BFG A/T's.....have they redeemed themselves?
Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 18:55
V8Diesel
OK, BFG's once were the ducks guts, then they clearly went bad. My question is has the crook compound issues been sorted out and are they a tough LT tyre again?
Haven't heard a bad report in quite some time.
Reply By: dj Patrol - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:34
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:34
Well I am about to buy another set as have done 110,000 km on
mine and only the edge has worn due to under inflation early on as tyre seller new nothing about them you have gotta run 45 to 48 psi as I was only runnin 35psi the edges wore off them off still plenty of tread in the centre but as I tow a big van I have decided to opp for a new set still 6mm centre treads.
djpatrol
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:40
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:40
Yeah, I've wondered the same. I've had them on two vehicles in the past without issues.
I know of 3 vehicles with ATKOs that did the
Madigan Line - two had zero punctures and the other one had 5. I think the sidewalls are still a bit thin despite their "3ply" construction, and theres a lip on the shoulder that attracts sharp sticks.
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 22:44
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 22:44
It all points in the direction of a 'bad batch' doesn't it.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 22:52
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 22:52
they must have made quite a few thousand in that batch
LMAO
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 06:25
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 06:25
My local Bob dude made a few calls for me and said that there were 2 sizes which were now being made in Japan and all others still made in USA. He said the problems were with the Japanese made ones???? Was unable to tell me what sizes. Was he FOS????
Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:12
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:12
The Jap/US made issue has come up before and it was definately the Jap ones that were not as good. Can't remember where it was though..
It was a tyre
test I think and they said to make sure you are getting the US made sizes and
check the sidewall before paying to be sure that is what you get. (Sidewall for where it is made and size)
Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:01
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:01
Ive had BFG AT's for 140000kms in total (2.5 sets) and have had only one loss of air and that was a sidewall staking on the remains of a small sapling that we had cut to make a track around a fallen tree that we could not get off the track.
I wouldn't risk changing to another brand!!
Reply By: djm67 - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:16
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:16
In 245/70/16 size I would go with "bad" as my answer.
Fitted to a dual cab Rodeo.
Get cut to pieces on the rocky ground I drive on (note: minesite areas littered with blasted, SHARP
rock) Get less than 40k on them (33k on the standard Bridgestone 693 Desert Duellers)
Very 'squirmy' on gravel roads on the minesite.
Wet bitumen = ice.
Have had one delaminate the tread on the highway, just peeled itself back to the belts.
Currently running Goodyear Wrangler Silent Armour in 245/75/16 and they are far superior for grip on gravel & wet bitumen. As quiet as the highway orientated Bridgestone Desert Dueller 693's that come standard. Haven't done enough km to see how they stand up to the rocks
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:17
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:17
I will not be changing when
mine run out. A good mate of
mine has just put on a new set. He got over 112,000 klm!!! That's a pretty good run.
4.2D 80 series cruiser.
We do not do inland desert stuff.....lots of gravel & beach stuff.
Reply By: Im.away - Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:59
Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 23:59
If BFG have had a bad batch then I must have missed them. I've run them for the last three sets and worn them all out. I've not lost a single tyre to anything other than normal wear. Mileage has been great for where I go and what I do - three sets in 190,000Km.
My previous brand of tyres never ever wore out, they all died prematurely from stakings and blowouts.
I agree with one of the previous posts... they do like to be run a bit higher pressure than the "usual" tyre pressures you would normally think of using...I thought I was the only one to have picked up on this point, but obviously I'm not.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 10:17
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 10:17
I had always run BFG AT's at about 40 psi (highway) When my last set scrubbed out in 28,000k I took them in to show the dealer. He accused me of abusing them, sighting the 40psi as obviously over-inflated. The Michellin rep who visited said the same. "Can't expect decent mileage if you run them at such high pressures."
They were pretty generous though. Offered me a 10% discount on replacement tyres provided I bought what they recommended. $420 per tyre after the discount.
Thanks but no thanks. Needless to say I am running a different brand these days. I am not as happpy with these as I was with early sets of BFG's, but they have done better than the last set of BFG's.
If they have got their act together I would be happy to consider them again. But not from the dealer who was so helpful(?) last time.
Follow Up By: Im.away - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 16:47
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 16:47
Well Duncs, I think something other than tyre pressures must have been your problem. If your tyres were over-inflated you should have had excessive wear on the centre of the tread, while the edges should have worn less. Is this what happened?
I run 40 psi standard, 45 or so when loaded with the camper trailer attached, 50 psi when on tracks with lots of sharp sticks. As I said, I get huge mileage out of them. I watch them very carefully for wear and have them rotated and aligned regularly.
I do serious bush work for a living and have made a bit of a study of tyres over the years and BFG's with those pressures has lead to the most economical and safe running I've ever had.
Russ
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 10:13
Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 10:13
Russ,
I am with you on that, I think something other than tyre pressures was the problem. All four tyres were worn evenly across the tread, they were chipping and on each of the rear tyres lugs had torn off exposing the steel belt. Maybe they were part of this "bad batch" that I here people talk about.
I was trying to make two points. First that people should be careful running high pressures because if they ever have a reason to go back to Michelin they will use these high pressures to blame you for the tyre problem.
The second point I was making was that the dealer didn't want to know me when I had a concern. I never did ask the dealer for anything, he was obviously afraid I would and was trying to blame me for the poor performance of the tyres so that I would not claim anything from him. This is not necessarily a reflection on the tyres. This guy would probably react in a similar manner no matter what brand of tyre he was selling. I think you can understand why I will not buy tyres from him again.
On the other hand the guy who sold me my current tyres could not be nicer and I have taken tyres back to him which have performed poorly. I have also gotten him out of bed at 3am to replace tyres on an emergency vehicle even though at the time he was not the contractor. Even at that time of the morning he was happy and helpful. This happened before I bought tyres from him privately and most certainly contributed to my decision to deal with him. He now has the contract for the emergency vehicles. Just reward for a man who offers excellent service at a competitive price.
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 00:38
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 00:38
Same here as above posts, over 100.000 and still going, we got them put on for the CSR. No problems. We are looking at doing the Great Central Rd and the
Gibb River Rd later in the year and will put on another set before then and use the best of these for spares.
Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 08:27
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 08:27
I heard a rumour from a Tyre Retailer who couldn't supply BFGs at a good price that BFG are now made in different countries and different factories and the quality varies.
The trouble is that tyre experiences may depend on the person and can vary so much with how they are cared for and where and how they are used. Plus a lot of good or bad luck on the day.
Reply By: Mudguard - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:04
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:04
.Hi,
well i must be doing it wrong we've only got 70,000 out of our 265/75/16 k/os
this is our 2nd set always run at 40psi (higher when loaded and towing lower on rough roads) always balanced & rotated
Reply By: Craigww2 - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:09
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:09
I was looking at getting a set for my cruiser 275/70R16's and are $298ea for a set of 5. I understand that there are more expensive tyres and cheaper tyres but value for performance to me this sounds reasonable, or am I way out of touch with tyre prices?
Or should I lift my car first?
Reply By: luch - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:31
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:31
Not sure Exactly how true this is, but i was told by my local Tyrepower that Michelin brought the 4x4 manufacture side of BFG and their argiment was they already had a good tyre and name. So the quality is not as good as what it used to be. This is when they started to be made in Japan
I was told this about 3 months ago
(like i said don't know how true this is, mabe they make a better profit on some of the other brands and they used this to steer me away from BFG)
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 23:28
Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 23:28
Our first set (on this unit)of BFG ATs did around 70000, no holes, and still rubber left BUT, we had 'Time out' due, so we replaced em.
Second set, chipped beyond belief. Rear tyres rooted after 17000. Still no holes.
Company rep did a deal. So far the new pair seem OK, but they've been sooked, eh.
I would like to think that BFG are over any apparent 'hump'.
(You blokes with 100000. WOW! Happy days!) Jeff.