Prado error codes - need help!

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:44
ThreadID: 43897 Views:6893 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
G'day to my Toyota Maintenance Team out there in "Explrozland",,,,,,,

Can someone please tell me what the following error codes represent on a 2003, 3 litre, turbo diesel Toyota Prado:

E12

E14

E15

Thank yous.

No, I have not gone to bat for the other side,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo - "Just helping a mate, hobbit'

Reply By: PatNav - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:29

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:29
Gee Iam glad u made it clear that u have sayed with the same team LOL !!
AnswerID: 231114

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:11

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:11
Bilbo
I have a repco manual at work, I'm trying to retrieve it now if it works I will have to e-mail it to you tonight or tomorrow

AnswerID: 231125

Reply By: Member - Roger T (SA) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:16

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:16
hi bilbo i hope this helps..#12 .RPM signal, no crankshaft position angle signal to ECU engine cranked at 400+rpm...open or short TDC circuit,crankshaft sensor,ECU...#14 .timing comtrol signal, warm engine idling. crankshaft angle is deviated 7 deg or more from target for 10+ seconds...*open or short in TCV circuit*blocked fuel filter*injection pump internal pressure*ECU... #15. throttle control motor.no signal to ECU from throttle control motor circuit or throttle full switch circuit...*open or short in throttle control motor circuit.*throttle control motor.*throttle valve.* throttle body.*engine ECU.i hope this helps but if its stock standard and no one has messed with it, it looks like ECU or a wireing problem.mine is also 2003 and so far no probs at 12000km.roger.
AnswerID: 231128

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:19

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:19
Sorry pre 2003 no diesels 1996 petrols

O well
AnswerID: 231130

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:54

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 08:54
Bugghah!! But thanks for trying Richard.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 492076

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:16

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:16
Thanks Roger,

I've had a night to mull this over and,,,,,,,,,

I didn't have a lot of time to look at my mate's motor as I was at his place primarily to show him how to use "Tengraph" and Ozi Explorer.

But this motor has been a PIA from the day he bought it at an auction in Perth. He reckoned he'd got a bargain when he paid only $9,000.00 (?) for this 2003 TD Prado. It was ex-mining stock and it was the ONLY car that the dealers didn't bid on - suss at the best of times eh!

3 weeks later - it blew up big time. The timing belt snapped while we were drving back from a lunch in Mandurah and the head sufffered thermo-nuclear damage. Snapped valves, snapped camshaft, broken camshaft bearing housings, damaged pistons. As I said, BAAADDD VIBES!!

Anyway he tried three 2ndhand motors before he got one that worked. One of 'em even had a cracked block at the main bearing housings. Looked like it had been hit with an RPG from a close range!! Now he's finally got the car back, we've got this electrical problem. But after seeing it with my own eyes and looking at the error codes above I reckon I know what it is.

He has a persistent but irregular high resistance fault on the high amp starter circuit, with the starter clicking and whirring away when he's trying tp crank it. This is leading to a major voltage drop across the whole vehicles wiring system and we all know what happens to a car's ECM when the voltage drops down to about 10 volts don't we!

Dash lights start flashing all the over place, soleniods won't open or shut when they should,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,and the ECM starts giving out error codes that aren't really related to each other. See above codes from Roger-none of 'em are related to each other.

Get the voltmeter out Bilbo!! Start checking,,,,,,,,,

Thanks guys.

Bilbo - "The short circuited Hobbit!"
AnswerID: 231169

Follow Up By: PatNav - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:59

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:59
OH what a feelig is all i can say cant help u any more than that sorry but on the other hand i was allways told not to get an Xmining 4x4 and i was looking at a prado glad its not deisel my old patrol is looking even more tempting to keep now till i have extra dollors to get updated patrol
Good luck with it have ya tried a toyota dealer for results (Stephen M NSW ) i think once he said he has a mate that worked at toyota i cant remember where i read it
FollowupID: 492171