extension lead plug and socket

Submitted: Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:35
ThreadID: 42931 Views:7032 Replies:18 FollowUps:15
Hi hoping you forumites can assist as I believe my problem is a common one. I want to power my caravan from a standard power point in the garage but as the caravan lead has a male plug going into the van and a female plug at the other end - well you can see this won't work unless I have some sort of adapter. I could probably have a sparky change the plug to a male but then I wouldn't be able to use it in the parks. I believe there is currently no legal adapter that allows you do this but am told there is a workaround. Can anyone enlighten me as to what this is and do I need a sparky? Find the whole thing ridiculous really as I have no way to test the inside lights/fridge and oven. Is there a problem with the amp rating by plugging into a standard 240v outlet?

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:46

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:46
Get a short lead made up (or make it yourself) with the plugs that will fit for the place you need it to go , Only needs to be 2 to 300mm long . Cheers Errol
AnswerID: 225388

Follow Up By: Voxson - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:47

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:47
Gday,,, Your next trip must be getting close...
FollowupID: 486307

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 00:57

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 00:57
I would need a 6 metre lead to be outside my yard , :-)
FollowupID: 486463

Reply By: joc45 - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:53

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 11:53
Hi Meercat,
you could get a sparkie to install a 15A outlet in your garage. This would be the best legit way of doing it.
Another less legal way would be to make a short extension cord with a 10A male plug and a 15A female socket to interface with your existing 15A caravan extension cord. You can get these 15A plugs and sockets from Bunnings, etc. Technically you are not allowed to do this, but this is prob what most caravanners do when they want to run it at home.
As far as current capacity goes, modern homes are wired with 16A circuit breakers for power, which means that the power outlet should cope with the caravan load.
Gerry
AnswerID: 225390

Reply By: Camoco - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:07

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:07
As others have correctly pointed out the normal issue, as I read your post it seems you may be trying to use the wrong 240V "inlet" on your van.
You need a "normal" lead that has 15A ends and an adaptor to suit your standard 10A outlet in your garage.
What I see you attempting to say is that you have a "male" plug at the van end and a "female" at the other end of the lead. What you should have is 3 pins sticking out of the van and you attach your 15A female lead to it. Older vans had 10A inlets and you could use a normal lead but van parks seem to have banned this since we have found it necessary to electrically over equip ourselves.

You could also file the Earth on a new 15A lead to fit the outlet in your garage, but keep this one at home dedicated for the van only and label it. Do not use it for anything else. Although it is safe to use, it is not legal. Also by doing this method, you do not need to touch any wire or fear getting things wrong and hurting yourself or others.

I hope I was wrong with my interpretation at the beginning but if not, just check you are using the right "INLET" as opposed to the "OUTLET". It is possible to power the van from an outlet on the van, but I would think bypassing your safety circuits would result. Mike or others may correct me on this.

Cheers Cam
AnswerID: 225394

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:25

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:25
Spot on Cam that what was said, I was envisaging a lead woith two male plugs, which I used to have one of but it was THE MOST DANGEROUS thing I have used, only used it once and then cut the plug off one end.

FollowupID: 486375

Reply By: Grinner - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:07

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:07
Hi Meercat

You should have on your van, usually on the drivers side, a power inlet point with a wall mounted male socket, ie you open up the flap and there are the 3 prongs poking out. You plug your female socket of your extension lead into this.

NEVER EVER EVER make a lead with 2 male ends, this is just inviting some one to be electrecuted!!!

Grinner.
AnswerID: 225395

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:22

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 12:22
Just been through this. I got a sparky to put a 15A socket in. He also put a circuit
breaker in. he supplied the parts and the cost was $150. Was happy with this as
the job was done properly. Brian
AnswerID: 225398

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:02

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:02
I adapted one by grinding the 15amp Earth down to size , watch the finger nails on the angle grinder disc, Yeh it's illegal , so's a lot of other things but it worked for a couple of days while visiting friends

AnswerID: 225404

Reply By: meercat - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:19

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:19
Hi and thanks for your suggestion. My error - I actually meant to say the femal socket goes into the van and the male plug needs to go into the garage power point. I never thought of filing down the bottom prong but I guess it is an option - my concern was whether this would cause problems with power overload/blow the circuit boards. Your suggestion regarding having two leads (one for home/one for caravan parks) is a great suggestion. Thanks for your tip.
AnswerID: 225408

Reply By: meercat - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:21

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:21
Thankyou - I actually stated the connections around the wrong way so yes I do have a male plug on the van.
AnswerID: 225409

Reply By: meercat - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:22

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:22
Thanks Brian, this also sounds like a good option.
AnswerID: 225411

Reply By: meercat - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:24

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:24
Thanks Doug, another member suggested something of this sort. Do you know if this poses problems to the general electricity supply due to the different ampage of caravan extension leads vs. general domestic extension leads?
AnswerID: 225412

Reply By: meercat - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:26

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:26
Thanks Gerry, I guess your solution appears to be what most caravanners do - sure is a cheaper option than having a 15amp outlet installed considering it will be only used infrequently.
AnswerID: 225413

Reply By: meercat - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:28

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:28
Thanks for the tip - I will make a trip to my trusty Bunnings who should have what I need!
AnswerID: 225414

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:38

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 13:38
Hey there Meercat.....looks like you've been hitting the "REPLY" tab istead of the "FOLLOW-UP" tab for various individual responses to other people's replies.....

Anyway, to answer your question, I have a similar issue; I have my camper trailer stored in the garage with it's 15amp inlet, as well as a similar inlet on the back of my dual cab Patrol. Both of these are used to run a battery charger and the Engel fridge (x 2).

I just use a normal extension cord where I have taken off the 10amp female outlet and put a 15amp outlet in it's place. Too easy. In the case of the one in the garage for the camper, I just used the cord off a buggared-up appliance (electric kettle or something). Cut it off the appliance and whack the 15amp socket on (make sure it's an earthed cable; not a 2 core type). That one is only about 400mm long but plugs into a normal extension cord.

DISCLAIMER: If you have any doubts whatsoever about what you are doing, get a sparky!!!!!
AnswerID: 225419

Reply By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 15:40

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 15:40
If you value your belongings, get a sparky because if anything happens say a fire then the insurance investigators will find the bodgied 15 amp lead feeding the caravan and wipe your insurance.
I don't understand some people who will outlay upwards to $60k on a caravan / camper trailer plus whatever else is in their garages / houses and yet won't outlay what it costs to get a 15 amp power outlet installed.

From above $150 is very cheap insurance / piece of mind and it is all legal.

Some things should not be played with by those who have a little knowledge.
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

AnswerID: 225444

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 15:54

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 15:54
Here is an interesting quote from a thread on ignoring gas regulations but it applies equally here:-

"Fellas - this one ends up as a personal choice, and you decide what you do.

However - in my experience as technical manager for many years for a major water heater company a long time ago, the people who sit on committees that write standards have access to pretty frightening stats on deaths and fires and stuff. They are given the task of making fatalities equal zero. Nothing about liability, all about safety."

FollowupID: 486341

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:36

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:36
Even if a sparky wires up a lead with a 10A male and 15A female plug and there is a fire and the insurance company finds it it will void your policy. It is still illegal if a sparky wires it up.

FollowupID: 486378

Follow Up By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:52

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:52
Bonz this true but a qualified and licensed sparky would not do this for a customer so your point is mute.
It is illegal and dangerous to property and people.

Which of course what I was trying to get across.
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

FollowupID: 486387

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 21:36

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 21:36

I'm impressed that you noted my comment on another site as to why regulations are fussy and apparently conservative. Thank you.

In this case, meercat, the solution which is legal and reassuring is to pay a sparky to put a 15 amp plug in the garage. You can plug ordinary leads into it and know that when you plug your 15 amp van lead in it is safe and legal.

While you have the electrician, get him to give the 240 volt wiring on the van a safety check and tag your lead - that will reassure you you are safe and protect you from the odd caravan park that demands that you have tagged leads.

Max

FollowupID: 486430

Follow Up By: Camoco - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 08:46

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 08:46
Quote: Max "You can plug ordinary leads into it and know that when you plug your 15 amp van lead in it is safe and legal. "

I am not so sure that it is safe to plug anything other than 15 amp into that socket.
A 15 amp point has a much larger breaker (25amp? I think) than a 10 amp (16 amp). If your appliance is faulty and _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 16+ amps a normal 10 amp circuit will trip. If you use a 15 amp point with a 10 amp appliance, it will not trip and the failure could cause injury to the operator.

I keep my 15 amp point labelled clearly and it sits right next to a 10 amp point. I do not mix them up. Yet I do my own wiring at times and I still see the breaker as an essential part of the circuit. I have had enough hits from faulty units and poor practices to appreciate the safety built into properly designed circuits.

At least with using a 15 amp lead with a reduced earth pin is not really unsafe in as far as it could be working near the breaker trip range and if anything were to consume more than 16 amps, it would trip before a 15 amp circuit would. It would be unsafe the other way around.

As fas as tagging leads are concerned, in most cases they are not the result of a safety check but merely from a visual inspection. Better than nothing but not really insurance. I had my van completely rewired as part of the rebuild (not yet finished) and the first operation was tripping the safety switch. I tracked it down to the insulated cover over the inlet was pinching the wire ever so slightly and creating a short. This was not part of the check process as it was a result of final tightening of the cover during the final build. It was a worry for me as the certificate was signed and the sparky did another check with the same result for him. He doesn't do any checks with the covers on as part of a normal process. Simple trap but I am glad for safety switches etc.

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 486481

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 10:13

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 10:13
Cam - you make two very valid points:

1. I suggested that you can plug 10 amp plug into a 15 amp socket because "I have always known" you could. Can't quote my source and in talking about being on the safe side should not have recommended it.

2. A safety check on the van and lead tagging were in my mind two separate things - it would just be convenient to do both while you paid a sparky to be at the house. I should have separated them. But I do hope that inspection of a lead includes checking that conductors are not crossed end from end, which to mind is the other important thing to do on the outlets & appliances in the van (as well as check the safety switch).

Meercat did the right thing in asking and I think we owe it to him to offer advice to go the strictly legal way.

Max
FollowupID: 486501

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 12:16

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 12:16
Camoco - You said "As fas as tagging leads are concerned, in most cases they are not the result of a safety check but merely from a visual inspection."

Yes lead checking is a visual check but this does not mean it is not a safety check. When I had mine checked the wiring was visually checked to make sure that the wires were connected to the correct pins. He also ran the lead through his fingers to check for problems. Both these were of a visual or feel nature - no instrumentation was used as the visual type inspection would have picked up any defects that would require checking with instrumentation.

FollowupID: 486520

Follow Up By: Camoco - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:05

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 14:05
Hi Peter,
I probably was just letting the regular guys know that a tagged lead is not enough to be confident of safety.
All leads should be tagged and also should be inspected by us each time we use them as we aren't always the ones using them.

I get the shivers when I think back to the days we used to import cable from China to make wiring looms and leads for the machines we made and sold. In many instances (too many so we stopped the imports) the individual wires in the cables were not properly insulated at the joins in the long continuous runs and sometimes were only just touching. These were not detectable from outside inspection. In rarer but worse cases, there were multiple joins at the same location. At least these were detectable by instant failure to tests but they sometimes made it through the installation process and needed to be dissassembled when found faulty.

Poor quality cable even if new can be dangerous. I now buy the dearer Aussie leads to be safe. How can you expect $1/m cable to be safe everytime? That's what Bunnys and the like sell it for and we buy it thinking it's safe 'cos it's new.

I reckon all tagging inspection should be mechanical as well as visual.

Max, I understood your point in them being different things. Agreed.
Meercat, the theme of the thread seems to be safety first and get the right outlet for your garage and get good leads and ensure you check them. Don't take advice on illegal (unsafe) practices unless you know what you are doing. In which case, be safe.

Got that off my chest now I'm fine.
Cheers and be Safe. Cam
FollowupID: 486532

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 18:16

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 18:16
We have a test box at work that is used to test leads as well as other appliances, it tests electrically and visual tests are also carried out, any leads with nicked insulation are cut and re terminated. Electrical problems are rarely visually obvious, I would have thought a tagged lead would have to be tested for electrical safety not mechanical or aesthetic safety after all its an electrical lead not a piece of rope.

FollowupID: 486553

Follow Up By: seqfisho - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:02

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:02
If an electrician tags a lead as safe and doesn't do a continuity or megger test of the insulation then I doubt he would have a problem with putting a 10amp male plug on a lead with a 15amp female socket.

In fact I reckon you could probably get the shonk to put a 15amp GPO on a general power circuit (10amp)

As others have said there are plenty of work arounds but if you want peace of mind there is only one safe and legal solution, but it is your van, house and life.

Cheers Glen

Licensed sparky for the last 23 years
FollowupID: 486588

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:05

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 21:05
From my scant remembrances from Applied Electricity 3 you can have one 15a outlet on a 2.5mm circuit or five?(or more) 10a outlets allowing for diversification of the load.

FollowupID: 486589

Follow Up By: seqfisho - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 09:53

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 09:53
These days Bonz it is purely measured on maximum demand on the circuit, but the mixing of 15a and 10a gpo's on the one circuit is still not allowed, you can have more 10a gpo's than 5 as it is relative to the circuit protection rating etc.

You could have multiple 15a gpo's dependant upon cable size, circuit length (voltage drop) and protection rating, the latest wiring rules AS/NZS 3000:2000 leaves a lot to be desired as far as definitions it is open to alot of user interpretation unlike the earlier versions.

Cheers Glen.
FollowupID: 486675

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 17:57

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 17:57
mate you better get your eyes tested if you have a male plug going into the van or get someone to checjk as it is the wrong fitting

MALE PLUG GOES INTO POWER POINT IN GARAGE FEMALE PLUG PUSHES ONTO MALE PINS AT CARAVAN END
IFYOU GET CAUGHT WITH 2 MALE PLUGS YOU DESERVE JAIL

STEVE
AnswerID: 225457

Reply By: whyallacookie - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 17:06

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 17:06
The other thing is if you have an airconditioner fitted in the house (not a split system or evap) then that should have a 15amp socket to run it. Run your lead to the van from there if you can get it close enough and only intend to use it now and again.
AnswerID: 225644

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 19:17

Tuesday, Mar 06, 2007 at 19:17
Hi Meercat,
This subject has been done before mate, think you will find all the pro's and con's in post 38360.

Pezza
AnswerID: 225666

Reply By: meercat - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 22:53

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 22:53
Just wanted to say thankyou to everyone who offered advice regarding the extension lead. I went to Bunnings, bought the materials and plugs and made a 40cm extension to plug into the caravan lead. Works a treat - cheers
AnswerID: 226661