New Patrol Question?

Submitted: Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:48
ThreadID: 42382 Views:2092 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
G'Day all,

I'm currently pondering with the idea of possibly exchanging my Nav for a new patrol at the end of the year.

I'm familiar with the patrol and drive my mates 4.2tdi, but although its about $6k more than the 3.0ltr, and I know the 4.2 is gettin a bit long in the tooth, but I'm thinkin its poss last chance to grab a new vehicle with an engine thats semi home mechanic friendly. ie a straight 6 without being jam packed with electronics, I know they are still there but not as bad as say the latest Holdens.....big lump of plastic with go away dont touch emanating from it.

I'm also not sure if the 3.0ltr is now DEFINETLY sorted after all the blown piston dramas??

Whats the opinions on the 2 diesel options, go with the technology of the 3.0, or stick with the proven reliable if a bit old designed 4.2??

(was thinking of basic wagon with just bull / tow bar optioned on)

Rgds

Ron

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:52

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:52
search for blown motor and 3.0 or grenade or they wont fix it under warranty or holes in piston... if your serious after that, you deserve one.

PS. No they havent totally fixed the grenade.
AnswerID: 222127

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:57

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:57
Yeah I know theres heaps of bad press on here bout them but thought they would have got their act together by now!

I cant fault my Nav, and mates patrol gets better fuel economy than I do, and its a 4.2 compared to my 3.2, big difference extra 2 pots 1tr and a turbo make!!

guess youve answered my question in one then, go the 4.2.

Ron
FollowupID: 482918

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:32

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:32
well mine is 6 yrs old and I reckon its great, theres lots of good press on them here too, just equally batted back by T-Man et al

FollowupID: 482934

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:58

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 16:58
Maybe you should wait for the new 3lt nissan are meant to be releasing. They must have big plans for it to compete with the new cruiser.
AnswerID: 222129

Reply By: Member - Mike_L (SA) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:13

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:13
Ron,

"New" as in brand new or just new for you?
As far as I know no more 4.2 engined Patrols will be imported due to new to 2007 emission standards. Once Nissan sells what they have in stock already here then that's it for the long lived 4.2.

Mick
AnswerID: 222130

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:17

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:17
Dam,

thats exactly what I was thinking, yes new as in brand new, guess the replacement will be totally untouchable except by dealer and credit card, might look see if I can find a run out 4.2.

Rgds
FollowupID: 482927

Follow Up By: Member - Mike_L (SA) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:36

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 17:36
I haven't heard of a replacement, I don't think Nissan have anything in the pipe line yet. They will upgrade the 3lt, but to what degree I don't know.
As for the 4.2.... Get em while you can!!!!!!!!...
FollowupID: 482937

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 18:58

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 18:58
AnswerID: 222147

Reply By: Member - Patrick W (VIC) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 19:40

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 19:40
Two new Patrol engines are in the pipeline - according to a Melbourne dealer I spoke to yesterday - with the possibility of a TDV8 - obviously as others have mentioned - to compete with the new Cruiser which goes on sale Sept/Oct
AnswerID: 222155