How was everybody Easter get away.
Submitted: Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 00:31
Exploder
I just rolled in a few minutes Ago 10.00pm from my trip, not a bad few days away. Thou the X is going to need a Good Polish to try and get all the scratches out of the Metallic paint and the Red dust is every where, which really has just replaced
the beach sand that was knocked out over the 1000 or so k’s.LOL
I also managed to bugger up something with my steering; it’s now semi power steering cause when you turn the wheel, it easy to turn for ¼ then it goes
rock hard for ¼ of a turn then soft agene Ect, and it will no longer return to centre, we were traversing some ruff tracks and I did hit a wash out at speed at dusk but the problem didn’t present till the next day.
We cooked up a Roast one night in the
camp oven, which was a first for us, and I got to say it was probably the best roast I have ever had.
Despite all
the rock the ST’s don’t look to have sustained any of the frequently reported tread damage ether, dropped them to 30psi all round once we pulled off the grate northern black stuff
Reply By: shade10 - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 07:09
Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 07:09
Hi Exploder,
mine would be similar to yours playing in the fun stuff except my 4ny was borrowed by persons unknown thru my stupidity. I'm glad you had an awesome weekend and wished that i couldive joined you???
Steering problems ouch, have you had a look under the vehicle to see if any fluid /damage is still lurking there????
could be a bent steering rack??? or a bent steer bar???? I hope not!!!
Out with the tape measure and
check you r diagonals on the chassis and the width of tyre track/ angle of tyres, ie what position each front tyre looks in relation to the next to see if ones more towards car then the other? sorry if not making much sense havn't had my full first cup of coffee yet?
ooops i have and still not making sense? Bugger
Those are to see if your vehicle is still in alignment.
well roughly???
Have a good day and enjoy yourself?
Reply By: AS/KS - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 07:10
Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 07:10
We spent the weekend doing some tracks in the Chichester Forest, had a look at the Chichester
dam. Very wet so we missed on doing some of the walking trails.
Overall had a pretty good weekend....
Reply By: Member - Battlecat (WA) - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 09:09
Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 09:09
Time to get the metal ruler out and put it on anything that may look straight but might be slightly bent. But it sounds like the pump to me.
Site Link
Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 14:22
Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 14:22
Had a look at the steering issue, and
well I was down there I discovered my crankshaft Oil seal has stated leaking Doh!!!
All my tie rods look good, no line leaks, fluid level is alright and all that, Jacked the front wheels off the ground and turned the steering wheel with the engine off and engine on. The steering was acting the same way under both conditions.
I think it might be the Uni Joint on the steering linkage as there was a dust cover on it that split 60,000k’s ago and I dear say it has ingested a lot of crud over that time, will have a closer look later in the arvo, busy packing everything away Atm.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Apr 10, 2007 at 08:35
Tuesday, Apr 10, 2007 at 08:35
G'day Exy,
yep gave our STs a big workout to on the Tingaringy tracks and Colling into Deddick via helipads and the staircase etc.
absolutely magic weather for high country trekking, we could see Kosciuszko from the top of Tingaringy. A problem free weekend thankfully.
look after the oven mate, it will serve you
well.