Painting Trailer Chassis- Recommendations
Submitted: Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:03
ADM
I am about to have the underneath of the camper trailer sand blasted to remove the surface rust and loose paint to give it a freshen up. The company blasting it will also put a coat of primer on before I pick it up, even with a top coat it's not going to resist the rocks and sand.
I believe there is a bitumen/rubber product out there that can be applied to reduce the amount of chipping and help exposing bare metal again. Can anyone help with the product name needed to do this and the best method of applying it. Should this be applied then painted over or the other way around.
Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:29
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:29
Hi ADM,
There is a rubberised product called Schust (or something like that) which is available in a range of colours to suit.
It is often used by panelbeaters to provide protection to the sill panel under the doors and the lower sections of rear panels.
I have used it on a number of my vehicles with good effect.
It can be brushed on, painted with aerosol type cans or specialised spray gear.
Others on this
forum will offer suggestions of other products to do the same job Any decent panelbeater should be able to give you the name of suitable products if nothing else turns up.
Disco
Reply By: Scoof - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:56
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 15:56
Hello
ADM make sure the primer is compatable with the finish coat you want to use.
I have been caught before and had to buy a expensive primer to paint over the primer or have it blasted again.
Cheers Scoof.
Reply By: pepper2 - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:11
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:11
Have you considered a cold galvanising paint or two pack epoxy such as taubmans interpon series used on large structural steel sections and pipelines etc.
Hot dip galvanising is the best of the options currently offered
Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:30
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:30
I agree with pepper2 ask the sand blaster if he can spray two pack epoxy if so ask has he got any tar epoxy, this was used on steel boat under the water line and inside after they were sand blastered, and that will be all you will need. Come to think of it
mine needs doing to.
Cheers Bruce
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 17:13
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 17:13
Ah the good old tar epoxy. The navy used it on landing craft decks adn it was good stuff.
Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 00:02
Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 00:02
Yo, PajMan ............
I 'member it
well, the tar epoxy.
We used it on my mates old [can't remember how old!] Ford Prefect ute in
Darwin in '62.
Stripped it down to bare metal, don't think we primed it, and coated the complete underbody and tray body topsides in tar epoxy then painted the lot in Battleship
Grey .............. that vehicle is probably still running around up there somewhere, rust-free !!
And I also 'member doing my trusty old FJ Holden internal floors with it as
well, when I came South in '64 ........ both those vehicles did trips that put my current Troopy to shame ........... fond 'membories, mate, fond 'membories !!!!
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:07
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:07
I've got an old 6x4 trailer that my old man bought new in 1969 ,it has lived all its life outside , has been repainted 3 times since it was new ,repaints were all done by hand /brush , KILLRUST ,, last time repaint was done is 7yrs ago , Ill pay you $20 if you can find any rust on the old girl ,, Killrust.!!!!
Reply By: DesF - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:33
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:33
Hi i have done the van chassis with Kilrust , Magic stuff. but for years on the bike trailer ( before Killrust) I used Paving paint , brushed on, It was really good for stopping the stone chips. Cheaper than Killrust .
Cheers Des.
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:57
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:57
ADM
I have just painted the wheel arches of my new camper trailer with a product called Ormonoid.It is a bitumen emulsion product and is an excellent sealant when dry--it dries in a couple hours.I put on three coats. It was given to me by a friend who used it on his trailer but I think you can get it at Bunnings.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:31
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:31
Ormonoid 603 polyurethane is a great product (and Australian made by Davco) and will be OK with an epoxy zinc primer. One thing to be aware of is reminding the sandblaster to take care to blow out any gaps with compressed air after the blasting. The sand trapped in the gaps can be very abrasive and work from behind the primer to expose metal. If you have the time, after the blasting and before the primer, seam seal the underside with a mastic or other paintable sealant.
Reply By: ADM - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:08
Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:08
Thanks to all with the great suggestions and advice. Some good points I would not have thought about.
I will do a little research on some of the mentioned product's before proceeding.
Have been quoted $200 to have the underside and outside walls blasted and primed. Was thinking about sanding it myself but for that I wouldn't bother.
Ashley