only 2 & 4th.

I'd think seriously about putting a diesel in a petrol car , as opposed to changing an
existing diesel because of the numerous little unstated issues , which can be just extra knock on gearbox gears reducing there life to different fuel pump in tank issues, and missing out on some of the orignal cars functions etc.

I've been involved in 4 V8 conversations (petrol) now and none of them have lasted the long term without afterwards mods.

They can work well but need a committed owner.

FollowupID: 482886

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:41

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:41
Robin,

",,,,,Not that it matters as petrol 4800 Nissan has more torque
off idle than its patrol diesel cousin's have at max.,,,,,,,,"

" ,,,,my petrol Patrol at 1-2000rpm , fortunately it has some 400nm at 1000 rpm.,,,"

I'd like to see the torque curve before I'd agree with that. The Redbook specs for that engine show 420Nm at 3600 rpm. Are you saying that the 4.8 petrol motor only delivers an additional 20Nm for the remainder of it's rev range? The torque curve must be almost vertical.

I know the 4.8 is a good motor, but I'll stand clogging if it's THAT good!!

At least you don't own a 3.0 litre Nissan. Now that motor does have to be revved to get any sense out of it.

However, like you I've seen a lot of conversions that have gone wrong with a multitude of issues - overheating, cracking chassis/engine mounts, blown gearboxes. In contrast I beleive this one conversion that works. Brunswicks would be out of business by now if it wasn't successful, they and the other dealers across Australia that do the conversion under licence. Brunswicks have been doing 'em for 18 years. That would be a reasonable 'test of time" I reckon.

I have heard of only one single complaint about these conversions and that was from a guy that had 3 engines fitted before he was happy. Brunswicks did all the replacment work for nothing - try that with Toyota or Nissan! I can only say he musta been real picky or dead unlucky.

Roachie,

Mate your explanation hit it right on the head. Well said.

As you have now expereinced, it's no use having heaps of POWER at max revs if you don't drive at max revs all of the time -and we don't, none of us. None of us drive flat out all day. The speeding fines would be horrendous. You need POWER and torque in the rev range in which the vehicle is normally used and not in some sublime RPM range. The shape of the torque is all important, not simply the final figure.

Oh God, I have had this discussion so many times before,,,,,,,,,

;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 482912

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:10

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 23:10
Hi Bilo

I just got home from watching Deja Vu , and this post could be Deja Vu.

Now you have seen me post before and might know that as a professional engineer we take pride in putting nothing on the written record that cannot be totally backed up. (Mind you backup - doesn't necessarily mean your correct but at least there is a source of reasonable support)

But most of the differences I see in these emails are more from not quite reading them correctly or perhaps to quickly.

Actually I made 2 specific statements

1st
That Nissan 4800 has more torque off idle than 4.2 anywhere - I have factory plots off the 3 nissan engines as of my model 2002, and the 4800 has 360Nm at 1000rpm.
The 4.2 max'ed at approx 330nm then and went up next year with addition of intercooler to approx 360nm.

Curves are on the public record - and on the Nissan internal document for sales staff titled "Sales Talk". (of which I have copies)

2nd statement was about my Patrol stating that it had 400nm at 1000rpm.
Its a figure I have used before in discussing its performance after a 12% boost via its unichip and specifically tailored dyno-tunes conducted down to approx 300rpm.
(below 300rpm was to hard to stabilize dyno without stalling it)

So yes the torque curve isn't that flat (400-420) , mines 400 to approx 470.

The standard 4800 (2001-2005) is 360nm at 1000 rising to 420 nm at 3600 which is still significantly flatter than the 3lt but not as flat as 4.2.

This flattish torque curve assisted by variable length inlet tract and variable cam timing lift results in an almost linear power delivery to 4800 rpm.

You can lay a ruler along the 4800's power curve its that constant.

Pity the 4800 doesn't have the engine inertia of the 4.2 to match.
Thats also where the 6.5 chev is better as even with a reasonable power delivery I still have to be careful to limit wheelspin espically when surface gets uneven.

Its all part of a car wide traction equation and also partly why I prefer 255/85 tyres that allow one to hit double lockers early and trade off some windup
in wheelspin without worrying about bogging down.

P.S. would love to know what below means - is it a special ritual which us Victorians don't understand.

" I know the 4.8 is a good motor, but I'll stand clogging if it's THAT good!! "

FollowupID: 483023

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 06:41

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 06:41
Robin,

Now that explanation makes a lot of sense. It's factual and sesnsible. Thanks.

It seems the 4.8 is a darn good motor. I always knrew it was, but not quite how good!! That's impressive.

Thank you,

"I'll stand cloggin' " is a old North of England expression of bewilderment or "dumbstruckness". Strange as it may seem, this is the first time I've used for about 20 years!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 483055

Follow Up By: Birdy - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:48

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:48
Sorry about bot getting back to the thread I had started as have been flat out and "offline" for awhile !!

Anyways was interesting reading the pros and cons of the chev conversion.

Robin - Thanks for shedding some light on a few items/concerns that I can now look into. Diesel motor in a petrol cruiser did seem a little weird and I am also concerned about a few items you mentioned like "cv's" and the "drivetrain" and "transmission" etc. Will have to look into them a little more, maybe I will call Brunswick back and speak to them about a few of my concerns.

I do agree with Bilbo though that you would think Brunswick would have/have sorted out all the minor bugs by now after so many conversions.

Bilbo & Roachie - Sounds like you fellas are pretty happy with the big V8 donk and dont seem to have any real complaints, as a few other people I know dont.

One question is why are there more Chevs going into the Patrols than in the Landcruisers ??????

Cheers again

FollowupID: 484090