Putting a light in the 12V Fridge

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:36
ThreadID: 43001 Views:2525 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
I picked up a 3 LED light today from Bunnings. Sort of an impulse buy, but couldn't resist at $9.95 including the 3 AA (I think) batteries that power it. Osram brand with a 3M self adhesive back which is supposed to let you relocate the light.

I was thinking of putting it inside the 12V fridge, stuck to the inside of the door. I figure the cold is probably OK. After all, I'm sure they use battery torches in Canada and Siberia in the winter. It is probably a bit humid in the fridge, but not sure. Don't know if that means anything.

I can't think of a reason it won't work. Can you? It's only $10 anyway, so the cost of failure is pretty low.

Norm C

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:49

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:49
I brought one of those jiggers from Bunnings yesterday, I was surprised at the amount of light from the 3 leds, far superior to a 5 led light I have. It's only a small amount so give it a go.
AnswerID: 225905

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:14

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:14
G'day Bowser....

Long time no bark,,,

Hey wouldja believe it - I just bought one too...mine is cherry red....Hey throws a ripper light. Gunna use mine to light up the inside of the camper trailer at nite...bloody excellent value and no wires...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 486820

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:25

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:25
Crazy Dog
Hey thats a "bright" idea

FollowupID: 486842

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:45

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:45
Woof Woof

No idea where to put mine. I actually went to buy some nails and came away with this damn light.

I brought a 36 led jigger from the led shop for inside the canopy, real bright light for around 200ma, more juice to keep the tinnies cool.
FollowupID: 486848

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:16

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:16
I would say you are quite right about humidity, can you get the cover off ? If so, some "liquid electrical tape" on the small circuitry to seal against corrosion could make it last as long as the fridge.

just a suggestion
AnswerID: 225909

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:55

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:55
Hmm. depending on the make of the fridge the light could last a long time or have a rather short life eh Joe :)
FollowupID: 486884

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:03

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:03
My 12v fridges have a light built in already, they work no worries
Wazzaaaa
AnswerID: 225923

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:39

Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:39
The only problem I can see is that all our lives we have had fridges with a light that goes out automatically!

I wonder who will be the first person to leave it on?
AnswerID: 225981

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:22

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:22
I know those lights can handle heat, I stuck one inside the tailgate on the canopy which is single skin steel which gets way too hot to touch when sitting out in the sun and it hasn't stopped working yet, thought the double sided tape might let go but it hasn't either.
AnswerID: 226010

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:52

Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:52
I hardwired a LED clearance lamp and switch above my engel - the light is excellent. Do you have to mount it inside??
AnswerID: 226019