Stone deflector for an offroad van - any ideas

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:24
ThreadID: 42657 Views:4998 Replies:12 FollowUps:11

I'm looking for ideas for making a stone deflector for the front of an offroad van. I've seen 'em made of light plastic irrigation pipe, which looks a bit "light on", through to a steel "something" that could smash it's way through pack ice to Mawson's Hut in the Antarctic!!

I can weld steel and can usually build anything,,,,,,,,but a good design is always an easier way to start,,,,,,,,;)

Any ideas and some photos would be great.

Bilbo

Reply By: rolande- Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:44

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:44
G'Day Bilbo,

The two main designs used on campertrailers are those like the Adventure camper

adventure camper stone guard

Or the upright version like this

Goldstream RV

Just scroll through the photo's at the bottom of the page to "morning tea setup"

You will see a stone guard on the front of the van

Rolande
AnswerID: 223757

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:58

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:58
Thanks Rolande,

The Goldstream upright one is the go. Or something similar.

The pic's a bit dark though.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 484636

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:05

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:05
The Adventure one is unbeatable unless it's muddy, then there isn't going to be too many stones anyway!
I blatantly copied it for my Track Desert Eagle & works perfectly, keeps everything under the trailer.
FollowupID: 484638

Follow Up By: rolande- Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:13

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:13
G'Day Bilbo,

Different versions of the same thing. More info on the web site. Many have built their own

stone guards

Rolande
FollowupID: 484652

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:11

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:11
Rolande thats' a damn good site. Lots of good stuff for the lesser experienced amongst us.

You should post it up as a seperate thread.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 484749

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:36

Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:36
G'Day Bilbo,

If you join the Yahoo! group, there is a link on the site, you can post specific questions and get lots of help. Currently have around 2200 members

There have been lots of links in the past to the group so it should be well known

Rolande
FollowupID: 484955

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:54

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:54
Bilbo, was going to suggest the same as the Advebture Camper, got beaten to it, LOL

AnswerID: 223759

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:56

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 18:56
and should have hit spell check instead of submit, LOL

FollowupID: 484635

Reply By: Andrew Kilby (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:32

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:32
Have you considered putting a skirt on your vehicle. I have found this to be just as effective and in fact is better in some respects because it does not matter what you tow. If you want further advice please let me know and i will help.
AnswerID: 223762

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:10

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:10
Andrew,

Yep - I already made a rear skirt for the truck - mainly out of bits lying around the shed -and it will work OK. But I got to thinking about the additiona wind drag and the fuel consumption. So I figured I'd do a stone gaurd instead.

Still thinking,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 484748

Reply By: slush - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:56

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 21:56
i also have the skirt, tried some of the other and found they got in the way. for the skirt i used some pool side tread from clarks, lets air through but no stones. takes no more than one minute to put on and take off. when leaving van and going sight seeing i just slide them off.
AnswerID: 223783

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 22:16

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 22:16
Bilbo

I got my hands on some clear plastic. This is the same which is use for awnings and windbreaks etc for domestic or business use. I cut the plastic to size and silicon glued it to the front of my trailer. Used the same stuff to make two covers for the back windows. Have not had a problem with it. The stones fly out from under the truck but drop after hitting the plastic. This design saves on having a cumbersome stoneguard.
AnswerID: 223789

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 22:55

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 22:55
goodday bilbo
i personally had made a full padded front for our last 2 vans and will get the same for our new van goes full height and width of vans just uses 4 clips or presss studs on each side get some one who does car/boat seats etc 2 sheets of vinyl with about 1/2 inch padding inside no chips on our last van at all
AnswerID: 223793

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 23:25

Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 23:25
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.mudflaps.com/

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 223796

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 04:42

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 04:42
Our Trak Shak uses double width shade cloth ( heavyist there is )
It is the full width of our camper and it points basically to the top of the tailgate of our Navara.
outback travell sees us flip over one of the layers of the shadecloth and "ocky-strap" it to the bumperof our vehicle.
Works a treat .

AnswerID: 223802

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 08:47

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 08:47
Where you have room, the one seen on the Kimberley Kamper seems good - I know an owner who has covered many a rocky road and reported no stone damage to date.... that V design, with a forward lean is about as good as a design could be in my view - the idea being not to arrest the stones, but to let them keep going (with a slightly altered direction) ! Space on my Campomatic is a bit tight so I use the "trampoline" idea - bit like the Adventure model but mine's not as fancy - still, the idea is to keep the stones below drawbar level - I have added rubber flaps to the suspension and main box corners, to keep the stones off the valuables.
Overall, I think time spent on stone guarding is worth every minute....... I've seen enough patched up windows and dinged paintwork outback.
AnswerID: 223812

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:19

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:19
Bilbo, I have replied to the same question (assume it is you) on Caravaners Forum.

Willem made back window protectors for the Patrol for us as he describes in his his reply.

AnswerID: 223880

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:16

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:16
Yes, MH, twas I,,,,,,,

That idea of Willem's - clear plastic for the rear windows - is a top idea.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 484750

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:23

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:23
The clear plastic Willem cut for us was stuck to the glass with a tab of self adhesive velcro in each corner - it did sometimes come off the window when it was very hot, but we'd notice one corner loose and press it back so we never lost them on some mighty rough roads. Side-tracking - I have found Velcro brand stands up to the heat better than the cheaper similar alternatives. We use velcro inside the car for sticking the various electronic gizmos, and some people use it for holding things in place in the caravan (we just use the not skid plastic sheets).

FollowupID: 484753

Reply By: Brian B (NT) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:50

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:50
Hi Bilbo,

We fitted a shade cloth deflector on a removeable upright. The shadecloth attaches to the trailer with tonneau cover bungy loops. There is a pic of it in my rig pics.

Good luck with your endeavours.

See Ya

Brian B (NT oh Brissie now)
Brian B (NT now Bris)

AnswerID: 223884

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:21

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:21
Thanks Brian,

That "whoops axle" shot looks pretty bad. What happened there?

The pics you've got there are where we'll finally getting to this year - after bippin' around Cue, Meeka and The Pilbara for some gold to cover the fuel costs. I can always trip over something to pay for the diesel,,,,,,,,

Plus, there is a bit of gold up in the Kimberleys - to pay for the fuel back to Perth!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 484752

Follow Up By: Brian B (NT) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 18:54

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 18:54
Hello again Bilbo,

The axle snapped between the U bolts a combination of a welded axle & a large hole on the GRR, which we think cracked next to the weld & then let go on the way out of the Bungle Bungles. A replacement axle from Kununurra had us underway the next day. Mate I am jealous if you do get up there it is beautiful country & we enjoyed every minute of our time there. We have had to put back our trip to the Cape by 12 months due to the shift to Brissie for work. Oh well hopefully we will get some time up the beaches/Fraser to ease the dissapointment.

I hope the project turns out well & I will keep an eye out for the pics.

See Ya

Brian B
Brian B (NT now Bris)

FollowupID: 484771

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:23

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:23
Well,

Thanks everyeone for the great replies. I now have an idea and I'll post some pics when I finish it.

Tooooo hot here in Perth for welding right now,,,,,phew.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 223891