redback trailers v Camel v lifestyle

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 27, 2007 at 22:29
ThreadID: 42772 Views:6026 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
I've narrowed my search to h/ duty offroad campers to these three (and Jumbuck, but I've plenty of knowledge of them). Any users got feedback on these? i'm specifically keen on the new tropical fly systems which these (and others) are developing, I reckon most will have them soon. Other criteria; won't break under off road touring conditions, weight, storage, the usual.

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 07:55

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 07:55
Clarkes Country Campers make the trailer you see in the photos.

Redback only make the tent top and i wouldn't recommend it, we have one when Ray and Redback were operating together and the camper top isn't the best quality but the trailer is tough and well designed.

I'd recommend you talk to Ray at Clarkes Country Campers he has a new camper top maker and from what i've seen he makes a good top for Rays trailer.

AnswerID: 224505

Reply By: cackles - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:01

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:01
Have you looked at Trackabout? We have one and it is fantastic, all the blokes that have seen it have commented on the good welds the canvas work is excellent too.
We are in NQ and have a very cool nights sleep in summer with plenty of full length windows for good ventilation.

This months 4wd monthly has a write up for them including a story of the owner competing at landcruiser park with trailer in tow.

cackles

AnswerID: 224525

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:13

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:13
I thought Trackabout only made the T-Van now, or have they put the Trackabout soft floor back into prodution.

FollowupID: 485455

Follow Up By: cackles - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:34

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:34
Two different brands Baz, www.trackabout.com.au/
brisbane based brand, do a search on the forum and find out all the good things other owners say.

also check out this site too www.campertrailers.org/ campertrailer group

cackles

FollowupID: 485457

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:43

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 10:43
Oh yeah, i'm thinking of the track eagle.

The campertrailer yahoo site is a good resource for info on campers.

FollowupID: 485458

Reply By: guzzi - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 11:37

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 11:37
Nigel,
I have a Lifestyle Explorer +, without the tropical roof.
So far very happy with it and John at Lifestyles after sales service and advice.
Excellent canvas work and a reasonably heavy duty trailer which is well finished.
I also had a good hard look at Camel, and there's not a lot between them in quality of canvas, trailer is well built but not as well finished as the Lifestyle IMO. Camel has more upgrades available for their kitchen setup.The tent roof over the bed area is higher in the Lifestyle than the Camel and therefore a bit cooler. In the end I was more swayed by the attitude and approach and friendliness of the sales people than the product.
Having spent quite a few trips to camping shows and looking at campers the Tropical roofs do make a difference to heat in the tent area and gives an extra layer for heavy rain to try to get through. Why dont I have one? It wasn't available when we picked my camper up, however 4 weeks later its standard on my model, bugger.
I cant remember seeing a redback in my wanderings, I usually ended up looking at Lifestyles display and Camels for comparison as these 2 were of the most interest and price range for me.
Lifestyle now comes with NEW wheels and tyres, from memory last time I looked Camel still came with second hand tyres.
Here's their site link Site Link and to show Im not really one eyed, www.camelgroup.com.au/
Pete
AnswerID: 224533

Follow Up By: guzzi - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 12:43

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 12:43
Oh forgot to mention the built in steps for the bed on the lifestyle, SWMBO was very impressed, wide, easy to use and you cant lose or forget them.
At the time I looked at Camel, their ladder was an option $$.
FollowupID: 485479

Reply By: seqfisho - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 13:17

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 13:17
Just ordered my Lifestyle Explorer + last week after about 18months of researching, I almost went Trackabout but the Lifestyle was better finished and more attention to detail IMO, plus a lot of the features which were options with the others are standard with the Lifestyle (dust seals, stainless kitchen, front boot/box etc) and a better person to deal with I would doubt you could find, even so much as the week before we ordered we were at the showroom having a look and ready to order there and then but he said to go and think about it and be sure it is what you want and think about the colours options etc before you place the order.

The deal we got was fantastic and ended up with more for our money than what was on offer from the others I had looked at, and if you break one of his trailers then you would break anything else.

Cheers Glen.
AnswerID: 224550

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 14:37

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 14:37
G'day nigelp
I too have a Lifestyle. Excellent quality. Excellent value for money. John is great to deal with but I don't think much of the other guy, Bob.
Mine had HD suspension and I added shockies, however it was too stiff. I don't think it was the shockies fault - I suspect that it's the number of leaves. Anyway I removed those helper things above the springs plus the 2 lower leaves. Also added bump stops. It now rides beautifully. Perhaps I wasn't carting enough weight for the original setup!
Love those built in steps but have added carpet to tread area because they are bloody cold to step on after getting out of a warm bed on winter mornings.
Weight? - they are probably all heavy. If you haven't towed before you'll notice the difference (unless perhaps you have a 7 litre donk). I have a petrol 80 and you know there's a trailer behind you on any hill.
Tough? - sure is. I've taken it on some bloody awful tracks and it came through with no problems.
Tropical fly system? - no idea as I don't have it. But there are heaps of windows so, as long as there's a bit of breeze it's all good.
Storage? - you mean space to store stuff in I assume. If so then if you can fill it you're carrying too much crap. The area under the bed is enormous and you get the box on the front as well (and pole holders).
Stone deflector works well.
Easy to set up? I think so but as I haven't owned other brands I can't compare.
Consider getting wheels that match the tow vehicle, or at least ones you can interchange. That way you always have 2 good spares (assuming the vehicle only has one of course).
I didn't get the under bed hatch and haven't missed it too much.
If you have a choice take the Hyland hitch - easy to use and fantastic articulation.
Problems? Nothing major. Bit of paint chipping along draw bar, but given where we've been that's to be expected. Had a bit of a leak once where the steps are, but I think it may have been our fault. Suspension too stiff as mentioned. That's about it.
Would I buy same again, after having owned one for 12 months. Absolutely.
If you want more info give me some contact details and I'll call/email you.
Cheers from the Moose.
BTW - I do know someone with a Camel and they are happy with it. It looks smaller than the Lifestyle - smaller wheels maybe (I have 16").
AnswerID: 224574

Reply By: nigelp - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 17:28

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 17:28
Thanks all so far. yes, I had Trackabout on my list, they have a great reputation but I've promised swmbo a tropical fly: not for night time sleeping but for comfort during the day (love those nanny naps) and esp. for condensation at night. Has anyone experience of the fly's/ lifestyle I was worried about wind exposure/ flapping if used without poles.
I liked the comment about you would break anything if... I know from boats that someone willl always break anything, but I don't think I'll be overly harsh, but I dread the idea of a breakdown in the middle of nowhere, family on board etc. hence the H?D specs, and I'm confident any of these would do the job.
re the Redback I was concerned about weight. Who buys the Galvanising only if it's for the beach argument?
np
AnswerID: 224600

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 17:46

Wednesday, Feb 28, 2007 at 17:46
The Redback is heavy, but not as much as you would think, the walkway section makes it roomy inside, being 9' wide instead of 7' like the others, it is also good for storage too.

The weight is due to the walkway, but at 695kg standard before you add gear it does come up to around 1.3t once it's fully loaded.

Clarkes Country Campers at Medowie speak to Ray, i don't recommend Redbacks camper top, even though we have one the quality isn't that good, but Rays trailer is tough and his new camper top maker is pretty good.

Allterrain are good too, and a very tough unit.

FollowupID: 485524

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:34

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 09:34
Nigel,

No experience with the campers you mention, but our Kimberley had the tropical roof on it and seemed to work pretty well. Really knocks down roof condensation, mind you the walls still cop it. As for temp difference, I can't imagine it does any harm, but we never took it off to compare. Kimberley's setup just velcros on either end and is supported by a fibreglass bow at the roof apex. No set up and you wouldn't know it was there, not too sure how the Lifestyle is rigged.

Worth adding on, mind you 600 odd dollars will get you lots of other 'stuff'.

FollowupID: 485855

Reply By: Member - David A (QLD) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:31

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:31
We bought the explorer+ towards the end of last year after tossing up camel and trackabout. The camel didn't appear quite as robust, and the sales girl at trackabout barely gave us the time of day...

Have been happy with the lifestyle once a few small problems were fixed (leak in gas line and missing leg extensions for kitchen bench). Agree with above that John is great to deal with, and their canvas guy (Dave, I think) was fantastic. The same can't be said of a person there with a 3 letter name (rhymes with nob) who took a few weeks of broken promises and multitudinous phone calls to send the missing and broken bits up to the sunny coast. Only ended up getting it done once I got someone else to answer the phone.

The trailer itself is great, don't get me wrong - strong well-made etc. Wouldn't advise spending the $$ on the 12V system. I ended up pulling mine apart and getting Derek to make me up a new system.

Off to the centre in 5 weeks time ... first big workout for the trailer.

AnswerID: 224869