Nissan Patrol - Trade in or sell privately

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 22:54
ThreadID: 43308 Views:4494 Replies:12 FollowUps:21
IF we get another vehicle, should we sell our Patrol privately, or trade it in and take what is offered? We have a 2002 3 litre td in very good condition; after market fuel tank, dual spare wheels. We have fitted an ARB bull bar and warn winch, but would not leave on if trading in. New rear shockies. New Hayman Reece 3.5 t tow-bar. It has EGT and boost gauges. Around 125,000 and has given us not trouble at all. Is there a strong private market?

Reply By: molzy - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:00

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:00
Try your luck trading but from experience, better prices are achieved privately( with a little bit of effort). just look at redbook for approximate comparisons for trade and private sales. with all your accessories you should have little trouble selling if the price is fair for all . hope this helps.
AnswerID: 227756

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:07

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:07
You could perhaps find the car your after and then get the car yard to put your car on consignment, if they want to sell you the new car they will find a buyer for yours quickly.
Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 488485

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:26

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:26
Hi Molzy - yes Red book shows a big difference between trade in and private sale prices, but there are a lot of Patrols on the market.

FollowupID: 488493

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:15

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:15
If not been a problem vechicle, why sell??. If doubt is there for being a 3ltr & future reliability, is in mind, Then selling private is going to be a hard sell!!.

Dealers know! But might let you into a deal that might compromise both sides.

My thoughts only

AnswerID: 227761

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:35

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:35
Hi Axle - my old Rooster is determined to get a v8 and when he makes up his mind there's no stopping him! Scenario far from finalised - preliminary planning only. We are pulling probably close to a tonne over the weight recommended for the auto (which could even be illegal). It is a great car for general use, but pushing our luck towing the BT, even though it has done us well on our holidays over the past two years, including the Tassie trip last year.

FollowupID: 488497

Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:26

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:26
One went through the Auction's the other day $14000

People are shy of the Motor problems they are known for.

AnswerID: 227765

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:46

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:46
"the Auction's"

Of which "the Auction's" do you speak and what sort of condition was it in?

A kilo of prawns went through my "rear end auctions" last week for free!!

FollowupID: 488500

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 11:25

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 11:25
The Auction's

Yes there listed in the Yellow Page's

One pick's the Phone up and Ring's them
FollowupID: 488585

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 17:21

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 17:21
you really are a tosser, make a claim back it up with the facts.......What year model? what km's? what state was it in? what options did it have? ect ect ect....I cant seem to find "the Auction's" on the yellow pages web site. maybe you can post a site link to "the Auction's"....but I doubt that as its a bit harder than typing dribble...so do us all a favour and chase a parked truck hey!!

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 488627

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 19:50

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 19:50
Now that is is not called for who are you to call some one a tosser.dah you only sound tough, GQ.
FollowupID: 488661

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 21:34

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 21:34
check out his previous efforts ZUK then you may have an idea why I said what I did................till then chase the same truck hey!!!

Cheers Big Ears
FollowupID: 488690

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 00:48

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 00:48
GU-TUFF

Sorry i did not Realize you were a Kiwi

The Auction's is a term if you look up Car Auction's , Auction's in the Yellow Page's you will find what your looking for.

Then pick up the phone and ring them tell them what you have and see what they say.

People alway's Dream what there car's , 4 wd are worth the truth beng the axceptance of the reality they are worth what you can get for them today, tomorrow simple as that.

Do You Understand ?

FollowupID: 488721

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:56

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 23:56
Sell privately

You will get more for your vehicle.

Without a trade-in you will get a better deal on the vehicle you are purchasing.

I sold a vehicle privately and got $2,000 more than the best trade-in price offered.

Without a trade-in they discounted the vehicle I was purchasing by $3,000.

I was $5,000 better off.

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 227772

Reply By: Patrol_Driver - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:09

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:09
I sold my 2003 ST-L 3.0TDi Auto privately, second person to look at it bought it, shook hands on Friday arvo and handed me a bank cheque on Tuesday lunchtime. I got slightly more than my lease payout despite being in my 3rd year of a 4 year lease. Those who lease vehicles will know that payout values are proportionately higher earlier in the lease.

I used carsales.com.au and set my price within the range of similar vehicles on the site.
AnswerID: 227791

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 15:28

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 15:28
Hi Patrol_Driver,

May I ask how much you sold your vehicle for.

I currently have the same car, 5 speed with about 70,000kms. If the sale price would cover the lease, I might look at doing the same.

TonyG
FollowupID: 488614

Follow Up By: Patrol_Driver - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 16:52

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 16:52
$37590
FollowupID: 488623

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:53

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:53
Sound like a gret price
FollowupID: 488643

Follow Up By: Patrol_Driver - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:56

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 18:56
75000km, 1 month of warranty left. roof rack, 2nd alloy spare and a front arb difflock. the buyer jumped at it!
FollowupID: 488647

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:19

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:19

I know you have been looking at this, but why don't you go for the 6.5lt V8 option.

You have your vehicle set up like you want it. It is of robust construction and will last for years. It is highly unlikely that you will get any more money for the extras as they don't count in a sale price.

Or is there a tax implication with regards to your business?

AnswerID: 227793

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 10:58

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 10:58
Willem,

At the risk of saying, "Let's not start all that again!", I'd advise the same. BUT,,,,,,If MH feels the 3.0 litre has to go I'd recommend waiting and getting the new 'Cruiser V8 or getting a current 100 Series TD 'Cruiser,,,,,,,,,,,

The Chev is a better donk at low revs than the 'Cruiser but the 'Cruiser is better when it gets that turbo wound up. MH wants the car for towing a Bustracker, mainly on bitumen and she doesn't do a lot of serious bush miles in it from what I've gleaned.

Or is that what you're planning anyway, MH?

I've always felt that, if you're working, busy and you've got the money, it's not worth messing about waiting for a private buyer. Just trade up and move on.

Bilbo - "The unbiased hobbit"
FollowupID: 488578

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 13:55

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 13:55
Ahh Bilbo...yes..well

I thought that I would stir Motherhen up.

In fact I am acquainted with Motherhen and her Rooster and have had the Bushtracker parked in my back yard. The Bushtracker has been on quite a few backroads and tracks but I think that they have come to realise that the 3lt is just too underpowered for towing that heavy van.

My only thought is that if they trade up then some of the accessories are lost and have to be purchased again. The trade-up and subsequent accessories might also be quite a bit more than slipping a Chev into the engine cavity.

Hey, I'm just talking. I can't even afford to put fuel in the tank this week. Its been a lean time recently...lol

FollowupID: 488603

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 15:35

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 15:35
Willem,

Thanks - I figured that was the prob. But MH should consider that the Chev doesn't produce all that much more power 'n torque than does the 3.0 litre Nissan. The difference is WHERE in the rev range that P & T is produced. That's the superiority of the Chev - it's low RPM pulling power. And of course the Chev is a big, 6.5 litre lump of U.S.A cast iron doing the work of a 3.0 litre Japanese hi tech buzzer - less strain I'd say.

The 100 Series Cruiser is a "more powerfuller and more torquier" ;) donk than either of 'em - but that P & T is again, up the rev range. But when that Tojo donk finally goes, it fair dinkum flies! Even with 3 tonne behind it. However, similar to 3.0 litre Nissan, it needs to be kept revving. Other wise it's dead in the water by comparison to the Chev. Or let's put it another way, if the 100 Series 'Cruiser isn't in it's power band, then it's a 'normal' 4WD diesel engine. i.e a bit flat.

I've got mates, greynomads like us, that tow heavy vans with a 3.0 litre Patrol. Some of 'em are sick of it. They say it's "hard work" in traffic and low speed stuff. A few have driven the Chevissan and reckon it's a better proposition. They don't do offroad work like you & I though. Strictly bitumen.

On balance, I'd say that the 100 Series TD and the Chevissan on bitumen are about the same with the 'Cruiser having the edge at high speed overtaking. Offroad with a van behind, I'd say the Chevissan has the edge in low down pullling power and firmer suspension. The "Cruiser wallows a bit off road when towing a big van. I've owned a driven both with big vans behind 'em ,both on and offroad.

I know what ya mean about money. I'm a self funded retiree and to buy the extra fuel to get away this year, I'm gonna have to increase the pension I draw from super by about 25% until we get back. That way we don't have to keep delving into "cash" or sell gold. We did it easy last winter. Don't tell me that inflation is only 3.0 % Johnny,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo - "The ever helpful hobbit"
FollowupID: 488617

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:12

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:12
Hi Guys - and i am still working in a grocery store for peanuts, so to speak. Willem is right of course - for us the bitumen is a necessary evil for getting from one side of Australia to t'other.

Meanwhile the Rooster has been drooling of Effies for years, and we are going to look at one tomorrow. It will also have a long tray we can fill up with sheep (but not at the same time as the Bushtracker i hope!)

I appreciate the feedback though, and would be keen to wait and see the v8 cruiser, but i may not have that time!

FollowupID: 488699

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:38

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:38
Please please please Motherhen, do not let him near an Effie. He will cry after he has taken it offroad.

Met a bloke on the CSR last year who was getting 6 to 8 punctures a day with a 250. It was too wide for the track. Maybe he had terrible tyres. Jol Fleming from Alice Springs drives an older Effie and he has been all over with it though. Maybe he has better tyres.

My mate in Quorn has a cheap HJ75 ute. Has a 6.5 Chev in it. It has extended tray. Not a flash truck but lotsa grunt. He will sell it soon.

FollowupID: 488704

Reply By: age - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:26

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 08:26
My experience was I was far better off trading - 1990 80 series Landcruiser diesel - heaps of beach work - visible rust in doors, tailgate and roof weld. Red book $8K, was considering selling privately at $11K starting price and prepared to let it go for $7K. Would have cost me about an extra $1000+ to get safety certificate to sell privately + advertising $, plus hanging around for people to look at it etc
Bought new 100 series V8 petrol - first dealer offered $8K trade, second $11K and third $14.5K. Extra $'s allowed us to option up the V8, dealer didn't want alloy roof rack, rola roof racks, headlight protectors, seat covers, tailored floor mats, uhf or spot lights - sold all of that to a work mate for $500.

I was heaps in front by trading

Shop your options - you may be surprised

AnswerID: 227794

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 09:28

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 09:28
IMHO I would sell privately with some of the accessories (the hard ones to remove that are not likely to be portable to your next vehicle). Give yourself time as the right buyer does not come along the minute you post your ad. Only show the vehicle to people who are sure they know what they want. As a general rule you should get around $4K more than you are offered as a trade. The 3.0Di Patrol is a popular model and there is heathly turnover in this model.

OT
AnswerID: 227803

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 10:11

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 10:11
For vehicles in good condition, selling private you are almost always better off. I strip all assesories and sell them separately for about half price as when included in the cost of the car you get very little if any extra. With no assesories the car doesn't look like it's been offroad either. The only problem is you can't be in a hurry to sell & there may be an overlap time between when your new car arrives & when you actually get rid of the old girl. By having cash in hand with no trade, dealers will be able to discount as much as $6,000 off retail depending on the car.
For cars in poor condition I have found it difficult to dispose of them as the private buyer is more wary as there is no warrenty offered. I've sold a car to a dealer that the motor was almost blown up & he didn't even start it giving me a mid redbook price. I could never have sold that privately :-)
On the other hand, 125K.......2002 3 litre Nissan............You may be better off trading while it's still running.
Cheers Craig.........
PS: Nice way of slipping in a 4 sale add Motherhen into the forum ;-))
AnswerID: 227808

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 14:49

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 14:49
Sell private if you can , trade in is worth nothing. You would lose $5k-10k via the trade in. Have you had any issues with the engine..?
AnswerID: 227856

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:15

Friday, Mar 16, 2007 at 22:15
None whatsoever Terra Firma - it has proved very reliable - not mechanical problems at all.

FollowupID: 488700

Reply By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 07:26

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 07:26
Hi there Mrs Hen,you & Mr Rooster won't be tooo disapointed with an F series.Just do a search on the forums to find the sort of probs they have. Even though i had oil leak when i first boght mine it has been kind since that was fixed.Fuel around 16ltrs/100 loaded,put into 4x4, 30ltrs/100 unloaded & is a manual 1 1/2cab steel tray.Will pull the heart out of a chevissan toooo.Lol
AnswerID: 227936

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 22:18

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 22:18
Hi Bob - Purchase of F250 all organised.

FollowupID: 490916

Reply By: 10 Para (Qld) - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 08:57

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 08:57
Motherhen,
A 3.0 Patrol towing a BT that you say goes over 4tonne is not a good scenario let alone the Haymen Reece 3.5 T tow-bar, in calculating the 4 Tonne i have assumed that your 3.0 can tow up to 3 Tonne " i know that my 4.8 Patrol is 3.5 T" why not take the bull by the horns and get a tow vechile suitable for the job and keep the 3.0 to run around with while you are at home. We would never part with our Patrol and will still use it for our CT and to fish NZ with, but to travel Australia with a van as heavy as yours " and mine" you do need one of the larger type trucks " Ford,Chev,GMC,Dodge" and i am sure that Steve at BT would support that, we chose the GMC and are very happy with it, you can also get a 4 tonne HR tow-bar and as you say carry some of the heavy gear that one collects in the back of the truck therefore allowing you to stay legal on you tow ball "3.5T. I see that the 3.0 is a 2002 and has got passed the dreaded 85-100k'ss and it might be worth keeping it, as i saw for the run about.
AnswerID: 228085

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 22:28

Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 22:28
Hi 10Para - Rest assured the Patrol hasn't been towing 4 tonne. The BT has a tare of 2.2 t, but adding all the extras and luggage, would be around 3.2 tonne at a guess. Our Patrol is auto, so should only tow 2.5 t. We purchased a new Hayman Reece 3.5 tonne - not been used as yet, after the other one broke when coming home from Tassie last year (i won't name the brand - tradespeople say it was a good brand and should not have broken).

We haven't been in a position to make the change before, but we are getting an F250 now, even though they are now dearer second hand than they were new when we got quotes a couple of years ago.

FollowupID: 490919