Test drove the new 70 series

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 21:07
ThreadID: 42918 Views:3208 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
G'day all.

Just thought I'd mention to you all that I test drove the new 70 series wagon with the 4.5 litre V8 turbo diesel.

Where you may ask? at my work, and you can guess where that is!

The wagon is bloody awesome, as a family vehicle which is what I am after it is perfect, though I am kinda scared of what the sale price will be taking into account the price of the previous model.

Does anybody else here wonder how Toyota can ask such a high price for not much Car? I know it is reliable and tough and all that but compared to what else is on the market for the same price, the 70 seires dont have that many inclusions?

It drove beautifully, oodles of torque, and what a bloody massive intercooler - it comes with 275/70x16 tyres but I reckon you could squeeze 285's without lift. Rear leaves front coils, and when I ghave it a thrashing off the line it was the first diesel Ive ever driven that has "chirpped" into third gear........like I said, heaps of torque.

Comes with a beige (read crap/ugly) interior trim, my choice would be the blue/grey trim, similar to the last shape hilux colours.

A very nice truck, due to be released tomorrow, Monday I beleive and if you get a chance to drive one go for it, I just wish I had the dough to get one.

Waiting list is 6 months I have heard though unconfirmed.

see ya round?