Electrickery - I'm so confused.

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 16, 2003 at 18:34
ThreadID: 4431 Views:1426 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
The question is related to power useage when using an inverter.

OK I understand that if I want to run a 12V item that _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 1amp, then theoretically, a 30 amphere battery will run this for 30Hrs Iam I right?

This is is in the perfect world, I understand you have losses here and there and you need to apply a fudge factor.

OK so what if I run a 240V appliance which _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 1 amp at 240V, through and inverter. How long (again in the perfect world) will the 30 amphere batter last?

Am I making sense because the more I think about it, the more I get confused. To think I'm a professional pilot as well :-@
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Rob - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2003 at 19:12

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2003 at 19:12
A 12V item drawing 1 amp would drain a 30A/H battery after 30
hours - yes. At these lower currents, this equation applies - however
it is unlikely that the same battery would supply 30 amps for 1 hour.
Probably more like 40 - 50 minutes. They usually aren't designed for
long periods of high discharge and, indeed, you have to apply a
fudge factor which will vary according to the purpose the battery
was designed for.

You are on the right track when you mention Power (as opposed
to voltage (volts) or current (amps)).

The power (in watts) you are using is calculated by multiplying the
voltage-drop across the appliance by the current flowing through it.

Thus your 12V item drawing 1 amp is consuming 12 watts of power.

Your 240V item drawing 1 amp is consuming 240 watts of power.
Thus an inverter would have to supply 240 watts at 240 volts.

In theory, the 30AH battery would need to supply 240 watts of power to the inverter at 12 volts

Working the equation backwards, 240 watts divided by 12 volts =